We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food.”
Review of Oliver's

Oliver's
Ranked #2 of 227 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$70
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The food here is amazing and with a changing menu guaranteed fresh. Along with the food comes very good service and a friendly atmosphere. Booking in advance is recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ecoman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    41
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have eaten here numerous times over the past few years for dinner or lunch and it always delivers. Its very difficult to get in for dinner however so pre booking at least a week in advance seems the way to go. Lunch is often easier to get a table but it is a fairly small place.

Highlights include the taster evening events that are run a few times a year and these are always well attended and pre booked far in advance.

It is situated on the High Street so there are no views other than the shopping street but it makes up for this with excellently prepared food and fantastic hosting and service.

Definitely recommended, and writing this is making me want to go back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abingdon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's true, this place is fab.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The minute you walk in Wendy makes you feel special. Ok, she knew it was our wedding anniversary, but she made us feel welcome, and totally relaxed.
The food was superb, a complimentary taster, fish cooked to perfection in different and clever ways fusing tastes and textures in interesting ways. Dessert was a decadent delight!
Thank you chef Ken for this marvellous meal. We intend to return for one of Oliver's Gourmet evenings and discover more culinary delights.
Don't go to Oliver's for the location. Don't go expecting a swanky interior.....just enjoy the ambience and the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank villageladyAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro Cornwall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Every dish a masterpiece”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Ken & Wendy have long kept Oliver's as one if the best 'go to' restaurants in Falmouth. Visited them again on Friday with 2 great friends who happen to share the same birthday and happen to have been happily married for 27years - Sandra & David you rock !!

We all had 3 courses and every single one was 'delish' !!

Only gripe was that you only had Skinners beer - boo - St Austell is far far superior & much better suited to your excellent quality cuisine !

Ken must be losing tons of weight down in the kitchen in weather as hot as it is now but keeps the high standards - we'll be back x

Helpful?
Thank Nick0demus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Please sir,can I have some more.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in Falmouth for the weekend and booked olivers for the Friday evening after looking on the net.
We knew we had made the right choice when our landlord had his lunch
there!!!,We weren't disappointed very relaxed homely atmosphere not stuffy or potentous and the food and staff were first class
We will definitely be back and have already recommended two friends to eat there when they visit soon.
Well done guys.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver's also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Oliver's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing