We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Backpackers
accrington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with trepidation as never stayed at a hostel before. The owner was very friendly and helpful showing us round and giving us any help needed. The room we were in was dated and very cramped for 3 people but above all else very clean. We were only there to sleep in it and was less than £20 each-what more can you expect? Less than 5 minutes walk to city centre. I would stay again and absolutely recomend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lancsfoodiefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    13
    7
    17
See reviews for
4
17
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having not stayed in many hostels before I was a bit worried initially if only because the other hostels we stayed in had been affiliated with the YHA rather than being an independent outfit. I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience, however, as the staff was exceedingly friendly, the location was convenient, and the rooms/facilities were sufficient.

We stayed 7 to a large room that had an en-suite bathroom. The beds were relatively comfortable and the bathroom facilities were sufficient. There was a small kitchen area which was convenient and did have tea-making facilities if you wanted a cup. There was wifi available for free, which was a nice feature, which you could get easily in the rooms or common areas. The staff was quite attentive and friendly, being willing to look after our bags for a fair portion of our check-out day before we returned for them.

The hostel is nicely located in terms of being a quick walk away from the city center, although there were no parking facilities that I could see.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RobC614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We slept in the dorm (18 bed), the room has only one very small window, so air was bad. The beds were very uncomfortable and flimsy, whenever I turned, the one below awoke and if somebody in the room moved, the bed's noise woke me up. And I am usually not waking up easily...
Bathroom facilities in the basement and cleanliness were ok, critics: no mirrors in the girl's restroom or shower, light switch for all bathrooms is on the first floor: it can happen that you are in the shower, and somebody else switches off the light without noticing that you are in there. Believe me, it is very hard to find your way out through many doors when it's pitch-black...
We didn't use the kitchen but it looked ok. Common room looked shabby.
Staff was friendly.
Location was good.
No parking area :(

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matheschnecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

North Wales
Level Contributor
192 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Backpackers was a great discovery.Superb location.The check-in was swift.a VERY friendly man checked us in.Its a laid back relaxed venue.The room was warm,comfortable,it has wifi,very handy.The location of Backpackers is ideal to stroll around Chester.An ideal chilled clean tidy place to stay.The use of the kitchen is very good.Coffee and tea etc is freely available as are cooking and food storage.Excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a double room with bathroom this venue has one at least.As good as any Ive stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the end of October for a night out in Chester; we had a private ensuite double room for £42 which is a good price for central Chester on a Saturday night.The staff were very friendly and the room was clean and tidy. The kitchen area was also clean and there was coffee, tea, milk etc which you could help yourself to whenever you liked as often as you liked.We were also able to park on the road behind the hostel for free (after 6pm and on Sunday).The hostel was literally a couple of minutes walk away from all the shops / pubs and the train station so it's ideally situated. Overall had a very good experience for my first stay in a hostel and would stay there again when we next have a night out in Chester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Was reluctant to book here cos of bad reviews but first impressions on arrival were good. Looked a cool place, welcoming, good location etc. Room clean and comfy with nice shower (bathroom needs a bathmat though as water gathers in middle of floor). New manager friendly and trying hard to get a better reputation for the place. had a great couple of nights here. they've only had it a month so previous reviews are pretty much irrelevant. would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramah, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Under new management and they are really trying to make this place great. The staff are soooo accommodating and willing to help ! The price is right. Chester s an amazing town and this hostel is n the perfect area. The rooms are clean and the kitchen is fine. It s secure and friendly. Highly recommend this place. We are American and had high hopes. they were here for us .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Backpackers

Property: Chester Backpackers
Address: 67 Boughton, Chester CH3 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chester Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chester Backpackers Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing