We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Falmouth Townhouse
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Flying visit”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at the Falmouth Townhouse and was very pleased with my choice. The hotel has character with old fixtures and fittings with a modern twist. Rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

When we first arrived (with the current cold weather) we settled by the open fire with a glass of wine, which was lovely. There was also plenty of magazines and newspapers to read alongside. Breakfast also couldn't be faulted with table service and a good food choice.

Wish I had gotten to stay a little longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    69
    20
    21
    21
See reviews for
22
119
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I'd recommend The Townhouse, Falmouth for its in room tea & coffee making facilities alone - the coffee was freshly ground and came with a Tunnock's Caramel Wafer & bright colourful mugs. Such things are appreciated, especially after 5 hours on bus & train travelling to get there. The room was stylish retro: G-plan furniture, rich colours and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom & complimentary products were unexpectedly luxurious and the shower powerful. The rest of the hotel has a nice shabby chic feel with carefully thought through design elements e.g. there was an eye catching hanging array of coloured bulbs/deconstructed chandelier in the breakfast room. Service is informal and friendly, breakfast freshly cooked with quality ingredients and I think it must have one of the best bars in Falmouth too. Free wi-fi was also much appreciated. Location is excellent too - near the station and overlooking the harbour. The best compliment I can give is that it didn't feel like a typical hotel or B&B but rather somewhere you'd actually like to hang out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had a large sunny bedroom at the rear of the property, with a funky decor and bright sofa. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. The owners were friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent for just meandering into town. there is a Tesco's 100m away, and Rick Stein's restaurant is just over the road (the prawn starter was superb!).

Breakfast was a relaxed afair, and the eggs benedict were truly awesome - and you could actually watch the hollandaise sauce being made freshly!

There is a well-stocked bar on the premesis, and a larger pub next door if you want to watch the sport (we were there during the 6-Nations).

All in all, it felt like a friendly, fresh change from most standard hotels, and was not any more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_cat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Have stayed here a number of times and the standard of service is always very high. It is a converted house, so lacks the facilities designed into a purpose built hotel, but the standard of what they provide is very high. The rooms are spacious and well fitted out, the breakfasts are high quality and the bar is comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here on New Years Eve as my girlfriend and I figured it would be easier than getting a taxi and probably work out as not that much more expensive. We were both really impressed. Fantastic old building, nicely decorated, decent sized en-suite room. The bed was huge and really comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean, with a great shower. I was even impressed by the fancy toiletries, much nicer smelling than the usual sachets of gunk.

In the morning, we had a fantastic breakfast (which was greatly needed) all included in the price of the room. Lovely staff with a genuine friendly, laid back attitude but professional all the same.
Cheaper than a lot of hotels in Falmouth, right in the centre and full of character, what's not to like? Almost a shame we live so locally as probably not that likely we'll get an excuse to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back. Not a great view but then we weren't really staying for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahdum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel was very centrally located. The rooms were decorated very nicely, however there was a very large damp patch on our wall as well as the room being very small.
Downstairs there is a bar which was very busy and noisy on Saturday night, but we were on the 3rd floor so managed to get some sleep.
The breakfast wasn't great!
Also, the parking was a big problem - the hotel only has a few spots which were full every time we tried to park so ended up having to pay for parking.
The owners were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We loved The Falmouth Townhouse. It brings a smile to your face just looking at the brightly coloured quirky furnishings and decor. The bar is lively and fun. The breakfast is amazing. The staff made us feel so welcome and are so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerrieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#11 of 23 in Falmouth
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#18 of 23 in Falmouth
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
2.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Townhouse

Property: The Falmouth Townhouse
Address: 3 Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Falmouth Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel and bar in the centre of Falmouth. Occupying a grand Georgian townhouse, overlooking Falmouth's busy seascape and marina. Kick back, relax and enjoy some of the hippest rooms in Falmouth. Ten rooms with huge beds, luxury bathrooms, flat screen televisions and all the normal hotel comforts you'd expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Townhouse Hotel Falmouth
The Hotel Falmouth
The Boutique Hotel Falmouth
The Falmouth Townhouse Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing