We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of hotels to be found elsewhere on Gyllyngvase Hill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rathgowry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rathgowry
Ranked #9 of 81 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plenty of hotels to be found elsewhere on Gyllyngvase Hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

The Rathgowry offers outstanding views of Gyllyngvase Beach. The rooms are well equipped with an excellent tea tray that was regularly restocked.

When first walking into the Rathgowry it presents guests with a stale cigarette-smoke smell, due to the hosts having a smoking table straight outside of the main entrance.  

During my stay the carpet in my room was never vacuumed; crucial when coming off the beach, as it can bring in so much sand. I was also forced to close my window at night as the smell from the smoking table came in through my window at night, as the table is so close to the guest’s windows.

Food is fine - if you like your continental breakfasts. However, requests to have an English breakfast without certain ingredients were met by “just leave them on your plate” - a thing many guests would struggle to do, as they do not like wasted food. The ambiance in the dining room is not a pleasant one, as on several occasions there were outbursts of loud, aggressive language in the kitchen, which left guests feeling awkward.

On leaving the Rathgowry the laundry was being sorted out in the main hall - not very unprofessional; guests do not want to see dirty sheets being waved around in the hallway.

Most of these criticisms could easy be fixed if the Rathgowry was staffed with cleaners and waitresses, as the workload for the two hosts could be affecting their attitude towards running the hotel.

The overall feel of the Rathgowry feels as if the hosts are ‘doing you a favour’ letting you stay in their hotel - you do not feel like paying guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceSarah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
84
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

The hotel is extremely well situated and is only 80 paces from the beach.
There is good free parking, a smoker's table and area is conveniently provided just outside the main door of the hotel.
The large breakfast consisted of choice of cereals, orange juice, Full English or American cooked breakfast or a 'continental'; consisting of various cheeses and cold meats. Very disappointed that we had to pour our own coffee from a centrally placed jug and make our own Tea using a jug of hot but not boiling water. When I asked for a cooked breakfast without the sausage or black pudding, the owner just said, "Sorry it comes with the cooked breakfast, just leave it on your plate." This upset me as I am from a generation who does not waste food.
We feel that the hotel is not as clean as it should be and has been in the past. The hosts, John and Sabine work very hard but need to take on either waitresses or chamber maids - or both. The Rathgowry is under staffed.
The hosts have there own living quarters in the hotel. As both appear to be heavy smokers, there is a strong smell of stale tobacco smoke in the main entrance and stairways in the hotel. This is one of the main reasons why my wife and I will not be returning to the Rathgowry. Maybe all these things are teething problems, but these things need to be addressed if the Rathgowry is to maintain its good reputation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I travelled by train from London with our 11 year old son. The prime objective of our holiday was walking/exploring the area - coastal paths, coves, pubs etc.
The Rathgowry was in an ideal location for us to do this, not too far from the town, close to Falmouth Town Station and a stones throw from the beach.
John and Sabine were fantastic hosts, ensuring a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, especially during Breakfast, where the choice and quality of food and the service were exemplary. They were also on hand to help with anything when required.
Our room was clean and comfortable for the three of us and had a side sea view and you could even see Pendennis Castle.
We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate in returning if coming to Falmouth again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osfansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marktoberdorf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

This B&B is really one of the most wonderful places in the Southwest of England!
We enjoyed staying there very much, especially we enjoyed the open hearted hospitality of Sabine and John, the very good service, the food, the room and all the interesting talks we had.
Thank you very much for all – we certainly come back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rievaulx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

The Rathgowry is situated a stones throw from the most beautiful part of Falmouth and the owners John and Sabine could not be more welcoming and accommodating. My partner and I would definitely return as we have never been better looked atfer and if you are want to feel at home, be cooked great breakfasts, made homemade cookies on a daily basis and stay in a beautiful and clean B and B this is the one for you!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iancharlesstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Rathgowry for 3 nights this April .
The location is second to none being only 1 minute walk from the main Falmouth beach. We had a great sea view from our room and the terrace outside the front of the house catches the sun all day long. It was quiet enough to sleep with the window open and we could hear the sea washing onto the sand not far away , this is a sure way to unwind on a short break!
The breakfast was great with a choice of 3 full breakfasts plus all the usual additions , and the service was excellent , infact it really added to the experience.
We will be going back again! Matt and Sharon Forrester.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattforrester410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed Easter weekend 2010, as our friends were getting married in the hotel opposite. Rathgowery offered not only a good location for us, but is ideally placed for beach and town/harbour access. John & Sabine have just taken over and have already begun modernising. We had one of their new 'boutique' style rooms with a large comfortable sofa area, which was great for just relaxing, so much more comfortable than having to sit on the bed all the time. Breakfast was tasty and offered a good selection from cereals and fruit to full English or American breakfasts - plus extras. Above all though the experience was made all the more enjoyable by John and Sabine. We arrived early and were able to access our room immediately. Little touches like cookies and mints in each room show an attention to detail. And throughout the stay, the hosts were helpful, chatty and always available if we needed anything. Thanks for a nice weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#4 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyonesse Guest House
Lyonesse Guest House
#11 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rathgowry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rathgowry

Property: The Rathgowry
Address: Rathgowry Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rathgowry 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathgowry Guesthouse has stunning sea & beach views and is ideally situated only 60m from the award winning Gyllyngvase Beach and just a 10 minutes walk from Falmouth town centre, where there is a wide selection of shops, galleries, cafes, restaurants and bars. All of our rooms are light and airy and the fluffy pillows, duvets and quality linen make for an excellent nights sleep. Falmouth is a perfect base for exploring all of Western Cornwall. The guesthouse is exceptionally clean and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable with many offering great sea & beach views. The Rathgowry offers a delicious and extensive breakfast menu using locally sourced products. The owners look forward to welcoming their guests and sharing their local knowledge to ensure you have a fantastic stay in Falmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rathgowry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rathgowry Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing