We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned, but you will be well fed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned, but you will be well fed!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is an old-fashioned family hotel, in need of some upgrading but the proprietors are friendly and the food is good. It reminded me of places I stayed in as a child. Things have moved on a bit since then, so I can see why some reviewers were unhappy with the décor, but if you don't mind that it is OK to stay in - it's clean and the food in the dining room is good home-cooked fare (with local beers available). We booked rather at the last minute as we needed a family room somewhere in the area for an event on a Saturday, and stayed two nights (Friday and Saturday), eating in on the first night. There is a nice view from the big bay window in the dining room. Quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    16
    12
    23
See reviews for
16
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Reading the reviews, I didn't know what to expect, but I was very happy with the hotel, service and rooms, not to mention breakfast and our main meals... Brilliant food, really was, it's made the week away from home working here much better and will make sure I book this one again:)
MTS

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28061981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

booked a 4 night b+b stay in a family room for me my wife and granddaughter have stayed at the hotel a few times over the years and found it to be fine, the owners welcomed us on our arrival and showed us to our room even though we did not arrive till the evening, the room was fine clean well aired, comfy double bed and single bed, plenty of room to move, nice view towards the sea above the rooftops, excellent full breakfast, light in bathroom above mirror not working told the owner who replaced it while we were out, for the money we paid it was good value will undoubtedly stay there again in the future,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Like Roy J we were in Falmouth for a graduation ceremony. On first arrival the place does have a slight air of dilapidation and the interior is dated. The rooms we had were a good size, the bed was very comfortable and there were tea/coffee making facilities. My room had a view over the rooftops of the sea, which was nice, and the other rooms we rented had a view over the very pleasant rear garden.
The shower was good, plenty of hot water the only drawback was the shower curtain which tended to wrap itself around you (although the owner tells me there are plans to install shower doors). Also the extractor fan was very noisy and went on for ages.The windows opened without a problem and we slept well. Breakfast was very good, a substantial full English, with toast and a teapot which was refilled on request.
We found the owners very welcoming and had several good chats with them. It was useful having the bar which we made use of each evening. The TV was adequate for catching up on the news etc but I wouldn't want to watch a full length movie on it.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a sea view but overlooks the main road. Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Oh dear, if only we had read the reviews about this hotel before we booked. All the negative comments about this hotel are true. We have never stayed anywhere like it, this hotel is passed refurbishment and needs pulling down. One curtain in our room was half hanging off, the net curtain had several holes ( how expensive would it be to replace a piece of net curtaining). I wouldn't let a dog sleep on the beds, full of lumps, and as for what passed for an en-suite was disgusting, the water was obviously running behind the tiles and under the bath, so by our 3rd evening the musty stench was unbearable. The lady proprietress was very nice but her partner was in dire need of a personality transplant!! He had the attitude he was doing you a favour whatever you asked for, not acceptable for £80 a night, well not acceptable at any price. I will say though the young waitress in the restaurant was extremely pleasant perhaps she can give a few tips the the proprietor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

booked a bed and breakfast hotel, at the above, for my son's graduation. thought it would be pleasant that we were close to the halls. upon arrival we were greeted by a rather vile person, who carried on his conversation for about 3 minutes while we stood there waiting. When he did acknowledge us he greeted us with a " were you the person who was sick last week". Nice start to a break which we looked forward to. Then, rather than make us feel like we were guests in his home, made us feel welcomed as he showed us to our rooms.
The rooms were largish in nature, but not what i expected. Dated furnishings, old school bathroom, and a t.v a blind man couldn't see due to it's size. But, never mind as we hadn't planned to spend that much time in it. Shower time and get out for a well deserved meal. but wait, no hot water, mold growing from the shower head and a pressure only a baby could use. A extractor fan which was noisy enough to wake the dead, windows which would not stay open and a bed which was like sleeping on a rock.
Dealt with all that and went down for breakfast the next morning only to be greeted with uncooked bacon, cold hash browns and the kind of service that i can only describe as, well, i can't describe it. The so called manager kept looking at us like we had stolen something, making us very uncomfortable. No light music playing so you could hear everyone's conversation and a buffet which was far below par. Very pleasant waitress, who you could see wanted to get her shift over as soon as possible. Got back to the room, for a shower, only to find that the hot water had arrived to the level of a third degree burn.....ouch!
Went out had a brill graduation, came back, got changed and forgot the land that time forgot. Next day: Due to check out so had breakfast, explaining that we wanted cooked food, plus it had to be hot, and it was perfect. Music in the background and i felt at ease. Until the host arrived and started with the looks again.
In short, the staff were pleasant and did try to make us feel welcome, but the owners have a lot to do: Training in hospitality, money spent bringing it up to the currant day, and a lesson in how to deal with guests. I have been in hospitality for over 25 years, working in hotels and country house hotels, of all stars and have never felt so strongly about a place before.
Would i go back?........not until this place has been burnt to the ground and rebuilt, management had changed to people with a personality be fitting the trade.


Avoid like the plague!!!!!

Room Tip: currant features and a shower that doesn't want to grow friends of the small type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Average hotel , set a little out of the town centre and up a big hill so not the best for somepeople.
Rooms were okay-ish reasonably comfortable, however the bathroom needs some TLC as there were cracked tiles and the paint was falling off, on the other hand the breakfast selection was reasonable although it would have been nice to be offered more toast,the staff were freindly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Broadmead Hotel
Broadmead Hotel
#19 of 23 in Falmouth
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#18 of 23 in Falmouth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Membly Hall Hotel
Membly Hall Hotel
#15 of 23 in Falmouth
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 23 in Falmouth
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jacobs Ladder Inn
Jacobs Ladder Inn
#47 of 82 in Falmouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth

Property: Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth
Address: 110 Kimberley Park Road, Falmouth TR11 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Hotel Class:2 star — Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Cornwall
Rosslyn Hotel Falmouth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing