We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Sunday Roast we've had in Cornwall - And we've has a few!!!!”
Review of The Waymarker

The Waymarker
Ranked #8 of 261 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$41
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A hidden rural restaurant located on the edge of disused quarry workings on the Penryn to Gweek road in the North Helford Zone, Cornwall. Come along and enjoy THE WAYMARKER'S freshly prepared lunchtime meals & drinks with unparralelled seclusion & tranquility. Sit back and take in the surrounding nature with uninterrupted views across our pond and varied tree-scape. With the benefit of fully disabled accessibility and facilities everyone can come along to enjoy our venue. FREE Wi-Fi/Fully Licenced/Activity & Nature Trails/Off-Road Parking.Our Mission at The Waymarker is to combine our peaceful surroundings with the abundant high-quality local produce and our homemade-quality cooking to provide great refreshment for both mind and soul.
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Waymarker is tucked away halfway between Gweek on The Lizard Peninsula and Falmouth but it is well worth the trip. Just 20 mins from Falmouth by car. Set in the old quarry land close to Constantine, the restaurant serves meals, coffee and cake most days. I had popped in a few times on my way past for coffee and cake and have now been twice with my family for Sunday Lunch. The meals are delightfully cooked and with local produce that is so so fresh. Good size portions too! You may have to wait for a short while but that is because the food is being prepared from fresh and the restaurant is so clean and tidy with fantastic countryside views it really is not and problem and well worth the wait. Who wants to rush Sunday lunch anyway? Good value for money and very friendly staff. Can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lizardman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Nestled down typically Cornish narrow, tree-lined roads, this wonderful eatery is definitely worth seeking out.

The interior of The Waymaker could be descriped in many ways - classic, contemporary, comfortable, simple, uncomplicated etc - and all would be correct. The look and feel has been well thought out and executed, with spacious tables sharing the room with sofas, so whether you want to relax with a cup of tea or sit more formally and enjoy the food, the choice is yours.

Visit 1 - Home-made soup (carrot and squash), served with a warm roll, was delicious and obviously made with love, care and attention to detail (a sprinkling of herbs and a good dollop of creme fraiche in the middle). The tandoori chicken baguette wasn't what was expected - this wasn't filled with a pre-packed, plastic tasting filling pulled from the refrigerator. This was freshly cooked chicken, generously coated with a very good tandoori sauce, and served with a fresh side salad and dressing. No room was left for the chilli chocolate brownies though, unfortunately.

Visit 2 - We had been to a cafe elsewhere for a cream tea earlier in the week, but we were left disappointed. We couldn't go home without having had a good cream tea. The Waymarker's cream tea was the polar opposite to the one from earlier in the week. Fresh, warm scones, home-made jam and copious amounts of clotted cream were sublime. Safe to say this was the best cream tea we had had in a very long time - possibly ever.

The Waymaker proves good quality ingredients and good preparation makes for a very enjoyable experience.

We wish you every success for the future.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MartinClues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We just had the most wonderful meal at The Waymarker! What a lovely setting and what yummy food! The vegetables we were served - snap peas, green peas and corn - were so sweet and fresh...they must have been just picked from the garden. For those of you who remember what home cooking tastes like, the Shepherd's Pie was absolutely delicious. A very large dish filled to the brim with tasty mashed potatoes and tender meat with all the flavors you would expect. The panini was beautifully presented and crispy fresh with cheese, olives and tomato. A perfect combination and such a large portion I could only eat half. The side salad was made up of various greens that were utterly fresh and tender. It really does make a difference when the produce you are served is local and just picked.

We were so full that we ended up taking home a slice of Beet and Seed cake for later. We never had anything like this before and were impressed with the delicate texture and flavor. We enjoyed the pieces of fresh beet and the wonderful icing that complimented the subtle sweetness of the cake. We can't wait to return!!

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank srwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We found this place on a trip to the Seal Sanctuary in Gweek, it is certainly off the beaten track but what a find. Lovely building, the friendliest staff and delicious food - basic but very well done.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Faith1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Waymarker was is wonderful find just 10 minutes from Falmouth / Penryn. Located just outside the village of Constantine, this hidden gem is well worth going out of your way for. Serving a wide selection of high quality lunches, evening meals and Sunday Roasts, you are guarenteed to find something you like. It was also very pleasing to find somewhere which sold a children's menu that didn't consist of every option with chips! In fact, all adult meals could be made smaller for children which was fantastic. Special mention must also go to the excellent cake range and friendly host - the satsuma cake was superb! Plus, if you are lucky with the weather, you can sit outside on the decking area and take in the views. If you are in the area, it is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt_Holliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waymarker also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Waymarker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing