We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Ever!!”
Review of The Wheel House

The Wheel House
Ranked #1 of 227 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Locally, daily caught shellfish served in a relaxed and very friendly atmosphere.Customer service and enjoyment are our priorities open from 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm Wednesday-saturday
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Ever!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this amazing little shellfish restaurant. Everything cooked to perfection. Beautiful decor and fabulous service. Delightful!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    52
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Thank you all at the wheel house”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We went to the wheel house to celebrate our sons graduation in July and as we may not visit again for a long time we ordered the lobster together with our usual lovely see food that you get from this great place. Thank you Andy you are the No 1 Chef in Falmouth what a meal we had and as usual the atmosphere was fantastic. Thank you tina and the team for looking after us over the last three years. hope to visit again in not to distant future.
You must all visit the best sea food place in the UK

Toastmaster John Sheila & Daniel

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lordan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most memorable meal ever!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone living in or visiting Cornwall. If you like sea food, you cannot find anywhere better. All freshly caught, and in beautiful sauces. Lovely intimate restaurant and the service is just as good as the food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an all round amazing experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had read the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and were lucky enough to be able to book a table this week whilst on our holiday in Cornwall. We find it difficult to put in to words the amazing evening we have had. On arrival, we received a very welcoming greeting from Mo, who showed us to our table and explained the menu to us. We chose a starter of mussels and prawns, followed. by scallops and lobster and it certainly did not disappoint. The food was absolutely superb, it surpassed our expectations and we were served by a fantastic team, Tina, Mo, Jack and Tony looked after us superbly and we could not recommend The Wheel House highly enough. We will be booking a table when we book next year's holiday. Thank you so much for helping to make our holiday perfect, we cant wait to visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ9Stratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quirky Restaurant, Very Helpful Staff and Importantly AMAZING FOOD!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have tried to book a table in this restaurant each time we visit Cornwall, fortunately I remembered whilst booking our hotel and immediately booked us a table in May 2014 for our stay in July! Not a surprise to hear when booking that they only had the earlier sitting available - business rocks, and understandably so.

We arrived five minutes prior to our allocation time of 18:15 and were quickly welcomed and shown to our table, the atmosphere in this restaurant is friendly and wonderful. It's decor is quirky but welcoming. As we had never eaten at the restaurant before we were told how the menu works and that you order from the chalk boards above the bar and once it's gone, it's gone. It's a shellfish only restaurant and basically whatever is caught by the fishermen that day is cooked and served on the day.

The food didn't take long to come to the table and wow, what an experience. We tried a medium spider crab for the first time and were told how to tackle it as it came in its true form (all shell and legs), it was succulent and sweet and the meat was plentiful. We ordered two helpings of the prawns as they were so delicious and also thoroughly enjoyed the scallops and mussels. We ordered bread and oils to start as well as fries to soak up the gorgeous sauces of the fish.

The waiting staff were very attentive and the restaurant owner popped over to give us a few tips on how to remove extra meat from the crabs head, which was lovely!

Overall this is by far the best meal I have ever had in a restaurant and I would without a doubt return each time I come down. I have been raving about this restaurant to my friends and family who love shellfish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nao2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheel House also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Wheel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing