We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and Spa”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just spent a lovely few days at this hotel. The rooms was lovely and clean and the breakfasts excellent, we spent a very relaxing day at the spa and the staff there were superb. We also had an evening meal at the hotel and the food was stunning the only down side was the service was a bit slow and we noticed a couple of customers who had very long waits. All the staff we met were very friendly and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    367
    156
    90
    44
See reviews for
249
617
65
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This place is stunning. The theming around the hotel is faultless and the atmosphere is just so relaxing. As soon as I walked in a felt at ease and my stress faded away. The gardens are stunning overlooking the sea.....Pure bliss. Would recommend to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank _loves_thesun_abs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has wonderful views out into the bay, manicured gardens, pleasant staff, minimal parking and a very busy spa/leisure club.

The youthfulness of the staff is a barrier to delivering four-star service.....it came as a surprise to witness the minimalistic reception area, especially for a four-star. The menu in the "Flying Fish" restaurant could be more adventurous, although the decor and position is a big plus.

Our experience was very nice albeit a four-star rating with McDonald style staff....capable yet lacking style and professionalism. This is why the menu pricing is well below what one would expect to pay in a four-star hotel.

Loved the decor, loved the position, felt sorry for the staff who are expected to operate a quality food & beverage outlet with few skills and little knowledge......the hotel would benefit in the future from hiring professional personnel and management.

4- stars.......is questionable....not the same standard as the professionally operated 4-star hotel 300 metres along the seafront (Royal Duchy - Brend Group).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in St Michaels. This hotel is nice and pleasant enough though not quite a 4* in my opinion.
The staff was very friendly and the overall atmosphere lovely and relaxed.
My main criticisms are to do with details a 4* hotel should get right.
The mattresses in our family room were all uncomfortable, certainly not up to 4* level.
There was no mini bar in the room. No music facility in the room.
If you're going to have functions such as weddings, you have to make sure your normal guests don't suffer. I do not believe the hotel is large enough, or well enough equipped to accommodate both properly. The food in the restaurant became very slow and the car park not big enough.

This is a SPA hotel, where guess are supposed to have full use of the facilities, yet you have to hire the robes and slippers for £2.50/day per person. Really, in a 4*?

If you want hot chocolate for breakfast instead of coffee or tea, you are charged extra! Yet, you have hot chocolate for free in the rooms! This seems a bit odd.

All the above is no big deal in the grand scheme of things but when you pay good money for a 4* hotel, you would expect these details to be right.

Overall though, a lovely hotel in a nice location with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location just across the road from Gyllyngvase beach. Set in pretty gardens the hotel has a light airy nautical theme throughout. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and we enjoyed using the Spa facilities. We were allocated a room in the 'Captains House' which is adjacent to the main hotel. There are keys to both the house and room - which were a little fiddly to get to grips with to start. The rooms were not the biggest we've stayed in - but they were very nicely finished with a relaxing white and blue decor and everything you need. Nice bathroom and shower - although the shower in room 5 was not very powerful. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast - the dinner was a bit of a disaster for us as the service was exceptionally slow (tabled at 8pm served starter at 9pm). The food (the tasting menu) was nice but not outstanding. We did talk to the manager about this and he adjusted our bill accordingly. He also promised us a room upgrade next time. The best bit about our stay, was the proximity to the beach and Falmouth and the helpful staff. Lovely walks along the coast and the beach is sandy and sea looked safe for children. Hope to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Our sat-nav took us to the hotel exit (and it's a one-way system). You need to take the next lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

In the last 12 months or so we have been, with friends, more than 3 times to this beautiful restaurant perched above the beach at Gyllyngvase in Falmouth and looking out over Falmouth Bay. Only one such visit met our expectations. On that occasion the food was excellent and a plentiful number of waiting staff were on duty to ensure a speedy and knowledgeable service (i.e "What ice cream flavours do you have" and they know the answer without having to ask someone). The decor is superb and it can be an excellent restaurant. But, if you book as a casual diner, you'd best ask if there is a function on. Function = not enough staff. Service slows to a crawl and the food often not complete as ordered and not too warm either. Think warm bottles of Sauvignon Blanc, missing vegetable orders etc. And considerable delays between courses. On several function occasions when booked for dinner the serving time was a staggering 2 and a half hours. A great pity as it is a superb venue. We hope someone takes notice but it probably won't improve on "function evenings" until the new, owned and adjacent development of the old Falmouth Beach Hotel is completed. We hope that is soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a Four Star Hotel that feels like a Five Star. It is run by the most helpful, charming and friendly staff that I have ever come across. The decor is perfect and the restaurant with a stunning view over the garden and the sea is just perfect. Rooms, though not huge, were extremely comfortable with spotless towels and linen and a super comfy bed. All in all, we had an immensely enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel, and much enjoyed the gorgeous Spa facilities and treatments.

Room Tip: Though our room was on the lower ground floor with no sea view, we had a lovely little terrace beyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Another lovely review, thank you so much. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and took the time to enjoy our beautiful location.

I look forward to welcoming you back and definitely recommend one of our balcony rooms to really make the most of our sea views!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing