We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Certainly has the wow factor”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chester Canal View

Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Large shower cubicle........................Kitchenette with breakfast basket.
What else do you need to relax and enjoy visiting Chester?
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by night
Romantic and what an outlook?
Misty morning over the Water Tower
Your view to the snowy lock in Winter (hopefully just winter!!)
Splendid quiet country environment,yet still in the heart of Chester
Dusk at Tower Wharf and the Dee Basin, a mass of history surrounds you at Chester Canal View.
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free secure parking!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alettebea...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Certainly has the wow factor”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect accommodation, perfectly situated on the canal with lovely views. Breakfast basket is superb with lots of choice. Stayed here for three nights with my husband and we had a fantastic break. Ken gave us lots of useful information which helped us to plan our visit and was welcoming and friendly whilst leaving us with complete privacy. Once there you don't need the car as everything is on the doorstep. It really is a little gem, quirky and different in the best way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55Ruthie
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect, self contained, convenient, unique”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Chester itself is a wonderful city, and if you are going, I recommend Chester Canal View. It is a self contained room with en-suite and kitchenette, with a beautiful view over the canal: there is a decking where you can sit and relax. We loved the breakfast hamper. The bed is possibly the most comfortable we have slept on, in many years of staying in different rentals, and bed- and- breakfasts. The owner, Ken, who lives upstairs, is extremely helpful, always contactable by text if there is a problem, (which there wasn't) or if you need more breakfast supplies. He kindly picked us up and dropped us back at the railway station. He leaves plenty of information about the property, places of interest, directions to the local shops, places you might like to visit etc.
Opposite to the property is more canal, locks, boatyard, canal side seating and walking and a busy local pub. You can access the historic walls 50 yards from the door. Chester is a lovely city, old and new. Very pedestrian friendly, with excellent public transport. All in all, we had a lovely stay, and would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful bijou apartment”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from Chester staying at Canal View. A beautiful City full of charm, Tudor buildings and a must see in our opinion. The apartment was lovely and compact and our host, Ken, couldn't do enough for us. The welcome breakfast basket was amazing with everything one could want in it. The fridge was also well stocked. The little balcony was an added bonus with decking but, unfortunately because of the weather, we couldn't take advantage of it! It was very peaceful and quiet. We slept like logs in the lovely king size bed & the en suite bathroom had the best shower unit ever. We will certainly be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Chester experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Chester Canal View for 2 nights for our Wedding Anniversary. A bit tricky to find but well worth the effort. We saw a photograph of its location and it didn't disappoint. Room first class with everything you need, small kitchen, good shower and comfy bed. Balcony overlooking canal basin lovely view. Ken very helpful even leaving bottle of bubbly and a card for our Anniversary lovely gesture. We visited Telford Warehouse pub just across the canal good meals and received free bottle of wine with Ken's card.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
1 review
“Relaxing night away ”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just got back from a one night stay here for my 40th birthday. To echo previous reviews there is nothing not to like about this place. Private parking, en suite facilities, packed hamper, walking distance into Chester plus Ken left me a birthday gift and card which added a lovely personal touch you'd be hard pressed to get elsewhere. Thanks Ken, would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsUKFla
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, relaxing - close to the town centre, city walls, canals and a great pub”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location very close to the canal and city walls. Just a short stroll away is the city centre and also Chester race course. This bijou apartment has a comfortable double bed, small kitchenette and a great shower, The weather during our stay was unseasonably warm allowing us to take advantage of the balcony area. Ducks and swans were enjoying bobbing around on the canal and we could watch the people walking around the wall. Its such a tranquil area its hard to believe that its so close to the railway. Just over the road you will find yourself on the canal footpath and the adventurous can walk along the 16 mile route to Ellesmere port. If instead you head off to the right a very short walk will find you at the foot of the city walls. Take a walk up the steps and turning left at the top will take you to the city centre. If you turn right you will soon find yourself at the race course. A two mile circuit of the walls is to be recommended,Telford's Warehouse is close by on the canal and is a great bar and restaurant. We had a fantastic meal here for my birthday thanks to our host Ken recommending it to us. As well as being a fantastic restaurant and bar (with a wide range of beers and other alcoholic beverages), it is also an awesome live music venue with something on every night,
Ken lives above the apartment and gave us a very warm welcome and provided us with lots of help and advice. The apartment is in a gated community and the neighbours we met were all very friendly too, It was great having somewhere safe and close to park our car and we didn't have to use it at all during our stay as everything was so close by. We will definitely be staying here again and cannot thank Ken enough for our wonderful stay. The surprise basket of goodies that he gave me for my birthday was so lovely, A breakfast basket that he provides for your stay is full of lovely goodies too. . .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilm761
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed.”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is as I titled this. It is small but perfectly contained. Ken is a great host who can't do enough for you. The bed is large and comfortable. The shower is wonderful. The kitchen area is good but you won't cook a Sunday roast in it. The location is fabulous and you have safe car parking included. I will come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing