We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, a bit tired and cramped inside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Italia Chester

Bella Italia Chester
Ranked #139 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of Chester city centre, Bella Italia is a popular dining destination for those looking for well priced good quality Italian food. This well loved Chester restaurant is based in a pretty period building and offers a warm and inviting ambience. The menu ranges from authentic Italian pizzas to tasty pastas, meat and fish dishes. Indulge in a plate of mixed antipasto before diving into a bowl of chicken and spinach fusilli in a creamy gorgonzola sauce or a chargrilled salmon fillet served with green beans, roasted new potatoes and a tomato and red onion salsa. Ideal for friends, family and work colleagues, there really is something for everyone at Bella Italia Chester.
Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit tired and cramped inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I visited with my wife and newly nine year old daughter, it was her choice on her birthday. The food was good, a good choice is available on the menu and the staff were very friendly. The surroundings however are all a bit tired and in need of a facelift, and there is not much room to move once you are in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jono0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    158
    117
    86
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellant Fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were on a time limit for the Little Theatre & we were seated & received our food within 10minutes thanks to the pleasant helpful staff. Pizzas were really good

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 187069Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Bella Italia for the second time today. Have to say was very nice. We chose off the lunch time menu, which I must admit, wasn't given to us at first so ask for it. Some good offers on meals and kids meals. Had calzone with salad and a beer, very nice. Was very busy but staff managed to seat us. Would definitely go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaz6129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

2nd visit to the chester branch and won't hesitate to go again.

Had the mini garlic bastioni to share and they were fantastic. The bread is freshly baked with a nice crunch but a soft center, the garlic and parsley bit is to die for.

For main was the diavola calzone which was amazing, The dough wasn't to heavy and well presented.
Had plenty of pepperoni in with a great taste, they did advise that its hot but if you like something a little spicy then this is for you.

Service was faultless, always someone close enough should you need anything but don't feel like your being hovered over.

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I won a £50 voucher for Bella Italia and decided to use it for my husbands birthday. We went for lunch with our 2 year old granddaughter and my stepdaughter. We were lucky to get a table. It was very busy indeed. We were given an activity pack for our granddaughter including crayons, a cat mask (which she loved) and an activity book. The staff were very attentive and we were made to feel very welcome. Our granddaughter had the children's menu with carrot and cucumber sticks which were supposed to come with a tomato dip. The dip never arrived but the ham pizza came along very quickly. Our meals came along soon after. I chose the pasta with chicken dish. My husband had spaghetti carbonara. He said it was fantastic. My stepdaughter had chicken with veg and roast potatoes. The food was all lovely. The staff were great. Our only criticism was the state of the toilets. My stepdaughter said they were not too clean. All in all though a great meal especially was we had a two year old with us. We would definitely go back. The atmosphere was lively and all the staff friendly. It was a busy Saturday lunch time so the service was surprisingly quick.

Helpful?
Thank WirralLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Italia Chester also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Bella Italia Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing