We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel.Will definitely be returning.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
st.ives. cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A lovely hotel.Will definitely be returning.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this great hotel. The room we stayed in(22) was very clean and decorated lovely with a seaside feel to it.The bed was big and extremely comfortable and we had a great view looking out over the sea and gardens.A very quiet room to be in so felt very relaxed and cosy.The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble for them.I had a treatment in the spa (back bliss)which i have to say is the best treatment I have experienced and I came out feeling very chilled and pampered so a big thankyou to rose.Breakfast was nice with a good selection of cereals, fruit, cheese and pastries and of course the buffet breakfast. Staff very cheery and helpfull which is nice to see first thing in the morning. We ate in the restaurant on our second night and the food was very tasty and beautifully presented.My steak was cooked perfectly and had lots of flavour.We have really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be returning at some point this year.Thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracem216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
This is such a lovely review, thank you. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to enjoy some lovely Cornish sun too!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    369
    160
    91
    45
See reviews for
251
620
65
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here as part of a weekend in Cornwall visiting the Eden Project. Overall it was lovely. Room was nice, spa facilities were good, views from the restaurant and lounge were magnificent. As we were only there for one night, and love fish, we decided to eat in the hotel's fish restaurant. We shared the fish platter and all was good until we came to the shell-on prawns which, on closer inspection, had not been prepared correctly (they were not cleaned .... Which is the only polite way of saying what was wrong!!!!). For a restaurant specialising in fish they should have known better really. We called over the maître d and brought it to his attention. He thanked us and said he'd inform the kitchen of our comments. If he'd only offered a complimentary cup of coffee or taken something off the bill it would have made all the difference....but there you go. You could say a true 4* hotel would have done differently... But all in all it was good.... But for the bad prawns!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HIS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had a great time at St Michaels hotel while in England last summer. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, the back yard has a garden that leads you right to Queen Mary's Garden which is beautiful next to Gyllynvase Beach. The hotel staff is very hard working and I'd like to thank specially the people at the restaurant who where very nice to me. A special thanks to Bernie, Joe, Pinkie and some others that I can't remember the names. Thank you for the girls that cleaned my room. My room was small but very comfortable and from my window I could see the ocean that was a delight. Many thanks to all the staff of St. Michael. I LOVE FALMOUTH

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanebroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have booked this hotel for a few people now. A really top place to stay, great rooms and the staff are really friendly. Very relaxing bar area. Really recommended as the place to stay on a visit to Falmouth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This weekend in the glorious Cornish sunshine myself and some of my family members enjoyed a trip to this hotel for a spa treatment each and coffee and lunch on the terrace...

The spa - The beauty therapist were friendly and professional we were all impressed with their kind manner and they really are a credit to this hotel. However your first impression of the spa is not the lovely therapists but the sour faced receptionist who not only found it impossible to crack a smile she was neither helpful or friendly (In fact a women was locked out of her swimming changing room locker and she told the women - who was dripping wet and in swimming attire to wait a moment before she dealt with her..!) Our treatments were however divine and the relaxation room a wonderful extra (especially with the sun streaming in!)

The Restaurant - Coffee one of the nations favourite treats, however my (cold) coffee at St Michaels was not a relaxing one! We waited 40 mins for 3 cups of coffee and when they eventually arrived they were far from hot. The waitress was clearly not coping and several other tables were forced to remind her of their order or in fact lack of.
For lunch the food was delicious (if slightly over priced for the portion size) i had the wholemeal bagel with salmon and prawns and it was delicious. However the general service of the restaurant staff left a lot to be desired, they didn't seem to know what they were doing, no tables were cleared and seagulls were circling the outside terrace. Wine options were not offered up just a couple of examples of how the customer service could be improved...

Overall the facilities and the spa staff were fantastic and it was lovely to enjoy the sunshine outside on the restaurant terrace, If the the customer service and restaurant staff were to improve I wouldn't hesitate to recommend however customer service is key and i believe as a 4 star establishment improvements should be made.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed one night-superb-everywhere spotlessly clean.The superior room we had certainly was-with decking/balcony.Quality furniture and fittings,immaculately maintained.Snack lunch in bar area excellent and evening meal and service excellent.Breakfast "under lights" disappointing because it's never hot enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband & I stayed two nights for my birthday in February.
The spa treatments were so relaxing, the food excellent & our room superb.
All of the staff were so helpful & the service second to none.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a premium room with a sea view & roof terrace which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing