We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously Faded grandeur”

Castle Beach Restaurant at The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #137 of 227 Restaurants in Falmouth
Price range: US$10 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The AA Rosette award-winning and Cornish Accredited The Terrace Restaurant at The Falmouth Hotel has been catering to locals and visitors alike for 150 years. With a legacy as long as ours, you can be assured we are doing things right! We source the majority of our produce from the locality and prepare our ingredients with the sensitivity required to enable the flavours to speak for themselves. The dining room is welcoming with far reaching views out to sea and across to Pendennis Castle. Join us for dinner, from 18:30 every day.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulously Faded grandeur”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Sunday lunch was excellent wonderful choice sumptuous food attentive staff accompanied by a piano player- 360 degree sea views good old fashioned feel bit faded but still quite grand £15 3 courses inc coffee well worth it will go again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H3ELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect food with brilliant service”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Was staying in the hotel for a two week period whilst working locally, have eaten in the restaurant four times now and the food is truly superb. Service is literally perfect, every small attention to detail and the staff are all very polite. Have tried a few of the dishes and the quality is exceptional throughout. Cost is also very well balanced and I would personally say that the food is low in cost for the quality you will receive, really worth the visit to try out this restaurant, a shame it never seemed to busy any time I went down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 02coled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretentious experience saved by the pianist”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a two course Sunday lunch, the ambience of the restaurant was promising, the initial service was good, but that was it; the food was pretentious and tasteless, the wine was very average quality and overpriced, and the service regressed. The pianist played beautifully throughout.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ic0n0clast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

On arrival a kind lady showed me to my table right at the back of the hotel that's where the niceness ended. It was a Christmas meal with about 20 of us squashed into the conservatory it was very busy over 200 eating apparently. Prawn cocktail arrived with no sauce or no bread, Turkey was Luke warm with not a green vegetable in sight and the Xmas pudding had no taste. All in all very disappointing. After noting our complaints the manager "Jane" offered us £10 off a return meal next Christmas but unfortunately the damage had already been done and we won't be returning in a hurry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camborne, cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Attended a christmas party night on a Saturday evening, the food was lovely, but the service was very slow indeed. Called in to sit down at 7.45, when we were told 7.30 sit down, starters came out quite quick, then it went down hill, still waiting for dessert at 9.45, and the disco had already started and we were still eating. Which i thought was abit off. Apart from that i would recommend the entertainment, Shamless were very good. I would go to a party night there again, but i wish the management would employ some more staff in the restaurant, especially when catering for a large number of people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boomtownratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Beach Restaurant at The Falmouth Hotel also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Castle Beach Restaurant at The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing