We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, good breakfast but rather tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean room, good breakfast but rather tired”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is only a 2 star hotel and we used it for convenience when visiting our son at Uni in Falmouth. We chose it because we had to take our dog and they accepted dogs. I wouldn't say they were dog- friendly- she couldn't go in the garden, more that they tolerated dogs.
I felt that the hotel was a bit shabby but the proprietress tried her best to give us good vegetarian breakfasts and everything worked. It was OK as a 'no frills' place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    16
    12
    23
See reviews for
16
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed overnight whilst visiting the university. Yes the hotel needs updating, however the owners Angela & her partner are nice people. had a warm welcome and the Breakfast was very good. Although our en-suit needed to be updated the room was spacious and clean and tidy. I think for the rate it is good value. would stay here again.
Sheila John & Daniel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

the paintwork at the front of the hotel needs touching up, rust underneath the front window gives a bad impression. The hole place is grubby with lack of attention to detail, You feel as though you are imposing by asking for a drink at the bar. Never saw anyone eat in the restaurant except for breakfast, which was of a good standard. Sink in my bedroom did not have hot water, had a separate bathroom but down the corridor. Had to ask for towels as there were non in the room, bedside light did not work and no tv remote. Car park awkward to park in as its on a steep slope.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grockle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Hull, UK
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Have returned from spending five nights at the Rosslyn and am honestly shocked by some of the reviews on this site. The staff were friendly and polite, and very helpful indeed. For instance, the room I was originally allocated had a problem, which we reported one morning before heading out for the day. We returned that afternoon to find that not only had another room been arranged for us to move into, all of our belongings had been transferred there too which saved us a lot of hassle. The room itself was lovely, bright and airy with a view of the garden, comfy bed, and a spacious bathroom. I will say that I do think that the rooms are of varying standards that are in the process of being updated and redecorated, so it may have been luck of the draw that we got such a pleasant room. My parents were in a room that was also very nice, but had a very small bathroom. The rooms were cleaned daily, even over the bank holiday.

The breakfasts were delicious, freshly prepared with a wide selection, and the restaurant was also of high quality and reasonably priced although a little quiet. If you stay at the Rosslyn I do recommend having a meal at their restaurant, you wont regret it. My only complaint is that is a bit far from the centre of Falmouth, however a taxi is around £3. Falmouth itself is a lovely town, and a good base to travel to other areas of Cornwall.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aesa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

the rooms are old and dated with furnishings falling apart,the "restaurant" if you could call it that was bad, breakfast was awful and only came with half of what was stated on the menu. it had the feel of a retirement home, our room was clean but poorly furnished and likewise the rest of the hotel.very bad value for money, i dont mind paying good money for hotels but this was a joke,we have never stayed any where this bad, even a travelodge has better facilities and furniture.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmnbrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Room a bit on the small side - no space for a chair so had to sit on bed but clean and facilities ok. Staff pleasant and friendly. breakfast fine, freshly cooked and more coffee/tea, toast if asked for. Decor a bit dated but fine overall. because of the small room we had |I wouldn't really reccommend a longer stay but there was a lounge and large garden.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Starting with the positives the owner seemed very pleasent and the breakfast wasn't bad. However, I'm not sure the hotel should be allowed to run - our room stank of damp, the bathroom was absolutely dreadful and dirty, the beds lumpy and near to falling apart and we couldn't get out fast enough the next morning. The quality of the website far exceeds that of the hotel so don't be duped! The next night we stayed in a lovely B&B which was also cheaper so don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strictlybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Broadmead Hotel
Broadmead Hotel
#20 of 24 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#18 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sandy Duck
The Sandy Duck
#19 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth

Property: Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth
Address: 110 Kimberley Park Road, Falmouth TR11 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Hotel Class:2 star — Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Cornwall
Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing