We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and homely”

Trelawney Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trelawney Guest House
Ranked #29 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Whitstable
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Welcoming and homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

As soon as you enter the Trelawney you get the feeling it is not just a house, it is a home. It has no pretentions, but my room was clean and more than adequate, all at a price of less than half what I have paid in hotels which have not come up to standard.

Tessa, Sean and the staff make you feel welcome, and nothing is too much to make you feel comfortable.

There is no private car park, but it is on a relatively quiet road, and parking close to the house was not a problem at all. They provide just bed & breakfast, but being only a few minutes' walk from a number of restaurants, that is not a problem - and one of the restaurants in town even gives their guests a discount.

All in all, I felt very welcome and comfortable at an extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
23
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Couples trip? Visiting our son who is studying at the Uni. Slightly tired of early breakfast at B&Bs so, like our daughter we opted for no breakfast. It is Winter and we were looking for a more leisurely start to the day. Parking in Winter was easy. Close to beaches, castle and town. Easy walk to Swanpool past Ghylly beach. Loads to see and do in Falmouth. We stayed 2 nights and only used the car to pop up to Asda. We had a sea view, think Faulty Towers ;) We would stay again. Bookings can be made directly to Tessa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudsinatent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We came here for a long week-end break.
The front of the house looked a mess. First impression were not good.
The room was very clean the place had a shabby chic look about it
However we had to pay extra for break-fast which was made clear before we booked.
But was very disappointed with the early break-fast times (7.30 to 8.45)only.

We felt it was expensive for what it had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 212Tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

On my one night stay here to visit relatives locally I was made very welcome - in spite of the fact that I had to drop bags off immediately and return later! The room was warm and clean with good quality bed linen which was very welcome after the exhausting day I had been through, looking after elderly relatives. The continental breakfast - which I had - comprised of locally made jams and delicious organic bread, and the hot breakfast which was being devoured by others looked very appetizing too. Staff were very helpful and accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. I recommend this Guest house in the leafy part of Falmouth - near the Maritime Museum and Events Square - to anyone wishing a relaxing 'getaway'.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely B and B.
The room was big and modern, we had tea making facilities, towels and even a robe. Tessa the owner was so welcoming and friendly, can't wait to come again :)

Room Tip: Although check states by 730 pm ask and they will do this later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_cane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

My partner and I went to stay in Falmouth to visit my brother who is studying there. We chose Trelawney after reading lots of reviews on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. It is a lovely guest house with good facilities in the room - we were really impressed to find the tea tray included a cafetiere and hot chocolate. The room had everything we needed, including a good selection of tourist leaflets and maps, which were just what we needed to explore Falmouth. We went with the option of not having breakfast, as it was served a bit early for us, and were really grateful that it was charged separately.

The guest house was really quiet and is in a great location, just a few minuntes' walk from the sea front and the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We've been visiting Falmouth for four years off and on while our son was studying at the University College there. Over the years we have stayed in many different hotels and B&Bs in and around town, but we hadn't found any we really wanted to go back to. Until now.

For what was probably our last visit, to see our son's graduation, we booked a couple of rooms at the Trelawney. Online booking via booking.com was quick and easy. The location was ideal for us, just a ten-minute walk into town, and only five minutes from the Princess Pavilion where the graduation ceremony took place, so having parked right outside when we arrived, our car didn't have to move until we left.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, very well equipped, and comfortable. The owners were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were also everything we could ask for - literally: you can have whatever you care to ask for (within reason!)

As my review title says, I wish we'd found this place four years ago, and should we ever return to Falmouth we'd almost certainly go back to the Trelawney.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Guest House
Tregenna Guest House
#18 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melvill House
Melvill House
#22 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#8 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#30 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellington House
Wellington House
#24 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Guest House

Property: Trelawney Guest House
Address: 6 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Trelawney Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trelawney Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing