We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Latymer Guest House
Ranked #48 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Owner was lovely and really took time to find out where we like to go and direct us to where would suit us.
Room was ok, dusty and the bed had a really annoying creak everytime you moved! Plus there was someone else's empty shower gel left in the shower so this hadn't been cleaned :-/.
As my boyfriend is a fireman he wasn't impressed by the dodgy plug sockets and wiring :-/!
There are no bins in the room so we left our rubbish!
Was really looking forward to a fried breakfast in the morning when hungover, however just toast, pastries, yogurts and cereals, which would have been fine if I wasn't hungover! The option for fried breakfast would have been nice.
The location is really good, only a few pounds in a taxi and free parking was a bonus.
I've paid the same money for a night in a nicer hotel so probably wouldn't go back to this one. However like said previously the owner is lovely and makes a real effort which was really nice but without her effort my marks would probably be lower, sorry :-(.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rgn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
12
38
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, Louise was a really nice host, but the room was naff, basic is an understatement & we couldn't put any clothes on the wardrobe as it smelt damp. Breakfast was a real eye opener - usually with bed & breakfast u get a full English, but this was just toast & cheap cheese & ham, left very hungry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, lovely owner who bent over backwards to get us in after initial confusion on booking (long story!). I will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone thinking about Chester as a destination! 10 minute taxi ride to the centre, corner shop, cash point and post office a 2 minute walk down the road. They only take cash so a local cash point came in handy!! Just lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 395Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here for one night with my partner. We were in Chester celebrating my birthday. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the city centre and all the pubs/attractions etc. We arrived at 11:30am and weren't supposed to check in until 4pm but the owner Louise was so lovely and said we could have our room straight away. She was sooooo helpful and gave us a taxi number and told us nice pubs/places to eat. Our room was very spacious with everything in it that we needed. There was a TV with Freeview, not that we needed it as we were straight out into Chester (pubs!). We were given a front door key and could come and go as we pleased. The hotel was clean and comfortable and for £42 for the room for the night was excellent value for money. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, cold pastries, warm croissants/pain au chocolate, toast, ham/cheese, fresh fruits, and as much tea and coffee as you wanted. I will definitely return and would describe it as a 'hidden gem'. Louise was wonderful and makes the hotel what it is.

:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here whilst attending Chester Races in July. The owner was v.helpful & friendly - having phoned her beforehand she managed to arrange an early check-in for us, she gave us numbers for local taxi firms & a list of pubs to go to (and also the ones to avoid!) The bedrooms were very clean with a good size bathroom with shower which, whilst a little tired, was very clean. Breakfast was continental - plenty of choice: cereals, toast, croissants, ham, cheese, yoghurts, jam & juice. There is plenty of parking at the front of the property. Given the high prices to stay in hotesl in Chester (particulary when the races are on), this B&B is excellent value for money and I would recommend to anybody who wants somewhere cheap & cheerful, close to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for an anniversary weekend in July. We paid £88 for 2 nights, which was very cheap compared to other local hotels. The owner of the hotel was lovely, and so helpful. Also very trusting. She was out when we arrived but left our room keys behind a plant pot!

The room had everything we needed; shower, freeview tv, tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom needed updating, as was very dated and worn out. However, the room itself was lovely and very clean.

Location is ideal; only 15 minute walk into Chester town, and 15 drive to Cheshire Oaks or Chester Zoo. Lovely local bars and restaurants.

We had a lovely stay at Latymer House and would return.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmawwfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Arcs, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Having read some other reviews, I am unsure what people want from a budget "£30" a night B&B. My room was clean, it had a private bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, replenished towels, TV and breakfast was included. Not to mention all the free advise and help I was given from the owner Louise. I have never been made so welcome.

If you are traveling alone, you will be made extremely welcome here. If you are looking to save money and be close to the city center (10 mins beautiful walk), this is the place for you.

The rooms are not huge, but definitely not cramped. I will be recommending this to others that want to save cash and enjoy the city. If you want luxury, spend more and accept it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliezfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
The Laurels at Chester
The Laurels at Chester
#50 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latymer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latymer Guest House

Property: Latymer Guest House
Address: 82 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basic bed & breakfast near to City with free parking and free internet (not fibre optic broadband though). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Latymer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latymer Guest House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing