We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back Cornish chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Falmouth Townhouse
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Laid back Cornish chic”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at the Townhouse many times, and loved it every time. Easily the most laid-back and friendly staff in any hotel anywhere - and we've stayed in a lot of hotels! Décor is an eclectic retro chic which gives the whole hotel a relaxed feel you just don't get in the perfectly planned boutiques up country. Comfy beds to lie back in and listen to the seagulls, and absolutely the best breakfast on the planet. You're in the middle of the buzziest end of town, so there's plenty going on - if you get bored with people-watching the comings and goings around the Maritime Museum quarter from your window then there's always the view across the harbour. Minor downsides - Wi-Fi and phone signal are both ropey and patience is needed in finding a free car park. Overall though the Townhouse is unique in Falmouth, a town that is packed full of dated chintzy blue rinse hotels and B&Bs. This is the only affordable hotel that caters to the under-80, trendier, surfier, laid-back kind of crowd that are filling Falmouth today.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_lawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    71
    21
    21
    24
See reviews for
23
124
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our waiter was a sculptor, the barman, a fashion photographer and the cook, an accountant - all looking after the hotel while the owner was surfing in North Devon - groovy. The Falmouth Townhouse is a charming, arty hotel with that relaxed atmosphere found in places where the people who work there like the place. The bar was humming in the evening but the only noise I heard in our room (contemporary with retro accents and a huge bed) was the squawk of seagulls, though the cocktails might have had something to do with that. Our breakfast of American pancakes with maple syrup, bacon and poached eggs and my husband's eggs with black pudding and smoked salmon (cured by the chef) were faultless. Excellent Bloody Mary. We will definitely return, these kinds of hotels are rare. A fun place to go, probably without the kids, though I'm sure they'd be welcomed too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruddlehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed two nights in early August and only have good things to say about the hotel. Initial impressions were good, looked good from outside and excellent location. Had the petit double, quite small but knew that in advance and good value at £85 a night. Great views of harbour from the window and room was clean and, like the rest of the hotel, funkily decorated. Breakfast was excellent. Full English one of the best I’ve had. Beautifully presented and produce was of a really high standard. Seeing as we moved on to a hotel near Rock that cost more than double the Townhouse a night the breakfast there wasn’t a path on the townhouse. Excellent and really friendly staff. Special mention to Mark and Dave, who were really friendly, cant remember who was who but I think Mark (husky voice and looked like a young Rutger Hauer) gave us some great tips on roads to take around Cornwall for best views and beaches. Much appreciated. There are 3 or 4 spaces behind the hotel for parking but its first come first served. We got a space first night but lost it second when we went for a long drive. Used the main car park across the street from the townhouse the next night which wasnt too expensive as is a small fee from 5pm-midnight then free from midnight to 9am. I knew parking would be a challenge so wasnt an issue for us. Only downside might be noise – the pub net door The Cutty Sark was quite noisy but we were down on a quiet, relaxing break, earlyish nights and it didn’t bother us. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quieter but lose the harbour view which we enjoyed early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwanM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

First impression was very good. The building is very striking grey and looked stunning against a blue sky. Location to was excellent, with views overlooking the water and a stone's throw from the centre.

Greeted by very friendly staff who directed us to the hotel's private parking. We had been warned that spaces were limited, but we managed to park without any problem.

The gentleman who greeted us (I'm terrible at remembering names) was very friendly and efficient and we were quickly booked in.

The room itself was lovely (Room Three) with stunning views across the water. It was a large sized room, with a similarly sized bathroom. Both were decorated to a really high standard and very clean. It was stylish and contemporary. The other areas of the hotel were also beautifully designed and nicely kept.

Noise throughout the night wasn't too bad for a town centre, and the only real issue I had was with someone beeping their car horn repeatedly for about 5 minutes, but that's nothing to to with the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent. I went for the full English and my wife went for pancakes with fruit and yoghurt. Both were freshly made and delicious.

I was recommended the Townhouse by my brother who stayed here last year, and I'd recommend it to anyone else looking for somewhere to stay. We'd happily come back here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great location, chilled out ambiance, friendly, helpful staff, great selection of local beers. Very spacious room, although rear facing so not much of a view. 5 mins walk from center of town / harbour, and it is close to some other nightspots, so maybe not the place to stay for early nights. :)

Top quality breakfasts!! Best Full English I've had in a long time, and the Eggs Montreal was fantastic also, in house smoked salmon. Very tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmq72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent, massive room, very comfy big bed, beautiful bathroom with amazing shower. Decor fantastic. Friendly chatty staff. Great location. Very pleased. Retro boutique room. Lovely clean and safe. Staff on hand with your every need

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pman170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Great location. Right across the road from the docks and a very short walk to the town centre. Staff were more than helpful and always very friendly. Had a very chilled out atmosphere to the whole place which fits in well with the town in general. Recommend a front facing room which offers lovely sea views.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misterliam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Townhouse

Property: The Falmouth Townhouse
Address: 3 Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Falmouth Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel and bar in the centre of Falmouth. Occupying a grand Georgian townhouse, overlooking Falmouth's busy seascape and marina. Kick back, relax and enjoy some of the hippest rooms in Falmouth. Ten rooms with huge beds, luxury bathrooms, flat screen televisions and all the normal hotel comforts you'd expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Townhouse Hotel Falmouth
The Hotel Falmouth
The Boutique Hotel Falmouth
The Falmouth Townhouse Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing