We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ruby Anniversary”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Highcliffe for our 40th wedding anniversary weekend. We booked a double suite which was very spacious and comfortable with a view of nearby Pendennis Castle.
The proprietors, Simon & Vanessa, were very nice and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast choices were excellent, with an unusual special everyday as well as the usual Full English, etc. We would highly recommend this establishment to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realaleman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
97
509
72
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have stayed at the Highcliffe on two occasions. Once 4 years ago, when the current owners had recently taken over the business, and again a few weeks ago for an overnight stay. On both occasions the owners couldn't have been more polite, helpful, friendly and easy going. They really do take customer service seriously. Better than that, they do it in a way that is not at all like they are giving customer service at all. It all feels so friendly. As if you were staying with a favoured relative or similar. Equally, the service they give is not in any way over baring or too much. Add to this a great location (there are many other B&Bs along the same road, and only about 8 to 10 min walk to centre of falmouth - 5 mins to beach) and you are starting to see why the reviews are so good here on tripadvisor... Oh and Breakfast special highly recommended (we had the farmhouse which was excellent)
The contemporary decor of the rooms is nothing short of exceptional. Incredibly comfortable bed, bedding and all the comforts of a good B&B - tea, coffee, bisuits etc. Our only regret is that we can't simply live in this hotel. It is one of those places, no matter how short or long your stay, you really don't feel like leaving. The couple who run this hotel really have got the balance right between homely and contemporary, friendly but professional, quirky but traditional, value and quality. We will return soon, and frankly, can't wait to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Extremely helpful and friendly young couple who have obviously put a lot of hard work into sympathetically converting this Edwardian house into a contemporary guest house of the highest quality. Excellent facilities/breakfast, good car parking and a very convenient location for easy walking into Falmouth or beside the sea. While this is not the cheapest B&B we have stayed in, it's probably the best. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is individually priced; pay a bit more and go for room 7 or 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A late Autumnn visit to lovely Falmouth was greaty enhanced by our stay at this lovely B&B which is really a hotel in disguise. Beautiful room with a view, comfy bed, great shower and breakfasts to die for. Wonderful attention to detail by Simon and Vanessa who really could not have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming.Would definately return again. The reviews don't lie!

Room Tip: Our room-5- was at the rear so had great views of the harbour. There are suites which are more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

All the positive reviews here and bang on the mark. The owners are lovely and the room (8) was great. Just out of the centre so it involves a short 8 minute walk into town. Off road parking. Lovely fresh breakfast using local ingredients (where possible). Would return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here in mid October 2012 - Nothing was too much trouble for the owners - and we had caused trouble even before we arrived My wife had booked a four day stay as a surprise, and I managed to upset all the arrangements booking a holiday elsewhere for the last two days. Simon was very helpful, and unbeknown to me, he and my wife managed to rearrange everything several times at short notice - he showed great flexibility and a genuine desire to help - which continued when we arrived. The welcome was warm, and we got a personal briefing on what to do, where to go, and how to find our way around the town. The room was superb, with a fabulously comfortable bed, and breakfast was splendid. The daily 'specials' were described, cooked and presented with pride - and justifiably so. This is a B&B to top all B&B's - treat yourselves to a stay here when visiting Falmouth, you couldn't fail to appreciate all the extra special touches and quality. Tremendous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pevensey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed with Simon & Vanessa for 3 weeks at their superb accommodation. From day 1 with the welcome until I departed, nothing was to much trouble for them. the service was great through out my stay and the breakfast even better. The bed was fantastic after a hard day,
I will recommend the Highcliffe to every one and will let all my colleagues know the best place to stay in Falmouth. Ideally placed for all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town centre. I will definitelystay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,038 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highcliffe is a five star award winning & contemporary B&B in the heart of Falmouth, Cornwall. Fully refurbished: comfy beds, Egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bath sheets and powerful showers all add to the experience of staying in one of Highcliffe's rooms which are decorated in a modern & eclectic style. Breakfast features local Cornish produce with a different special everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highcliffe Contemporary Hotel Falmouth
Highcliffe Contemporary b&b
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed And Breakfast Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing