We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Tip Top Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Madeira Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madeira Hotel
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really Tip Top Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned home followiing a very enjoyable week holiday in Falmouth' We stayed in the very good Madeira Hotel which overlooks Falmouth Bay. Our room No.46 overlooks the Bay and Castle, Its surely worth the extra charge for a seaview room just to enjoy these super sights each day! Our room was very clean and well tended and two minor problems in the Bathroom were sorted out very quickly- a sure sign of good management !The Restaurant was excellent with service, food choices and quality and quantity all demanding praise. Well done everybody!!! The Lounges and Bar areas were clean and comfortable although we felt they were too Hot for comfort . The staff agreed but commented that the heating was turned off. Perhaps more ventilation might be the answer .All in all a really enjoyable time and we certainly hope to do a repeat visit in the not too distant future. So a big thank you and very well done to ALL the Management and Staff for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. Madge & Les

Room Tip: Choose a Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madge75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    58
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
67
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in room 45 of this hotel with Alfa Holidays and were generally most impressed, nearly gave it a five rating. We have stayed in other hotels in the same chain, but to date this one came out on top. The staff were really great, although there was one minor exception, the lady behind the bar was somewhat unsure and often came over as quite blunt.
Our room was very clean and well tended although the TV picture was not great (and curiously was on London ITV, not the local region), but who goes on holiday to watch TV? There was also a problem with the metal strip on the floor between the main room and the bathroom, the screw heads were proud and sharp, not ideal for bare feet! The room was a bit hot (some staff downstairs were even commenting on how hot the hotel was), but at least, unlike many hotels, it was possible to open the window a sensible amount.
The restaurant service was excellent and the food was very good indeed, with a great selection each day.
The relaxation areas downstairs were well cared for and comfortable, with excellent views out to sea and of the nearby castle.
Evening entertainment was average, although the short daily (half hour) after dinner bingo sessions, all be it not to everyones taste, were great fun when run by the young man from behind the bar who was very confident and quite a character.
The main town is within easy walking distance (about 20mins) and the castle which is well worth a visit is even closer, although up a fairly steep hill.
Overall we had a lovely stay and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Don't accept one of the Attic 'Sea View' rooms. They are small with very small WC and shower cubicle. Ask for a proper normall size room. They have fitted some Double rooms in the roof space and even though the view is of the sea, they are cramped and very small.

Room Tip: If you are of normal height, refuse an Attic 'double' 'Sea View' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyKBirkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just spent a wonderful four nights in Falmouth and had the pleasure of staying at the Medeira Hotel. We were met on arrival by a cheerful young lady who explained all that we needed to know, meal times/local places to visits and a map of Falmouth.

Our room (16) was a little dated but (remembering it was 2/3 star hotel) it was value fot money and we had a wonderful, uninterupted view of Pendennis Castle and the Falmouth Bay. We even had our own friendly (and hungry) seagulls.

The service in the Dining room was absolutely first class. Meals (breakfast and Dinner) were execellent with plenty of choice and a very happy bunch of ladies serving. Also a very helpful young man from the Bar.

Room Tip: I did not see other rooms than ours but I recommend that visitors pay the extra for a sea view. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

great hotel for exploring Falmouth and the surrounding area. Central for the town centre as well as beaches and Falmouth Pavilions. Staff friendly and helpful, great breakfast. Right on the sea front and beach as well as view of Pendennis castle lit up at night.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best, worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank april m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

It does exactly what it says it does



My daughter refers to this as the scrabble hotel purely on the signage resembles those scrabble letters, however the hotel does exactly what it does and does it well. Not necessarily to my liking or my standards but certainly nothing wrong.



The building is dated but functionable, clean and warm and has a small lift next to reception, the lift is rather small and when there is a new coach tour arriving is taken up with the moving of luggage. A nice reception area that gives way to a lounge that has an uninterrupted view of the sea. With lots of places where you can sit in the windows and enjoy the views. It has a telescope available to view the myriad of large ocean going ships that anchor in the bay, very pleasant on a sunny clear day.



The hotel caters for coach parties; mainly it has to be said for the more mature clientele with the facilities, entertainment and menus reflecting this. On my visit there were at least two coaches staying. The evening lounge was quite full all waiting patiently for their entertainment of Bingo to get underway, not really what I wanted, I felt young, even though I am nearing the age of the coaching holiday paternity. My room a single, I was staying as I took my daughter back to Uni, was ok, the bed a little uncomfortable, although probably better for the average clientele that for me. The bathroom looked to have been recently updated with a shower and lashing s of hot water, everything that was needed was on hand. The tea and coffee facilities were pretty standard, a nice little kettle enough for one person, but why do some many hotels insist on giving only a couple of portions of milk? I know you can ask for more but that is really irritating. The floors in the building were not level with many a unexpected rise and fall. Most of the floors squeaked and squared especially in the dead of night as you could hear every movement in the room beside yours and above. Talking of hearing movements from above, I was awoken a couple of times by a sound like a tsunami as the occupants above used the bathroom facilities, very loud followed by the flushing away.



The menu options were limited, with a choice of only a few dishes and so I passed on the evening food and ventured out with my daughter locally, as this is her second full year in Falmouth I used her local knowledge on where to go.



It being a Sunday morning the breakfast was available between 8 and 9 which I thought was quite reasonable and after a refreshing walk along the beach I returned to the hotel at 8 and expecting a relaxing breakfast. I ventured into the restaurant cum ballroom to be faced with over fifty guests all waiting to be served. I was shown to a table by a very busy waitress, who was very professional, smiley faced and bright composure, although you could tell very stressed too. The menu was limited and was served by two waiting staff that had to run between tables and the kitchen to be able to take the orders and to serve the meals within that very small timescale. The choices of starters were limited as was the hot meals. My food arrived hot and was pleasant although a little on the small side in terms of portions, my poached egg was over cooked but everything else was OK. The staff, all appeared to be of Eastern European, apologises if not, worked extremely hard, all had smiles on their faces, all spoke with a very good understanding of English and with dealing with a more mature customer which can be exacting and demanding in nature.



Booking out was an effective operation with my bill waiting already for me at reception and a pleasant and happy professional service.



Overall a pleasant hotel, service of a high standard, it is not luxury but very effective in what it does.

Room Tip: Any sea facing room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 22nd March. We booked a double room and were given a lovely large triple room with a view over the sea. Nice bathroom and shower. The room was lovely and clean and warm. The breakfast was three course with a good choice of food and vegetarian optians are available if ordered beforehand. We also had the three/four course evening meal which again was very nice. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and all the waitresses and staff were very polite and helpful. There is a dance floor and entertainment is provided regularly and the hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk to the centre.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devondame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Membly Hall Hotel
Membly Hall Hotel
#15 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Hotel

Property: Madeira Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madeira Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeira Hotel - Falmouth [3 Alpha & AA 3 Star]. Beautifully situated on the seafront with attractive gardens, the Madeira commands splendid views to Pendennis Castle and across Falmouth Bay. 51 bedrooms with individual heating and private shower and WC (a few also have bath). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV with radio channels. Oak panelled cocktail bar and pleasant sun lounges with large picture windows facing the sea - delightful places to while away an afternoon. Restaurant with large dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing