We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably our favourite Guest House ever!”
Review of Avalon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #54 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably our favourite Guest House ever!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Avalon for 3 nights, my wife and our 4 year old daughter. We found the location amazing and the hospitality was outstanding. The home made cakes and cream tea's were delicious. (All included what great value) I would highly recommend this guest house and I will be going back.
The breakfast selection and the specials menu, was complimented by an ex-Royal Navy Chef.
All in all the whole experience was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and helped us to have a holiday we will never forget, Gail and Arthur were the perfect hosts , from the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome nothing was a bother. Breakfast was delightful with the plenty of choice and Arthur got the eggs just right....however the icing on the cake was the homebaked afternoon cream teas.
Accomodation was very comfortable and extremely clean and tidy.
Great location for Maenporth beach and nearby town Falmouth.
Really sorry to leave and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed for three nights, and from the moment of our arrival to leaving this was an experience to be treasured. A warm welcome and afternoon tea with freshly baked homemade cake. A well appointed room with superb views across Maenporth beach, which is only a few yards away was followed comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was a 'not to be missed' freshly cooked full Cornish breakfast. Cerals, eggs cooked to order, yoghurts, fruits, kippers, smoked haddock, salmon, etc etc were all available. There was a choice of teas, coffees, fresh juices. All this in a relaxing atmosphere with 'that view' over Maenporth beach. We arrived as customers but left as friends. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Beautiful location by the lovely,pretty beach We are sitting here watching the tide come in as we write this! Very warm welcome by friendly owners. The house is beautifully presented and furnished with everything you could need for a very comfortable stay. The breakfasts are delicious and there is plenty of choice!! We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: room 2 has a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Avalon for one night and it definitely was one of the highlights of our stay in Cornwall. It started off with the free scones and cornish cream tea, continued with great tips for food and swimming and ended with an extremely rich and tasty breakfast. The B&B is next to a wonderful beach, in a quite lonely area, so it was extremely quiet and relaxing at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed three nights in this home from home. the room was excellent,andvery clean.The breakfast was outstanding and the cakes and afternoon tea very welcome.Nothing was too much trouble . This guest house has a fantastic location and cant wait to visit again , a credit to the hosts .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

When we arrived at Avalon we were surprised and delighted at its close proximity to the beach. We had a beautiful room with views across the bay, a window seat to enjoy the fabulous scenery and a luxury bathroom. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home straight away - in fact we were greeted with hot drinks and homemade cakes in the lounge, all inclusive of the bed and breakfast rate. We had a delicious cornish breakfast in the sunny dining room whilst watching the waves crashing on the beach - perfect! We were just sorry that our booking was just for one night as we would have loved to stay longer. We have stayed in several different bed and breakfast/hotels in the Falmouth area during the last two years, but Avalon has by far been our best experience - book up and see for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_BDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: Maenporth Beach, Falmouth TR11 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New built property with 4 letting rooms all en-suite, 20 yds from Maenporth beach. Easy reach of Falmouth, Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing