We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Falmouth Townhouse
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Brooke, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Stylish,”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I have to travel to Falmouth on business several time per year. I have previously stayed at The Grove, which TripAdvisor rates as #1. But I fancied a change before Xmas so opted for the TownHouse. What a good move! I've returned for three times since.

This is a different sort of hotel to the 'traditional' Grove next door, The Townhouse is a bit chic, modern and edgy and all the better for it. The staff always seem to be local twenty-somethings and this gives the hotel a Cornwall-feel with a metropolitan outlook. They all seem highly committed to the hotel and providing good service. All Highly recommended.

The evening food is limited to a few specials and Tapas. Hot and tasty. It's not a full-service restaurant. If you want that sort of thing, just wander over the road, where there are plenty of alternatives.

The beds are great. The bathrooms modern and clean. There's free wifi. You really can't ask for more. The breakfast is cooked to order and is without doubt one of the best hotel breakfasts I have eaten - and I've eaten a few. It's clearly made from local ingredients - nothing from a packet in this hotel. Fantastic coffees, fruit juices. In fact, the breakfasts are consistently 5*.

So, in summary, the hotel is right in the middle of downtown. It's not your traditional 'landlady' experience. Great rooms & bathrooms, boutique-feel and fantastic breakfasts. It should really be #1.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    69
    20
    20
    19
See reviews for
21
118
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I visit Falmouth for 3 nights at a time two to three times a year and have always stayed at the same hotel, due to a last minute trip i needed to find somewhere else, after reading the reviews on here Falmouth Town house was chosen.

They are obviously getting ready for the season as painting was being touched up and re done, which meant my room did have that fresh paint smell, not ideal however the next guests will benefit from clean new paintwork.

I had room 3 which I would class as a large superior double, very fresh and modern, huge bed and nice duvet, more pillows would have helped but that's being picky. Nice bathroom with a good monsoon shower head and nice fluffy towels and high quality toiletries. Good selection of Teas and Coffees and great size Flat Screen to watch, they room layout just worked.

Downsides little niggles which end annoying, there is only one bin in the room, in the bathroom, which means you carry your rubbish, tea bags, milk cartoons etc, to the bathroom rather than under the desk/kettle. The lovely sash windows are very thin, and the blind doesn't cover the whole window which means it is noisy and light in the morning, the winter this may be okay, as the summer happens (hopefully) this may annoy some.

Parking offroad is great however the layout for 6 cars mean 3 are always blocked in, OK unless you are the one blocked in and need to go early, but only a minor niggle

Food: Breakfast was superb, very nice and fresh, home cooked with high quality ingredients. Can recommend the Banana Pancakes!! I didn't eat there during the stay as Falmouth has one of the highest concentrations of restaurants around, most of which are stunning and offer very good food at great prices.

Overall, I shall be back and stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayospruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2010

A great hotel that is trying hard to provide top quality boutique hotel accommodation and service in Falmouth. The hotel itself and the rooms are very good although they need a bit more work on decorations and furnishings to create the true quality boutique feel and atmosphere. This does not detract from friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, a cool and atmospheric bar area, excellent food and breakfasts. If they can get the development of the place right this is one to watch. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelellis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north devon
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2009

What a fabulous, stylish hotel! The rooms were excellent, comfortable and clean with great decor. The shower was just wonderful! I was staying with a friend and next door was her sister and her young family. Great for families and people of all ages. The bar was fantastic and lively with people from outside of the hotel aswell as the guests. I believe they have just started providing dinner in the evening and going by the breakfast I would say that it would be well worth trying out! Unfortunately we were only staying for one night.....but i'm sure to be heading back soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This is pricey for what it is.
Towels not changed when left in bath.
No mirror or waste bin in the room, just in the bathroom.
Breakfast service a bit sluggish & first morning didn't get what I asked for.
Management not friendly - didn't introduce themselves.
However, the breakfast's are very good & served till 10.30.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Upon arriving in Falmouth and putting the car in the nearest car park downtown, we set off on foot and found the hotel quickly and easily (where we got directions into one of the few parking spots just behind the hotel). The location is terrific - just across from the maritime museum and steps away from the main street of Falmouth with shops and restaurants galore. In the afternoon we walked up to Pendennis Castle which was fantastic (including views of the bay along the walk).

I won't say that we were greeted terribly warmly, but perhaps it just took some time for the gentleman at reception to warm up to us. When we saw him the next morning, he was much more chatty about the hotel and insisted on helping us take our luggage up the drive to our car. The staff is very down to earth and seemed to be genuinely interested in how we were enjoying our stay. When the wifi was not working for us later in the afternoon, they tried very hard to help (and the problem was resolved later that night).

Prior descriptions are right on the money -- a traditional Georgian townhouse on the outside, with modern, unique decor inside. (probably as close as I've been to staying in a W hotel....with 60's interior decor). It can take a minute to get used to it, but we liked the modernist sofa in the room, ultramodern chandeliers, and unique colors. Our room was very large, overlooking the marina/museum, high ceiling, fabulous modern bathroom (the best we've had in the UK ever!!).

As noted in a prior review, our room was located just above the bar area and it did get annoying to hear thumping music until 11 pm or so. I'm not sure how that can be resolved at this point and it could really be off-putting if one was in town on business and needed some sleep. (We did call reception around 11 and they were very pleasant about turning the music down a bit.) The other issue is that we like fresh air, but with the front-facing room, you couldn't keep the window open at night -- too noisy from the bar, neighboring pubs, and regular street traffic. In warmer weather, it would be much too stuffy in the room at night unless they brought in a fan.

The hotel has not been up and running for all that long and they are still working on some refurbishments. I think the hotel has enormous potential as they work out a few kinks -- for example, the shower is huge and fantastic, but there is no shelf to put soap or shampoo on, so you have to hold it in your hand or put it on the shower floor. The hallway ourside our room clearly needed a vacuum; a few stray pieces of paper were there from the time we checked in until the time we left.

I would absolutely stay there again, especially compared to some of the older properties in town and look forward to the management getting everything exactly as they want it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

When I made my booking, I wasn't asked for a credit card number, and I wasn't sent a confirmation. Not really a problem, but unusual. But I did feel I had to phone back just to check.

The best thing about the Townhouse is the staff: very relaxed, helpful and friendly.

Our room (no. 6) was on the top floor at the back. Being south facing and at the top, it was extremely warm; this was at the end of September - heavens knows what it must be like in mid summer. This obviously isn't the hotel's fault, but putting a fan in the room would have made it much more comfortable.

The decorating of the hotel seems to be a work in progress. The windows in our room hadn't seen a lick of paint for quite some time. One wasn't secured and was smeared with putty. They were equipped with loose fitting white blinds which couldn't darken the room; if you prefer to sleep in darkness, you'll be disappointed. There were two marks in the ceiling, and the ceiling outside our room was covered in brown damp patches.

The furniture is idiosyncratic: 50s/60s chairs, table and desk. To say the desk was distressed would be putting it mildly: I'd say it was very upset. It was heavily marked and scratched.

Good points: big Sony TV; very comfortable beds; good bath and shower; dimmer switch for the bathroom; the room was very clean. The essentials are largely there; it's the detail that's lacking.

Bad points: small, cheap towels which were removed but not replaced after first night; not enough lighting in the room to allow reading or working when using the chairs; there are no mirrors in the room - just one, quite set back, in the bathroom.

They told us that they would continue the decorating program over the winter, so I'm sure the Townhouse will continue to improve. I can see this hotel appealing to some people - some of the reviews pay testament to that. But, at the moment, for others, the idiosyncrasies could prove to be a little too much.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NineToTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Townhouse

Property: The Falmouth Townhouse
Address: 3 Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Falmouth Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel and bar in the centre of Falmouth. Occupying a grand Georgian townhouse, overlooking Falmouth's busy seascape and marina. Kick back, relax and enjoy some of the hippest rooms in Falmouth. Ten rooms with huge beds, luxury bathrooms, flat screen televisions and all the normal hotel comforts you'd expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Townhouse Hotel Falmouth
The Hotel Falmouth
The Boutique Hotel Falmouth
The Falmouth Townhouse Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing