We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchcombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is a fabulous boutique B & B, beautifully styled, comfortable and welcoming. I stayed in room 8 with my daughter prior to her university interview - this stay was the perfect antidote to pre-interview nerves. The beds were super comfortable, bathroom immaculate with an amazing chandelier and wonderfully scented lotions and potions.It is clear that Simon and Vanessa have put much thought into every detail of this beautiful house and its seamless running. They are extraordinarily kind and gracious hosts who went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay a great one. Our stay was short but very sweet. Would stay again in a flash:)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thankyou for a lovely review especially when you have so much on your mind. We hope the interview went well for your daughter. Please let us know how she got on and where she decides to accept. Thankyou for your kind words about us, they mean a very great deal. I hope we see you both in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
97
509
72
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We booked a night at Highcliffe to celebrate my partner's birthday. The stay was outstanding in every way. Vanessa and Simon have created an atmosphere through their welcoming nature, attention to the smallest detail and décor that is second to none. Everywhere else will now seem ordinary. We stayed in room 5, it was spotlessly clean with lovely views. Breakfast was a delight with delicious locally sourced food. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendauphinjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you had a good holiday and a happy birthday. We just started a new special using Kernow hogs pudding and homemade bread which I wish we were doing when you stayed. Maybe if you visit us again we can put it on specially for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glostrup, Danmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I had the most amazing stay at this beautiful B&B in August 2012. Vanessa and Simon are the perfect hosts, so warm and welcoming - nothing is ever too much trouble! It was exciting to come down to breakfast every morning and see, what Today's Special would be - and it was always wonderful :) I will most definitely come back for a longer stay in this amazing B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skordis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thankyou for a hugely flattering review. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed the breakfasts so much. We've got a new one now which is Hogs Pudding from The Kernow Sausage Company and homemade bread with a poached egg. I wish you were here to try it. We have just finished refurbing Rm4 now so we will put some new photos on our website and on tripadvisor so you can let us know what you think. We bought a new bed and made it into a sort of day bed, we bought a really cool 'mens wardrobe' which for once we haven't painted because it's just too nice already, we put in a desk, an easy chair and some new lighting and of course changed the wallpaper. We didn't much like ripping off the old stuff because it was still so nice but we can't stay the same forever. I hope we see you again because we really enjoyed having you to stay with us. Maybe you could try and visit when we actually have nice weather instead of high winds and thunderstorms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I don't stay in B&B's very often and it's places like Highcliffe that make me question why. The room - number 7 - was beautifully designed, contemporary and comfortable - to the point where we decided to have a night in. Clean and spacious it was a pleasure to spend time in. The owners, Vanessa and Simon, are extremely friendly providing loads of great tips for places to visit locally and it's this personal touch that sets Highcliffe apart from any number of faceless hotels. Great breakfast too. I really can't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirElDoctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and especially for helping to highlight the changing times: staying in a B&B is so different than it used to me. It's true that B&Bs can be really inspiring places to stay, especially if you are in the middle of decorating and you need some ideas. Including bars & restaurants in your accommodation is not so important anymore either as Falmouth has so many fantastic places to spend an eveing. We thank you for telling everyone about the benefits of a B&B.
We enjoyed having you to stay and we are glad you enjoyed your night in too. I hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We only stayed here for 2 nights but really wished we had stayed for more. The owners were so friendly and really went out the way to make our stay comfortable. It is the little things that really make the difference such as tea on arrival; carrying our bags up and giving us information about the local area.
The room (5) we stayed in was beautifully decorated and had an amazing view of Falmouth harbour.
I have been raving about the breakfasts we had while we were at the highcliffe, the staff were so warming and we were able to eat whatever we wanted, all using local produce which is fantastic.
I recommend this B&B to anyone and will be comparing all future B7B's we visit to this one, it far succeeded our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The decor is beautiful & not standard b&b style so it's a little different. It has a very warm, homely but modern feel and it was extremely comfortable. We received a lovely welcome and were made to feel valued. The sitting room offers a place to really chill out or you can borrow magazines and dvds for the room. The breakfast was great. Could find no fault.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darl712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My brohter-in-law recommended that we stay here and we were not disappointed. In fact, we loved the place so much we wished that we were staying longer. From the moment that we stepped through the door we were swept up in the warm and friendly buzz that surrounded Vanessa and Simon. The B&B is just as it declares - contemporary. Each room has its own style but they are all furnished with great thought and with all the little touches that you need in this modern age. The view of the harbour was wonderful to enjoy and the breakfast was absolutely amazing. Vanessa recommended great places to eat dinner and things to do even on a cold and wet rainy day. You won't regret staying here at all as your hosts, Vanessa and Simon, will gladly bend over backwards to make you welcome from the moment that you step through the door.

Room Tip: If you can get a harbour view room do so as they are so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,041 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highcliffe is a five star award winning & contemporary B&B in the heart of Falmouth, Cornwall. Fully refurbished: comfy beds, Egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bath sheets and powerful showers all add to the experience of staying in one of Highcliffe's rooms which are decorated in a modern & eclectic style. Breakfast features local Cornish produce with a different special everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highcliffe Contemporary Hotel Falmouth
Highcliffe Contemporary b&b
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed And Breakfast Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing