We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying in this beautiful B&B . It was just perfect . Immaculate well equipped rooms, fabulous breakfasts. Our hosts were lovely and so hospitable which can only come from the heart. A real gem of a find and well worth a visit. You won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

It is very kind of you to find the time to write a review of your stay with us, we very much appreciate it and glad that we could cater for your party so well. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for being such a lovely and interesting group. We hope that you can get down to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Highcliffe for 4 nights at the start of September. We wished we had been able to stay for much longer. Simon and Vanessa, the owners have done everything to make the B&B one that you will want to revisit. The whole place is spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 3 which is light and airy but very comfortable.Nothing is too much trouble for Simon and Vanessa and they are always willing to offer useful suggestions and recommendations for restaurants, pubs, places of interest. Their recommendations are based upon personal experience and therefore spot on. Breakfast at Highcliffe are excellent. The standard of presentation and quality was excellent. The daily specials are an added bonus. If you are looking for a quality B&B in Falmouth, look no further than Highcliffe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennerthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We are really pleased that you went with some of our suggestions and got the best out of Falmouth during your stay with us. You're right we do try to experience the places we recommend and trust us this is not a tough job as there are so many great, walks, restaurants, pubs and views around here, but we do pretend it's a tough job sometimes just to get the sympathy. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for taking time out to write a review on Highcliffe. Please do come back to us again soon even if it's just to test us on any new things we've had the "hard" luck to have to go and try out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had a very good experience at the Highcliffe B&B. I was in Falmouth, Cornwall, on business and sought a quiet and comfortable place to stay at for three nights.

The house is immaculately clean and much ongoing care is taken to keep it that way. Room #6 in which I was in was conservatively furnished, had a very fine bed with ultra-fine linen, and a spotless shower. I slept very well. There is a nice view of the Falmouth harbor from the window.

Reception of the free wireless internet is good throughout the house. The full English breakfast is generous and can sustain for a long time. On one day I needed a lighter, more middle-eastern type of breakfast, and the hosts went out of their way to accommodate my need.

The house is about ten minutes' walk to the center of town where there are restaurants and a small supermarket, and about five minutes' walk to the ocean.

Overall, a most pleasant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for the time you have taken to write such a detailed review. We know that you had quite a demanding conference at the University to attend and therefore are really pleased to hear that you were comfortable and all your needs catered for during your stay with us. It is always good to know that we can provide for business travellers as well as those coming to Falmouth for a relaxing break. Talking of which hopefully you can come back and stay with us outside of work and enjoy this area without the pressure of having to attend a conference.
It was a pleasure having you stay, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed this week at the Highcliffe as the usual place a customer generally books was unable to accommodate - and what a result !!! I was blown away by the place - really first class - and the owners just have customer service down to a fine art.
They have obviously taken a lot of time (and money) to ensure every tiny detail is just perfect. The rooms, the breakfast, the whole customer experience was just fantastic!!!

I stop in a lot of hotels with work all year and can honestly say this was the best experience in years. Anyone wanting to stop in the Falmouth area you should look no further.

S & V - you should be very proud of what you do !! :)

It was just a shame my business trip was only one night - However I am planning a re-visit with my wife very soon !

Room Tip: I stopped in room two, but you can view all rooms on their web site and see for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

It is ever so kind of you to take the time to write a review on Highcliffe, we always really appreciated the comments and know that it does take time to do such reviews so thank you very much.

Your details and summary of your stay are very useful for other readers and we are also very pleased that you felt well catered for during your business trip and do really hope that you can manage the time to return for a break with your wife. We especially like your room tip as we do hope that there is a room at Highcliffe for everyones needs no matter how short or long the stay, business or pleasure.
We hope to see you soon and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Cant say i'm an expert on B&B's in Falmouth or anywhere else, but Simon and Vanessa have created a really excellent and friendly place to stay. The location is one of the key things as the hotel is within easy walking distance ( 10 mins) of the town and good quality restaurants. We ate in the Shed and the Shack and the food, especially my wifes favourite, lobster, was excellent (good recommendations). Simon and Vanessa are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet and its good to see little Izzy is learning the trade so well too! Stayed in room 5 and the view of the harbour and town from there are first rate as was the quality of the room. Could go on a bit more but take it from me the Highcliffe is a great place to stay and be sure to enjoy the breakfasts.
PS: A bit of black pudding would go well with those sausages and bacon.

Room Tip: Only saw room 5 which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skymanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Falmouth. Rm5's view is particularly good at the moment due to the harbour being full of all sorts of interesting and colourful boats, but alos great when it's a bit wet and wild being able to look at the harbour from the cosy comfort of the room.

You are right the lobster in The Shack is amazing and a great experience with the opportunity to get stuck in to shredding the meat and crushing the shells to get to the best parts, great fun. Falmouth is really leading the way in fresh shell fish eating experiences just how it should be.

Black pudding is a good suggestion, one of our specials is the local Hog's pudding that we do, so we hope that you return to us to allow us the opportunity to put that special on and see what you think, we'll get Izzy to serve it to you as she loves to serve the tables as you saw, this of course may not last as she gets a little older but it's all fun for her at her current age.

Thank you again for staying with us it was a pleasure to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned after a fabulous stay at the Highcliffe. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had chosen the right property for us. We stayed for 2 nights here to celebrate our anniversary and enjoyed every minute. Our room was great (room 1), with breathtaking views over Falmouth harbour and the room was decorated to an extremely high standard. We took advantage of the complimentary 'idle breakfast' on our first morning, where we enjoyed breakfast from the comfort of our own bed. Fantastic touch.
To summarise; fantastic bed and breakfast, fantastic location (2 minutes to the beach, 6 minutes to the town), fantastic service, fantastic standard. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and had an extremely memorable stay. I have already and will continue to recommend the wonderful Highcliffe. Thank you Simon and Vanessa!

Sophie + Royston

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for writing your review on Highcliffe, it is very kind of you to spare the time.
We're over the moon that your anniversary stay was an enjoyable one and really pleased you got to see what this area of Cornwall has to offer. St Mawes which you got to visit is a real gem of a place on this coastline and we know you got to see it in great weather too.

You have summarised lots of details so well and we really hope that you now make regular trips to this part of Cornwall. Thank you also for the mention of our "Idle Bird" we're glad it gave you an option to have a bit of an extra lie in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this wonderful B&B in Falmouth. Easy to find with plenty of parking either on-site or on the street. We were made very welcomed by Simon, who with his wife Vanessa, are more than helpful in suggesting places to see and things to do, and very informative about the local area.

The room (No. 1) was very nicely decorated, with plenty of space/storage and tea making facilities. The bathroom was also spacious and the shower was very relaxing. There was a nice view of Falmouth harbour from the room.

The breakfast was delish. It ends at 9am so if you're prone to sleep in, like we did one morning, make sure you set the alarm to enjoy the lovely local produce.

The B&B itself is a short 5-7min walk to the town centre where you can enjoy some fine restaurants, including Rick Stein's seafood. Falmouth is a great place to use as a base in Cornwall as it's only an hour's drive from most destinations (St Ives, Padstow, Land's End etc).

Thanks again Simon and Vanessa. We will be doing our best to make it back for the Oyster festival in October!

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor, no stair climbing required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezza1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write a review on your stay at Highcliffe. Your details and the summary of your room are really good and very kind. We are really pleased you both enjoyed your 2 days with us and got a chance to take up our recommendations with some of the restaurants that Falmouth has to offer, there really is a great selection in town and we are very lucky indeed.

We would love you to come back for the October Oyster Festival, it really is a great 4 days of celebrating quality local shell fish as well as being able to see it prepared fresh off the boat right in front of your eyes, and if you would like to rest beyond our breakfast times please do take a look at our "Idle Bird" breakfast in bed option offering you a hamper delivered to your room full of local produce.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for writing a review and we hope to see you in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
2 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highcliffe is a five star award winning & contemporary B&B in the heart of Falmouth, Cornwall. Fully refurbished: comfy pocket sprung beds, Egyptian cotton linen, huge fluffy bath sheets and powerful showers all add to the experience of staying in one of Highcliffe's rooms which are decorated in a modern & eclectic style. Breakfast features local Cornish produce with a different special everyday. Highcliffe is just a 1 minute stroll to the beach front and a 5 minute stroll to the harbour with an abundance of shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highcliffe Contemporary Hotel Falmouth
Highcliffe Contemporary b&b
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed And Breakfast Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing