We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wellington House
Ranked #27 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
GLOS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked a 4 night stay at Wellington House,July 8th till 12th after reading previous reviews and found that this B & B lived up to its reputation.Were greeted with a friendly smile upon arrival,shown to our lovely spotless room and made very welcome by Rosemary and Bruce.The breakfasts were lovely although not included in the price but reasonably priced from £5 per person I can see that you then have the choice and if you have paid a higher price to include breakfast and you decide you don't want breakfast then you don't feel you have paid for something you don't want if that makes sense The Wellington is situated in an excellent position being a short walking distance from the beautifully clean beach one way and the lovely harbour and town the other. We found a lovely fish and chip shop dine in or takeaway called Harbour Lights and some great pubs with seating areas around the harbour.There was a lovely old castle called Pendennis within walking distance too. We also went on the ferry from the harbour to St Mawes which was also lovely and visited Trebah Garden just a short drive away,which took you right down to a little beach at the bottom.All in all had a great few days away in Falmouth and would highly recommend Wellington House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a very comfortable room with great views over the harbour. We were extremely well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. The house was very clean and in a good location - about a 5 minute walk to the harbour & restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed for two nights at Wellington House. The owners were very friendly, the room was spotless and we had a great view of the harbour from both bedroom and en suite windows. The breakfast was excellent, with a good range to choose from. We were only a short walk from both the high street and the beach, and there were lots of good restaurants in Falmouth to get dinner in the evenings. We would definitely stay again of we are in that part of the country.

Room Tip: The double room at the back of the house with the view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Really nice owners who operate the Wellington House. They made a major effort to be accommodating for us and provided an excellent breakfast and rooms. Location is excellent and a short walk to the High Street and port as well as ocean side of the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healing Grimsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My Mum and I stayed at the Wellington House for three nights this month, February, we where visiting my daughter who is studying at Falmouth University. The B & B is lovely, spotlessly clean, very comfortable with tasteful decor. We stayed in the twin room and had a glimpse of the sea AND the harbor, beat that!!! The location is perfect for everything....beach, shops, town centre & harbor. The hosts, Rosemary and Bruce are a lovely couple, very friendly and happy to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay with them. My daughter joined us for breakfast on two occasions, she was made very welcome indeed. The breakfast, by the way, is delicious with plenty of choice and cooked to the highest standard. Our stay with Rosemary & Bruce was part of a fabulous long week end.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntylouof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaClaire90, Owner at Wellington House, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
We have searched for your missing shoes but think they must have gone in a bag of left items to a charity shop. So sorry, but as is was quite a while before you enquired, we would have thought no one wanted them. If they were your favourites we can only apologise. You would be amazed at what we find left in the rooms and they are rarely claimed, so we have a clear out every so often. If you visit us again we will get you to count how many pairs you arrive with, and how many you pack to leave!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Wellington House for 4 nights this month and cannot speak highly enough of it. Ideally situated a short walk into Falmouth Centre or to the Beach. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained and decorated to a very high standard. We had a large double bedroom, well furnished and equipped with everything you could need, with a large light and airy bathroom with shower. Breakfast is optional, but we chose to have the full Cornish breakfast and the choice was excellent with the hot food all cooked to order at a time to suit us. Lovely friendly owners who make you feel very welcome. This accommodation is excellent value for money and we will return and would recommend highly to others to try it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidays4us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaClaire90, Owner at Wellington House, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Now you are making us blush! Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Staying in the below stairs apartment of property for 2 weeks, wish it was longer! It is spacious, clean and provided with all towels, books, and even coffee. I loved this apartment when I first saw it, it has character, a lovely layout and great for a couple or friends. There are views of the seafront from the apartment and a lovely terrrace out the front. I would definitely recommend this place again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaClaire90, Owner at Wellington House, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments - hope all is going well in Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Red House
The Red House
#13 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melvill House
Melvill House
#22 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poltair
Poltair
#23 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headlands
Headlands
#10 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trelawney Guest House
Trelawney Guest House
#28 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#7 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington House

Property: Wellington House
Address: 26 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long-established Edwardian guesthouse, ideally situated for town, harbour, eating places, beaches and public transport. Rooms are all ensuite and newly decorated and furnished. We also have Below Stairs, a holiday apartment created from the old servant's quarters of the big house - completely refurbished in 2011 with contemporary decor and high quality kitchen and shower room. The apartment is dog-friendly, equipped for 2 or 3 guests, and has its own spacious deck with views over the garden to the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wellington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing