We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucky Find”
Review of Wellington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wellington House
Ranked #29 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a very comfortable room with great views over the harbour. We were extremely well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. The house was very clean and in a good location - about a 5 minute walk to the harbour & restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed for two nights at Wellington House. The owners were very friendly, the room was spotless and we had a great view of the harbour from both bedroom and en suite windows. The breakfast was excellent, with a good range to choose from. We were only a short walk from both the high street and the beach, and there were lots of good restaurants in Falmouth to get dinner in the evenings. We would definitely stay again of we are in that part of the country.

Room Tip: The double room at the back of the house with the view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Really nice owners who operate the Wellington House. They made a major effort to be accommodating for us and provided an excellent breakfast and rooms. Location is excellent and a short walk to the High Street and port as well as ocean side of the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 587Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My Mum and I stayed at the Wellington House for three nights this month, February, we where visiting my daughter who is studying at Falmouth University. The B & B is lovely, spotlessly clean, very comfortable with tasteful decor. We stayed in the twin room and had a glimpse of the sea AND the harbor, beat that!!! The location is perfect for everything....beach, shops, town centre & harbor. The hosts, Rosemary and Bruce are a lovely couple, very friendly and happy to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay with them. My daughter joined us for breakfast on two occasions, she was made very welcome indeed. The breakfast, by the way, is delicious with plenty of choice and cooked to the highest standard. Our stay with Rosemary & Bruce was part of a fabulous long week end.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntylouof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaClaire90, Owner at Wellington House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

We have searched for your missing shoes but think they must have gone in a bag of left items to a charity shop. So sorry, but as is was quite a while before you enquired, we would have thought no one wanted them. If they were your favourites we can only apologise. You would be amazed at what we find left in the rooms and they are rarely claimed, so we have a clear out every so often. If you visit us again we will get you to count how many pairs you arrive with, and how many you pack to leave!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Wellington House for 4 nights this month and cannot speak highly enough of it. Ideally situated a short walk into Falmouth Centre or to the Beach. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained and decorated to a very high standard. We had a large double bedroom, well furnished and equipped with everything you could need, with a large light and airy bathroom with shower. Breakfast is optional, but we chose to have the full Cornish breakfast and the choice was excellent with the hot food all cooked to order at a time to suit us. Lovely friendly owners who make you feel very welcome. This accommodation is excellent value for money and we will return and would recommend highly to others to try it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHolidays4us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaClaire90, Owner at Wellington House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Now you are making us blush! Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Staying in the below stairs apartment of property for 2 weeks, wish it was longer! It is spacious, clean and provided with all towels, books, and even coffee. I loved this apartment when I first saw it, it has character, a lovely layout and great for a couple or friends. There are views of the seafront from the apartment and a lovely terrrace out the front. I would definitely recommend this place again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaClaire90, Owner at Wellington House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments - hope all is going well in Madrid!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed for four nights in the "Below Stairs" apartment attached to Wellington House. It is fully self contained with everything you could want including a washing machine which was a great bonus as we were on a six week trip.

The location is terrific and only a few minutes walk from down town Falmouth, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Rosemary and her husband were most helpful and friendly hosts and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZer406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Trelawney Guest House
Trelawney Guest House
#30 of 83 in Falmouth
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandy Duck
The Sandy Duck
#8 of 83 in Falmouth
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park View Townhouse
Park View Townhouse
#48 of 83 in Falmouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Observatory Guest House
The Observatory Guest House
#35 of 83 in Falmouth
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#36 of 83 in Falmouth
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#31 of 83 in Falmouth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington House

Address: 26 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £74 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long-established Edwardian guesthouse, ideally situated for town, harbour, eating places, beaches and public transport. Rooms are all ensuite and newly decorated and furnished. We also have Below Stairs, a holiday apartment created from the old servant's quarters of the big house - completely refurbished in 2011 with contemporary decor and high quality kitchen and shower room. The apartment is dog-friendly, equipped for 2 or 3 guests, and has its own spacious deck with views over the garden to the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wellington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing