We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thai food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chang Noi

Chang Noi
Ranked #132 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$41
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best thai food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I just love everything I have eaten here. Friendly staff and great value for money too.would eat here once a week if I could. Thai red curry is to die for. Bu not had anything here we haven't loved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliegirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

At long last we have ventured into the Chang Noi, having passed it umpteen times along the road. It certainly did NOT disappoint.
Service was warm and friendly. The menu was varied and explained each dish in some detail. The food we ordered was served promptly and was piping hot. We tried each others and thought all the meals were absolutely delicious.
The prices are so reasonable too. Such great value for money and such delicious food we will certainly be going back.
Spread the word!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoosieEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our first visit - not the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

.We were extremely impressed with our visit. Food and service extremely good. Venue - the Birch & Bottle, nr Antrobus - ideal and comfortable with a nice atmosphere - lovely conservatory. We didn't expect it to be that good as the prices were very reasonable - will definitely recommend and visit again. At last we've found somewhere we did not complain about anything - thank you for a pleasant evening with delightful staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We regularly travel 20 miles to enjoy the Chang Noi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Having eaten many times at the Chang Noi when it was at the Nags Head in Mickle Trafford, we decided we would still go when they moved to the Birch & Bottle near Antrobus. Nearly two years later and we still love travelling up once a month for some delicious Thai food. We have been meaning to put a review on for ages so here it is. Both of us can't say enough good things about the food at the Chang Noi. We are always made to feel welcome especially by Jan and we love the feel of the Birch & Bottle, it has character. Something which is rare when you visit many of the identikit chain pubs nowadays. The food is fantastic value for money, we used to order off the tea time special menu which at 2 courses for £7 is ridiculously cheap. This is available till around 6pm every day. Over time though we have tried more and more of the food and now we struggle to decide what to have, it is all that nice. They will even alter the strength of your dish if you don't like it too hot or want to make it that bit spicier. Even when you order off the main menu, 2 courses will cost around £12, for the quality of the food you get this is great value. Sometimes we could just sit and order all the starters they are that good, Thai Fish Cakes, Chicken Satay Sticks and the Spring Rolls are amongst our favourites. The Crispy Shredded Beef, Pad Thai with Chicken or Beef Massaman Curry are currently what I struggle to choose between for main. Whatever you choose you can have your meal with either Chicken, Beef, Prawns or a combination. We have visited Thailand many times and the food in the Chang Noi is a great introduction to Thai food. I think it stands up against any other Thai restaurant in the area and the quality of the food is much better than the over priced city centre Thai restaurants we have tried. I hope this restaurant keeps dishing up great food, because as long as it does we will be there to enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos197834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

What can i say! This was a lucky "find" . The service is excellent, they really go the extra mile to accommodate your needs. The food made sure we return regularly. The prices ensure we can afford to return!
I really recommend their cold salad on a warm day (when we have one).
Don't be put off by the exterior, it was a pub in a previous life.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chang Noi also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chang Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing