We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Practically Perfect In Every way "”
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lavender Lodge
Ranked #14 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Frederika has it spot on ......... every need catered for . Little touches that matter to me ------ nice crockery , decent drinking glasses . Rooms tasteful ... as is breakfast .
I will return again and again .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainecleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my second visit to Lavender Lodge staying the 7th & 8th November and it was like "going home" Once again I relished the splendour of the elegant décor throughout the home, a very comfortable bed with crisp white linen. My bedroom was light and airy with two windows dressed in fine drapery. The en-suite shower was 5 star and immaculate. A substantial breakfast carried one through to mid afternoon and was made with high quality produce. Frederika is a warm, receptive and informative host and I thank her for letting me stay in her home. I HIGHLY recommend Lavender Lodge, Chester to one and all who want to feel totally at home and in comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faraway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hotel is very clean and rooms are very warm. Breakfast is plentiful and served hot. Frederika is an excellent host and she gives you a warm welcome. Car parking is tight and we had to park in the driveway but this only a minor glitch. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you state en - suite and not private bathroom, as you have to walk past another room to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lavender Lodge mid Sept 2013 for 3 nights. We had some friends to visit in north wales and also wanted to visit Chester so the location looked about right. Our host Frederika was warm, helpful and served a wonderful breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. The Lodge is on busy Hoole Rd but off street parking is offered and although a squeeze it all worked OK. Nearby Hoole village had convenience shops and pubs and was only 10 minutes walk away. The bus stop was just across the road and Chester central was about a 10 minute ride away. A perfect location for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webby1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

After a lot of searching for a nice place to stay for a surprise weekend away for my husbands 50th birthday I stumbled upon Lavender Lodge through the visitchester website and thought I'd book it as the reviews were good. We arrived just after 2pm on Friday 11th October and decided to ask if we could park on the carpark before 4pm check-in and go for a wander. Fredricka was more than happy and even allowed early check-in as the room was ready. We were in room 6 which was located at the rear of the property through a gate so we didn't have to enter the main house. Room was very clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent (big bowl of fresh fruit was a lovely addition to the traditional) and Steven was very attentive to our needs. Being out of the city itself isn't a problem, its a straight road and at a leisurely pace takes 15 minutes maximum and when you get there you're right by the eastgate. Overall the weekend was lovely and we would definitely book to stay at Lavender Lodge again in the future

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalsallJo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent a weekend at the lodge and will say that the owner and staff were very pleasant and friendly. The lodge was within walking distance to the city centre and the staff gave us lots of helpful information about how to get round. The breakfast was lovely and there was an excellent choice. the room was very nice and the cup of tea after a 7 hour drive was more than welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath7468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wonderful place to stay for our first night in Britain. A real taste of British hospitality. The owners were so very kind and gracious, and whatever you do don't miss the proper breakfast. It was absolutely wonderful. The rooms we're accommodating, well appointed and nice. The only complaint I have is that the church across the street rang it's bells right on through about 9:30pm. But after we shut the window it was much better. Don't know if that was a one off, or what. The location is great, walking distance to town, but we had a car.

Room Tip: Rear rooms might be better to avoid the bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bored72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 45 in Chester
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Address: 46 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £69 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing