We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality and amazing breakfasts, excellent location and room”
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lavender Lodge
Ranked #15 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at Lavender Lodge in August 2009 and this was the first time we had stayed in Chester. The owner was there to welcome us upon arrival and was even kind enough to do some laundry for us (after a very unfortunately incident half an hour earlier involving a bottle of ketchup at The Little Chef). The room was extremely clean, cozy and comfortable with a good sized en suite bathroom. Lavender Lodge is situated in an excellent location, with fabulous Indian and Chinese restaurants and also a lovely cosy Bistro all within a few minutes walking distance (even in high heels!!). There is free off-road parking, which does require a little careful reversing when the car park is full, as there is not a great deal of turning space. You are able to catch a local bus taking you into the heart of Chester and the shops, which runs approximately every 15-20 minutes and the bus stop is only a couple of minutes walk from Lavender Lodge. The local taxis are also very reliable and inexpensive at approximately £4 to take you into town if you're unable to catch a bus. A lovely place to stay, with helpful and friendly staff and the most amazing breakfasts, including freshly home grown fruits in the summer - divine !!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FATFIGHTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2009

Lavender Lodge is a very nice clean and friendly B&B. Easy to find, it has parking at the front, a very nice courtyard area at the back surrounded with plants. The room was very nice with TV and Kettle, On-suite bathroom and a very comfy bed. But the best thing of all was the breakfast!
It's about a 30min walk in to town and we also had a meal at the Black house Grill which was superb. And a lunch at a Deli the owner recommended to us (sorry, can't remember the name)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snabel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the beginning of August.We were made to feel very much at home straightaway.
The room was spacious very airy and lovely decor.
The breakfast was plentiful we even had homegrown fresh fruit.
The lodge is in a good central position,only 10 minutes to the city center.
We will certainly come here again on our next visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This guest house was very quiet despite being situated beside a busy road. Our accommodation was very well appointed and displayed a high level of cleanliness. The staff are most welcoming and obliging. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

we have stayed at lavendar lodge on various occasions wouldnt stay anywhere else while visiting chester . accomodation is best and cleanest we have stayed in and Frederika is very friendly and helpful. breakfast is excellent with fresh fruit every morning orange juice and full english. very easy to walk into Chester town centre so you dont need to take car . nice friendly hotel accross road for evening meal if you dont wont to go to far . will be back in the spring for our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pake47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Some things to point out this has a small car park not fully suited to an 8 bedroomed property. That said you can park on the road. We arrived lunchtime but got advised to come back later to collect keys. We did just that but to our astonishment nobody was in to answer the door. We had to knock at the door of another place who offered us use of there telephone. Lavender Lodge is ok a place to stay but I have stayed in better for a more competitive price. Lots of other choices on Hoole Road. I will not be rushing back here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed at Lavender Lodge for three nights and would recommend it to anyone. It is one of the cleanest b&b's we have ever stayed in and is so comortable and friendly. The full breakfast is recommended, but there is also a good choice of more healthy foods. The proprieter Frederika and staff make you feel very welcome. Once you have parked the car you can forget it while you are there. Chester is only 15 minuets walk, or there is a handy bus service and there are plenty of places to go for a night out and an evening meal in Hoole.
antwal, Skipton.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#23 of 45 in Chester
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 45 in Chester
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Address: 46 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £69 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing