We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Membly Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Membly Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Try elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

One wonders about the sort of hotels people are staying in if they can grade this as excellent. The only thing going for this place is a front view the availability of which is highly limited. We plugged for what what described as a side window view and might as well have looked at a brick wall. All other bedrooms seem to look out at a car park. Reception is a window followed by tatty budget facilities. The bed was like a sponge and the walls so thin we could hear people breathing which was a comfort as judging by the average age of the guests this could be mistaken for an old peoples home. We escaped at the crack of dawn. Falmouth must have better than this to offer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
38
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a lovely stay at The Membly Hall Hotel. The room we stayed in had a lovely bay window with 2 seats, we had spent some afternoons watching swimmers and boats going by. It was a spacious room, large wardrobe and a small but lovely bathroom with walk in shower. The hotel and room was very well kept and clean. Staff were all friendly, meals were nice, lovely cooked breakfast and evening entertainment. Plenty to see and do in Falmouth and only a 20 min walk to town from hotel.

Room Tip: Room 24 spacious with large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just had a week at the Membly Hall Hotel our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the view over Falmouth Bay was to die for a perfect spot. The food was very good and plentiful. The wardrobes were new but you could not hang a dress up but we managed by hanging them up at the side.
One little complaint was the entertainment. Better entertainment would be a real asset for this hotel. I would recommend this hotel as I thoroughly enjoyed myself here.
It is cheap enough to get a taxi in to the Harbour but if you're fit you can walk it.

Room Tip: Room one is large and on the ground floor but a little dull as the window is onto the conservatory b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 584ElizabethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Our room was light and airy with a lovely side sea view. Generous portions at mealtimes with plenty of choice. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only complaint was the lift - it could do with replacing as it is very slow and rather unreliable.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if any of your party has trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Don't be put off by the rating. When you see the view from the lounge on the front of the Hotel you will almost forgive anything! Especially if the weather is nice. We had decided on a get away weekend and booked on line and last minute. So, our expectations were not high. I certainly agree with most of what I have read in other reviews. Yes it is a family owned and run hotel. I think the property and rooms were also family maintained. The finish to the decoration in the room and bathroom was quite unfinished. How ever, It was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Apart from breakfast (which was absolutely fine) we only took one dinner in the hotel restaurant. We were asked to order from a set menu for dinner at breakfast that morning. The evening meal when it arrived was fine. The Hotel relies on coach holidays for the main business and guests seemed to be happy with their stay as we were. If we were to return to Falmouth again, we would definitely head for the Membury hall Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Des536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I, along with our two young children spent a lovely long weekend break at Membly Hall over the Whitsun holiday. The hotel is a family-run business and it shows - the staff were incredibly friendly, personable and very helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced considering the time of year.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, particularly to those with young families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Alaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was part of a coach party who stayed for a few days. A very warm greeting from the staff and cases taken up to our rooms promptly. Nice room very clean and looked newly furnished. Small bathroom, well equiped with a slip mat in the shower. Plenty of storage space and hangers in the wardrobe plus a flat screen TV. Good mirrors and lighting, plus tea and coffee. The hotel has a lift, but there are a lot of little steps, so you need to be careful going through doors incase some are just the other side. Sometimes hotels ask what you want to eat prior to arriving, but they didn't here. So was amazed the lst night we all had what we wanted from a good choice on the menu and all served very promptly by efficient young staff. Piping hot plates each meal too, which is usually one of my gripes and very good portions. Quite plain but wholesome. If you wanted anything all you had to do was ask, nothing was too much trouble, they definately aim to please. A very well run 2 * family hotel.
There also in library with a good stock of books. A nice touch would be to put a collage in the hall of the family, so guets can see the family members. The beach is opposite the hotel and lovely walks along the coast are a must if you have good weather. Its about a 20 minute walk to the town and plenty to see there.

Room Tip: On the side you can still see the sea. Its very quiet in this part of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Membly Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membly Hall Hotel

Property: Membly Hall Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Membly Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Membly Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Membly Hall Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing