We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I went down for the night for my birthday, it was a fantastic mini break. We went mid week so was nice and quiet with a few people around using the facilities. The staff were excellent, upgraded our room and we had the most stunning ocean view. Massages were perfect and relaxing and the facilities were exactly as you would expect. The food was also fantastic, I would just like to request a couple more vegetarian dishes. But otherwise a superb stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have enjoyed many trips to St Michaels in the past year, The hotel staff can not be faulted ,they are all very polite and work very hard.
Many will be working until 11pm in the evening and you will see them back again early the following morning.

On my first visit to St Michaels which was a weekend break for my 21st Birthday i was upgraded to a premium room, It was very spacey, modern and clean.

On my next break I booked a cabins room not realizing the size - it was incredibly small.
Too small for my partner and i to both get dressed at the same time.
I would not recommend the cabin rooms.

On my last visit we stayed in the captains house in a much larger family room - with lovely views and outside seating.

The food is incredible and can not be faulted - all served in a glorious setting!
And spa facilities make the hotel a must stay for me!

Room Tip: Not the cabin rooms - too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceypavely77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights whilst working near Falmouth, service was great, room was modern, clean and tidy. Only ate breakfast at the hotel but that was also great.
Would definitely use again for business and or personal use.
The hotel rivals more expensive hotels I have stayed at around Falmouth.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Broomel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I chose St Michael's as it was hosting a conference I attended. I nearly looked for alternatives as the price was above what I would normally pay outside London for a UK business trip. At the end of my stay I still consider it relatively expensive, but it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience that exceeded my expectations.
I had a lovely room looking over the terrace and gardens to the sea. The room was pleasantly decorated, spotlessly clean and had a large and extremely comfortable bed. I slept very well indeed. The weather was unusually hot, and the lack of an air conditioner in the room may have been a problem for some people. As it was so quiet (except for the gulls) I could leave the windows wide open to control the temperature. I had fast, free WiFi in my room and the hotel's public areas.
The staff were all friendly and efficient, and seemed to go out of their way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast, dinner and service in the restaurant were all very good, enhanced by the sea view.
There is a 14m indoor pool and an excellent gym. Unfortunately I could not use either due to an injury. I heard several people speak highly of the spa but I did not have time to try it. The hotel is next to the beach and the coastal footpath, and a short walk from the centre of Falmouth.
I was sorry to leave after three nights as it was a very relaxing place to stay. I would be very happy to stay there again, budget permitting.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are accessed via steep and narrow stairs. Check if you have a mobility problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We called into this hotel for afternoon tea and drinks after attending the sea shanty festival. Friends we were with recommended St Micheals and we were very impressed. First impressions of decor were very good. Loved the pastel sea colours and nautical theme. The lounge area was quiet and restful, very welcoming and a very pleasant area complete with large tropical fish tank set in a wall.There was lovely background music which added to the ambiance making it the perfect spot for us to enjoy afternoon tea.
I don't know why more people don't choose to go to this hotel instead of a noisy cafe for a relaxed afternoon tea/drinks. When next in the area we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. It is always nice to discover somewhere new to relax and I am glad on this occasion it was us!

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Where to start, how about with the good stuff...good location near the beach, and town, lovely pool and facilities. Room, hot, cheap, staff were so rude when I asked why it was a non smoking hotel yet our window was overlooking the balcony of this couple who all they seemed to do was chain smoke and breath it directly into our room! The snooty "girl" behind the desk in reception said we cannot control the action of others in their own rooms! I though this was a pretty disgusting response seeing as they pride them selves on being a non smoking hotel.
Then there was the old lady serving behind the bar who seemed to get every drinks order wrong that was ordered, including ours which was just a simple glass of wine and a pint of lager, followed by a loud dialogue between her collegue about how tired she was and did not really care to be there. Not a pleasent conversation to over hear when one is spending what was meant to be a romantic anniversary treat! The food was ok, and breakfast nice. Will not be staying again, and as a local I used to recommended it to friends and family that were staying, shall not be doing that anytime soon unless the staff buck up there attitudes!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank water_travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Although it is disappointing to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, by highlighting these issues it does allow us to look at areas that may need improving.

I am most concerned about your issues regarding our staff, although these are not complaints we usually receive I will be looking into this to ensure all staff are representing the high standard we strive to achieve.

Regarding the smoking issue, as you say, we are non-smoking hotel and all guests are made aware of this prior to booking, at confirmation and check in, we also have no smoking signs in all rooms, so although we take several steps to ensure all guests comply with this policy we do on occasion have some guests that choose to ignore this. It doesn’t happen often but when it does we have procedures in place to follow up and ensure it is stopped. Although I understand the sentiment our Receptionist was trying to convey, I agree, this is not an acceptable response. Again, I shall personally be looking into this to ensure it is not repeated.

To allow me to investigate fully in order to improve these areas and focus on individual training needs, I would very much appreciate it if you were able to contact me to provide further information.

Once again, please accept my apologies.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I spent three nights here to treat myself at the end of a holiday where I'd mainly been walking and staying in B&Bs. The location is lovely, it overlooks the beach and once you've got the hang of the local geography is only a short walk from the town centre (hint cut inland rather than walk along the sea front). Its a even shorter walk from Falmouth Town station which has a good service upto the mainline at Truro.

The rooms are nice with a comfortable bed and a generous sized bar. But for a four star hotel I expect a mini-bar or at least a small fridge and a decent Wi-Fi connection (it worked fine in the main building but less so in the Captain's House annex). However, I especially liked the public areas which include the restaurant, a bar, various seating areas and outside terraces. These benefit from the fact that it’s a Spa as well as a hotel which means it’s reasonably busy during the day and thus the bar is worth keeping staffed and open.

I ate in both the restaurant and the bar and the meals were good, although maybe the menu would become a little limiting if you were staying longer.

The hotel staff managed to avoid what might have ruined the final night after guests next door checked in and then left their dog barking in the room continuously. Fortunately they were able to upgrade me to another room very quickly after I'd complained, but I'm not sure what they would have done had there been no spare room available. I think the reception staff might need to be firmer concerning what acceptable with people checking in with pets if other guests are not to be disturbed.

All in all a very pleasant stay and a hotel I’d recommend, but one which with a few (cheap) improvements could be really good.

Room Tip: Avoid the Captain's House if you want decent Wi-Fi. The rooms upstairs in the main building whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
18.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
18.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £68 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing