We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very NICE LUNCH” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upstairs at The Grill

Upstairs at The Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstairs at The Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Upstairs at the Grill is a split-level Manhattan-style steakhouse and intimate cocktail bar located in Chester City Centre. Open Monday to Thursday from 5pm and from 12pm Friday, Saturday and Sunday, we offer our guests the opportunity to explore our selection of locally sourced dry aged beef and extensive wine list. We look forward to welcoming you to Upstairs at the Grill.Upstairs At The Grill is available for a range of private parties, birthday parties, working lunches, business meetings or wedding receptions. Whether an intimate table of 2, party of 8 or an all-out celebration for 80, we’re here to help.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very NICE LUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

A cracking good lunch, very nicely served with great attention to detail. Well mannered and very switched on staff in comfortable surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,697
    286
    108
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

A great location for a quiet intimate dinner. Cocktails and a good sellection of whiskeys are served in a cosy bar . Food is excellent but mostly steaks with variuos sauces. Fab desserts .. Staff and service where excellent .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visited here at the weekend

The food was amazing and the service was first class with the staff being very attentive

They even gave my Mother a birthday card which I thought was a nice touch

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Ate here last night with my husband and another couple and we all agreed it was the best meal that we've ever had both in terms of food quality and service. On arrival we were taken upstairs where we had pre dinner cocktails, were shown all the different cuts of meat and made our orders. At no point did we feel rushed and all our questions were answered.Then we went down to the dining room to eat. The starters were great - two of us had the stilton souffle and the other two had the omelette. For main course we had 2 USDA ribeyes, delmonico ribeye and the tbone with a selection of sauces and sides. All were cooked to perfection. We then went back upstairs to have dessert and a few more drinks. The meal was expensive but you get what you pay for and I will definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petal-smythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant service not matched by the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

You receive an excellent warm welcome from all the staff and management but the food, heavily steak influenced, dies not live up to its star billing.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs at The Grill also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing