We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great spot”
Review of Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madeira Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great spot”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here and had adjoining rooms both with excellent sea views. The staff made us very welcome on arrival and were good throughout. Breakfast was exellent, with very quick and friendly service.
Couple of things that jaded th experience for me was that my shower didnt work in the morning, I did have a bath but am more of a shower person due to time available in the morning. that is the other main issue breakfast only being served until 9.am with check-out at 11am. Personally on holiday I prefer a lie-in so an hour later on both would be ideal. one last thing is that we had adjoining twin rooms and could hear each oher from each. This was also unfortunate when the chambermaids noisly discussed which rooms needed cleaning in the corridor, very loudly at 8am. Actually whilst I was in the bathroom a chambernaid opened our door whilst my friend was still in bed, no knock and no apology! All in all it was a very reasonably priced stay which we enjoyed, just with a few niggles.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    58
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
67
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we stayed in room 19 and our friends were in room 18. both rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were good, although blankets not quilts. Large shower cubicle and brilliant shower. We had a balcony which was great to sit on watching the sea. Only downside was the food, some people enjoyed it others didn't, but I filled up on soup and pudding with a salad as main. Breakfast could have been better, but the porridge and fruit salad were great. I would stay there again and put up with the food.

Room Tip: rooms 18 and 19 were brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just spent 7 days in Falmouth travelling with Alpha coach tours. I found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff in the dining room were extremely efficient and the food was good and always hot. The reception staff were helpful, in fact, all the staff were very friendly. I had a single room (No 15) small but everything you would need and a lovely shower room. The room opened onto a shared balcony with a lovely seaview. The only problem during my stay was that the lift was out of action. The repair man was there on a daily basis and it was eventually fixed, no problem for me as I can manage the stairs, but obviously a great problem for some of the other guests. I found it an easy walk into Falmouth main shopping area but a bus did run into town from a stop just a short walk away. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreneBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at The Madeira Hotel, Falmouth and were pleasantly surprised. The room we had was very clean and well decorated and the en-suite shower/WC was fully tiled and very attractive. The dining room was also a very pleasant environment and the tables were well spaced. Food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Evening entertainment was very enjoyable. The hotel is located right on the sea front and just a few minutes walk from Falmouth Town Centre, we were very happy with everything and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel overlook the sea and Pendennis Castle can be seen quite clearly at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambethGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for a week on a coach trip with "Alfa". Though the hotel's decor could be described as "tired & dated" it was spotlessly clean & comfortable. I have stayed in smart & trendy hotels that lacked the warm & friendly service found at The Madeira. The waiting staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble & the food, though not fancy, was tasty & wholesome. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view-it's worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one week on a coach holiday,the hotel is situated right on the sea front and apart from other hotels there are no other amenities and quite far from the town centre.As for the hotel it was very old and tired with paper and paint peeling in places,but to be fair it was very clean with a good shower.The dining room was large but dated although the food was very good and service excellent.The entertainment was the same thing each night man with organ we never bothered,but all in all we had a nice time,best rooms middle floor with balcony and sea view.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Although this hotel mostly caters for coach parties, I went with 3 friends for a 7 night visit. The hotel is very well positioned with sea views and good beaches not far away. The public rooms were as stated in the details although most were a bit 'tired' looking. Three of the bedrooms were clean and comfortable with sea views and good showers. The fourth room was in a very poor position, by the lavatories serving the bar, room 1A, don't take it if offered. As there were 2 coaches also parked in the rear car park they completely obstructed the windows of this room, and for two days this lady did not even draw the curtains, the room had clearly been made out of some other use without much thought for the occupant. The meals were very good for the type of hotel, you don't expect gourmet presentation in a 2 star hotel! all well cooked with sufficient choices. What stood out at this hotel? The staff, all willing to help with a smile and if the questionnaire had given space I would have given our waitress a gold star! Dominique was friendly, efficient, quick and thoughtful, nothing was too much for her and this seemed to be the pattern, certainly in the dining room and most other staff.

Room Tip: Do not take room 1A it is very poor by the lavatories serving the bar area. Sea view rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Hotel

Property: Madeira Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madeira Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeira Hotel - Falmouth [3 Alpha & AA 3 Star]. Beautifully situated on the seafront with attractive gardens, the Madeira commands splendid views to Pendennis Castle and across Falmouth Bay. 51 bedrooms with individual heating and private shower and WC (a few also have bath). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV with radio channels. Oak panelled cocktail bar and pleasant sun lounges with large picture windows facing the sea - delightful places to while away an afternoon. Restaurant with large dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing