We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem of a place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falmouth Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“gem of a place”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

large, well-built, clean, with all modern conveniences, affordably-priced, centrally located, home-like atmosphere, off-the-beaten track on cul-de-sac, yet minutes up from beach - thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable ambience provided & friendly, informative owner. Will go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aflowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
19
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Backpackers for three nights in a private ensuite double. The accommodation, on the top floor, was spacious, quiet and pleasant and excellent value compared with hotel and other self-catering accommodation. The owner maintains a laid back, friendly atmosphere. We appreciated the kitchen (with its Aga cooker) and common room on the ground floor and the fast wifi. The location is hard to beat: only a short walk from Falmouth Town station and closer to excellent beaches and the Coastal Path. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The top-floor room had a pleasant view of the sea and made for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hostel has a lovely welcoming host with good "green" ethics. The room was good, the facilities all fine, the homey atmosphere meant everyone in the hostel were open and sociable with each other. The kitchen may have been a tad small but it really didn't matter because there was everything you needed to cook a good meal and everyone was very accommodating to each other (spacewise). It was also close to the nbeach and less than 10 minutes walk from the railway station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

When booking the hostel we obviously weren't expecting the ritz but the bathroom and bedroom were still a lot grubber than expected stained carpets copwebs and dead spiders in our room but the location is excellent right next to the beach town centre and train station and staff are friendly and it is pretty cheap so would have been happy to stay if we could have locked our door but at this hostel that is not possible. Maybe that is ok if you are travelling with a big group but when it's just two of you I don't think you should be expected to stay in a house full of strangers with anyone being able to wonder into your room at any time, so if you want to sleep easy I suggest somewhere else and if you are looking for a cheap room out of uni term time try the uni as after having to pay and then not stay at this hostel we got a room at the uni for only £15 each with private clean bathroom and most importantly a lock on the door!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudiGFalmouth, Owner at Falmouth Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the review - We can only apologise for the Spider Queen being less than vigilant on this occasion.
But also want to say that our carpets are on track to be replaced this winter as well as the door lock query being under review for twin rooms, even tho, to our knowledge, it has never been a problem in our past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed for 10 nights whilst waiting for my Uni accommodation to become available.

It was a real home-from-home, and everyone from the owner to my fellow guests made me feel welcome. Spotlessly clean yet with a laid-back feel.

There is a small but well equipped kitchen with Aga that saved me from living on expensive take-away food, and broadband wifi kept me connected.

Great patio area at the front for chilling, and the beaches and town are both just a short walk away, as is the train station (trains every 30 mins).

Great value for money and would definitely stay again should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Excellent single room deal will not leave you disappointed, however book early as it was evident spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost_in_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

7 of us in a small stuffy room no room to move around. Breakfast advertised as toast or cereal the bread was the cheapest of the cheap and the cereal was what others left behind! They advertised room as six people room but they had managed to get a camp bed in there as well!

Room Tip: Don't pick the room as advertised for six people while there someone who had visited there befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagangreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudiGFalmouth, Owner at Falmouth Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are sorry to hear this; we make every effort to accommodate our guests comfortably; and this includes making space for last minute visitors if we can. 7 in our 6/7 bed dorm. is occasional and we hope that most visitors would appreciate that that last person could be them one day.

The ‘simple complimentary breakfast’ that we have always offered is not specified, but normally includes bread, butter and a choice of jam, marmalade tea and coffee. Any cereals are indeed courtesy of other guests - an extra bonus!

We hope that this offers some explanation for these misunderstandings..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've stayed in my fair share of hostels and have to say this is a good-un. A warm welcome, laid back attitude along with comfy beds make this a great place to stay. The location in Falmouth is superb too. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 23 in Falmouth
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Falmouth
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falmouth Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falmouth Lodge Backpackers

Property: Falmouth Lodge Backpackers
Address: 9 Gyllyngvase Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, friendly and clean, Falmouth Lodge Backpackers is just two minutes' walk from the Blue Flag beach of Gyllyngvase and the South West Coast Path and eight minutes' walk into town and the harbour. There is a well-equipped kitchen plus a cosy lounge with TV/DVD and games. With shared dorm-rooms or private rooms available, Falmouth Lodge is suitable for groups, families or individuals. From £19 per person per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falmouth Lodge Backpackers Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing