We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Bed&Breakfast”
Review of Avalon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #57 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a lovely Bed&Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Avalon for one night and it definitely was one of the highlights of our stay in Cornwall. It started off with the free scones and cornish cream tea, continued with great tips for food and swimming and ended with an extremely rich and tasty breakfast. The B&B is next to a wonderful beach, in a quite lonely area, so it was extremely quiet and relaxing at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed three nights in this home from home. the room was excellent,andvery clean.The breakfast was outstanding and the cakes and afternoon tea very welcome.Nothing was too much trouble . This guest house has a fantastic location and cant wait to visit again , a credit to the hosts .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

When we arrived at Avalon we were surprised and delighted at its close proximity to the beach. We had a beautiful room with views across the bay, a window seat to enjoy the fabulous scenery and a luxury bathroom. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home straight away - in fact we were greeted with hot drinks and homemade cakes in the lounge, all inclusive of the bed and breakfast rate. We had a delicious cornish breakfast in the sunny dining room whilst watching the waves crashing on the beach - perfect! We were just sorry that our booking was just for one night as we would have loved to stay longer. We have stayed in several different bed and breakfast/hotels in the Falmouth area during the last two years, but Avalon has by far been our best experience - book up and see for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_BDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the family room with a view of the beautiful cove. We are a family of 4 with 2 boys aged 10 and 13. Everything about the Guest house was lovely and we'd recommend without hesitation and as suggested by others there were lots of extra little touches that made the whole stay feel special.

The breakfasts were terrific and we road tested everything from full English to Pancakes. Afternoon tea and cakes was a delight with freshly home baked Carrot cake, Bakewell Tart and Rocky Road on different days!

The room was a great size and layout with a brilliant big bathroom and a sea view to boot. You are so close to the bay you can hear the sea at night and it is an incredibly quiet spot.

The hosts were lovely and managed to be welcoming and discreet in equal measure which was perfect for us. I could say more about our stay but you really need to go along for yourselves and uncover what is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaccRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Having read great reviews, we were hoping for a wonderful short break and we were not disappointed - stunning location, great hosts and extra touches such as complimentary afternoon tea.We stayed in the Maenporth suite and found it beautiful - sea view stunning! We thoroughly enjoyed the close proximity to Falmouth and an amazing restaurant, The Cove, a stone throw away...book as a special treat and enjoy the incredible view from your table.
Thank you Gail and Arthur, we will definately be back soon...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

You need to stay at AVALON to appreciate the welcome, attendance to detail and the superb food. Afternoon tea is included in the B&B price, dinner two course with wine was fantastic.
Its position at the end of Maenporth beach is superb and so quiet giving a good nights sleep.
Hope Gail and Arther never sell up as they will be a loss to the GH industry.
Make this your "FIRST" choice if you are looking for some where to stay in the Falmouth area.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderge0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Whilst camping in a soggy Cornwall it was my 50th Birthday and so we decamped to Avalon for some quiet luxury. We got it in spades. This was a lovely place to be.
Gail and Arthur took great care of us. The weather improved and we settled in for 2 extra nights. A comfortable bed and all nice little touches improved our stay no end. The downstairs rooms are accessed by French doors and there are small tables outside from where you can observe the beach. Every afternoon there is something beautifully baked for afternoon tea and a bottomless coffee pot.
Its difficult to describe how much we enjoyed staying here and how comfortable Gail makes you feel.
Breakfast was superb and Arthur is a fantastic scrambled egg cook.
Normally in the mornings i dont have a lot to say , yet the atmosphere here promotes the making of new chums if only to discuss recommended places to go that day.
My 50th was made relatively painless with gail leaving out 2 champagne flutes when she saw the bottle , so the day was finished with a glass of Frances finest in the moonlight listening to the waves.
Absolutely stunning. These people know how to run a small hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Containsnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
244 reviews
3.7 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: Maenporth Beach, Falmouth TR11 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New built property with 4 letting rooms all en-suite, 20 yds from Maenporth beach. Easy reach of Falmouth, Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing