We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great 5 days thanks to Just Go Coaches but alas the lack of genuine customer service here could have spoilt it..”
Review of Membly Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Membly Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

No one to greet us on arrival and at reception,handed room key told room number and floor carried are own cases,already a feeling of trepidation, not a smile in sight.

Room clean although wardrobe door handle fell off and top of tap in basin, extractor had a teabag wrapper stuffed in it, I imagine to stop it vibrating, which it didn't. Very thin walls could hear draws being opened in next room etc.

Breakfast was tasty, dinner good food served hot but little choice, roast meat or a fish dish if you didn't eat fish you could get bored with roast.and very bored with the only sweet Cornish Ice cream with wafer, I did manage to get chocolate sauce with out any extra charge.

We really felt like the poor relations and a bit of an inconvenience, being on a very inexpensive coach trip, Sorry, been put off staying again very unwelcoming although staff started to thaw out by Thursday, may be they were pleased we would be leaving the next morning. Definitely would not recommend or return, just sick of Ice cream. Thank goodness Just Go know how to give great service, cant fault our drivers helpful and friendly attitude.

Room Tip: Unfortunately a side room with a tree blocking any view we might have had, seemed we had no chance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is more suited to budget coach parties than independent travelers.

We were met by a charming young man called Bret who not only showed us to our room but opened the lift door for us on the ground floor and then ran upstairs to open the lift door for us on the first floor!

The interior decor in the public areas was heavily patterned, tired, tatty and dated but our room looked quite modern. It had a fantastic sea view and although we had been warned that it had small en-suite shower room, we didn't realise that meant something the size of a en-suite in a touring caravan! The cheap nasty plastic seat was falling off and although they "fixed" it for us it should have gone in the skip. They boast the smallest thinnest sheets of toilet paper we have ever seen! False economy as you end up using twice as many (if not more) sheets.

We were told dinner was at 7:30 but as a coach party was due we decided to give the one sitting a miss. There were no snacks or sandwiches for supper if you had already eaten.

For breakfast we were seated at a table covered in a cheap plastic table cloth and served to fruit juice and cereal followed by a cooked breakfast. This consisted of a very small egg, a thin sausage, two slices of bacon half a tomato and a triangle of fried bread (one quarter the size of a slice of bread)! Toast arrived later but no choice of brown or white. The tea and coffee came out of flasks which were cold. I asked for fresh coffee and got a small flask of luke warm coffee. On day two we didn't bother and went into Falmouth.

On the plus side it was quite clean except under the toilet, the bed was comfortable if you like blankets and it had free wifi.

On departure we were given a bag of cheap boiled sweets for our journey which we binned. We would not stay here again, when we are on holiday we like a few luxuries not budget finishes at top prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nigel-carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I only needed to stay for one night as I was in the area for business, but I'm highly likely to come back for a longer stay.
Yes, it only has a two star rating, but it has a certain charm that you only get with a family run hotel.
The staff were fantastic - chirpy, helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent quality home-cooked food, generous portions and served at lightening speed.
The rooms are modest but have everything you need and are very clean. The beds are comfy too!
Best of all are the fantastic views of the sandy beach, where I spotted wild dolphins swimming.
The location is great. I didn't get a chance to check out the local attractions, but I did find an awesome beach bar/cafe about 3 mins walk from the hotel - Gyllys Beach Cafe - which is open late, right on the sea front, serving a great selction of food and drinks.
I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Although the weather has been a bit off you new an excellent dinner was going to be severed to you,(no diy here all waiter service). Dinner also included a cheese board after sweet, a nice touch. We stayed here about 5 years ago and that friendly greeting as a guest and not a number is nice. We met some guests who have been returning here every year since 1989. Nice spa pool and sauna for guest use only.We will be back.

Room Tip: higher floor is quiet,ground floor good for less able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Upon our arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the friendly hotel staff who escorted us to our room and informed us of the meal times etc. After being a little unsure about booking this hotel we were pleasantly surprised to find it had lovely views overlooking the bay, ample parking and accommodation that was cosy and clean. The food was great offereing a variety of local produce and although it was traditional cuisine one had the choice between several options including fresh local caught fish; which was delightful. A good value for money hotel; we will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Room 12 great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have just got back from a weeks stay. Very smart family run hotel. Good food with good choice of menu and a varied priced wine list. We had a side sea view room all looked new with a nice size LCD TV. Staff were lovely and very smart in there waistcoats, nothing was to much trouble. Horse racing was great fun with some entertainment on most nights. Only complaint, I will have to go on a diet.

Room Tip: great view from front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel as a wedding guest. The single room I had was roughly the size of a match box,and right by the corridor for access to almost all the other rooms. The room is not worth the £47 I was charged, at all! Although the room is en suite, a shower that has no pressure isn't ideal,and the holder not height adjustable. As a guest at the wedding I was also shocked at the untidy appearance of the waiting staff. If I had not been Here for breakfast that morning, I wouldn't have known that they were in the same clothes all day and had obviously not thought about appearance. The hotel does not allow irons to be used in rooms,unless It is THE one provided by the hotel. Only one iron and board in the whole establishment.
Breakfast was nice however, but a choice of what to have would have been more appreciated.
Check out is 1030 but don't count on being able to sleep after 8am, as the cleaning staff like to have loud,personal conversations outside the bedrooms.
Although a clean hotel in a nice location, its decor is dated, rooms are small and over priced, and the ensuites need updating.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wearychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
313 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Membly Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membly Hall Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Membly Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Membly Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Membly Hall Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing