We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'We can't wait to come back again.'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 81 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'We can't wait to come back again.'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived during the February storms, gale force winds and horrible rain. Simon and Vanessa could not have been kinder or more attentive. They had thought of everything and were so helpful. From talking us through the best places to visit and how to get there, to making our daughter a delicious sandwich the next morning as the interview she'd come down here for ran over lunch. We were only staying one night, but they gave us free access to their lovely sitting room and Wifi throughout the day as we were having to hang around for 5 hours and it was blowing a hooley! The rooms were gorgeous, the bed, the comfiest I've ever slept in and so spacious. It's the sort of place we'd come and stay in for a week quite happily. Brilliantly situated for the centre of Falmouth, only a 6 minute walk. Delicious breakfast. Nothing but positives, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely you won't go wrong with any of them and all have ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We were so impressed that you managed to make it to us in such difficult weather conditions and we hope that the trip and effort was very much worth it. It was lovely to meet you all and we wish your daughter good luck with the big choices she has to make this year. Thank you for staying with us and thank you very much for taking the time to write your review it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
95
480
68
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great last minute stop over. Made us very welcome for accommodation needed literally at the last minute where no-one else seemed willing. Vanessa and Simon are very friendly and on arrival told us of great places to eat within walking distance which at such a late time was really appreciated. Room was very inviting with great attention to detail every where you looked. Great start to the day with freshly cooked breakfast using only local produce, fantastic. Thank you again Vanessa and Simon will definitely recommend you and look forward to staying again if we venture that way. Dave and Jane Schofield

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for coming to us at the last minute and for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your time in Falmouth even if it was a short one and really hope that you can find the time to return for a longer spell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Highcliffe in Falmouth is our favourite UK 'weekend-away' destination.

Here's why:

Simon & Vanessa are superb friendly hosts (see all the other reviews for more evidence).
Awesome location within easy walk of beach/harbour/town (shops, pubs & great restaurants).
Rooms are beautifully designed, clean and well-specified (e.g. super-comfy beds, flat-screen TV with DVD, Wi-Fi, dimmer 'mood' lighting, modern bathrooms).
Breakfast is a feast of delights (we love the daily specials).
Off-street parking at Highcliffe.
Attention to detail - all the little things make it special - you need to stay there to find out!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but we love to stay in Room 7 (Penthouse Suite) as it has the most space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simvan, Owner at Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
This is a very well summarised review and you might be in danger of us asking you to write our marketing blurb from now on.
It is lovely to have you return to us time and time again and we believe you are already coming back this Winter.
Thank you for the time you have taken to write about Highcliffe, we really appreciate it and we look forward to seeing again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights last August while I was 6 months pregnant and we had a really lovely time. The couple that run it are extremely nice, very friendly and informative. I would say that is the nicest bed and breakfast I have stayed in.

Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated with lots of cool little touches, very clean and modern. I particularly liked the little bird box which housed your room key, so much so that we bought one! We had the room on the ground floor and our view out over Falmouth was lovely.

The location is brilliant as it is easy to walk down into the town but also walking distance to the beach and the castle.

Breakfast was fantastic and I really liked the fact there was a different special each morning which is nice if you're there for a few days.

We had a great time and would love to stay here again. Unfortunately they don't accept babies so we will have to wait a while before returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeovilwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We've have stopped here a number of times and each time we have felt proud to have found this gem. Vanessa and Simon always make you feel welcome and go that extra mile to make the stay one to remember. We like the little touches which come with the room. The beds are huge, showers hot with plenty of water, all things which are basic but they seem to get the feel just right.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is the best B&B we have stayed in. Simon and his wife were friendly and made us very welcome, taking the time to offer advice about the town and offering our daughter a choice of rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated and had lots of little touches. More importantly, it was quiet and comfortable and the shower was lovely! We were the only guests on a cold January Sunday and arrangements were made for breakfast the evening before. I was on my January detox but that was no problem. Fruit tea, fresh fruit and muesli was perfect for me. My husband and daughter enjoyed the Cornish breakfast which set them up perfectly for the day. My daughter did struggle with the choice of American pancakes or full breakfast but bacon and sausage won through! Once she is at the University I am expecting to be a regular visitor and am looking forward to it. Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This place firstly ticks all the boxes....great location (walking distance) sea views from many of rooms, parking(plus in Falmouth) wifi, stylish boutique en-suite rooms, relaxed lounge space etc......but this is where it then goes into a league of its own! There are so many thoughtful extras...DVDs to borrow and players in each room, fab toiletries/robes, local maps/info....AND....
Simon & Vanessa are fabulous hosts....they genuinely do all they can to ensure you have a fabulous experience of the stay....Simon is the best "Concierge" with an in depth local knowledge that would be hard to beat....and Vanessa creates different gourmet breakfasts (locally sourced) every day that any 5 star would be proud of....and all of this in an amazing environment and atmosphere that they have created! And work very hard to maintain! We really couldn't find a fault! And left after our stay feeling totally relaxed and keen to return! Thank you to you both and your lovely team...and really hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzy366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#4 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe Contemporary Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highcliffe is a five star award winning & contemporary B&B in the heart of Falmouth, Cornwall. Fully refurbished: comfy beds, Egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bath sheets and powerful showers all add to the experience of staying in one of Highcliffe's rooms which are decorated in a modern & eclectic style. Breakfast features local Cornish produce with a different special everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highcliffe Contemporary b&b
Highcliffe Contemporary Hotel Falmouth
Highcliffe Contemporary Bed And Breakfast Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing