We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever”

Upstairs at The Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstairs at The Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 559 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Upstairs at the Grill is a split-level Manhattan-style steakhouse and intimate cocktail bar located in Chester City Centre. Open Monday to Thursday from 5pm and from 12pm Friday, Saturday and Sunday, we offer our guests the opportunity to explore our selection of locally sourced dry aged beef and extensive wine list. We look forward to welcoming you to Upstairs at the Grill.Upstairs At The Grill is available for a range of private parties, birthday parties, working lunches, business meetings or wedding receptions. Whether an intimate table of 2, party of 8 or an all-out celebration for 80, we’re here to help.
1 review
“Best steak ever”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Never tasted a better steak! The service is second to none the staff were fantastic I've never been so well looked after. Great choices on the menu and the steak is out of this world

Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    299
    116
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Try the omelette - amazing”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate here on the off chance on Friday on our way to a talk. Thus we benefitted from the £15 steak/lobster we had both between us, delightful but the stand out dish was the omelette arnold bennett what a light and delightful concoction, really memorable. The only downside was the lettuce with honey and mustard sauce and bacon bits that would have been more at home in Pizza Hut the rest was worth a repeat visit which no doubt we will make sometime soon. ALso of note the non alcoholic drinks - how refreshing to see some style here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“great food, very popular book well in advance”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

finally got around to visiting Upstairs at the grill for the second time after having wanted to visit again for quite some time. trying to get a table for 8pm on a friday or saturday means selling your soul, or booking two years in advance it seems, but this shows how popular this place is.
Food was fantastic, steak cooked to perfection and service was brilliant too. i will say be prepared to pay though, when you order your steak that is all youre getting, items such as sauces, chips, veg etc are all chargeable sides so as long as you realise this then you wont choke when you get your bill at the end of the night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank markbob917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I can honestly say that this is the nicest place I have ever had a meal.
I treated my parents to a meal out, we all had three courses, everything was cooked to perfection, the steaks are amazing, atmosphere was brilliant, service was fantastic - I could not rate this place any higher.. if I could give it 6 stars I would.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leemmajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to celebrate our anniversary”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We decided to visit Chester at the last minute to celebrate our second wedding anniversary, and used trip advisor to get some ideas on somewhere to go for a nice meal. Upstairs at the Grill had such great reviews we decided we would go there and we were not disappointed. The food and atmosphere were great. I think the menu on the whole is reasonably priced considering the quality of the food we received and the level of service.

The staff were extremely attentive both helping us decide what to go for and checking we were happy with everything throughout our meal. My husband had also mentioned it was to celebrate our anniversary and when we arrived at our table there was a card waiting for us, which I thought was a very nice touch. We would definitely recommend this place to our family and friends if they were visiting Chester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs at The Grill also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing