We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a 2 night half board break in July, in hotter than average British weather. We had a superior sea view room.

The good points:The room ŵas lovely and spacious with a great view. Staff very friendly. Superb massage in the spa. Good food

Not so good: room quite hot as no air conditioning. Service at breakfast a bit slow when busy. It was a bit pointless going half board as the the dinner menu gave you a budget which you couldn't choose 3 courses from the alacarte menu.

Overall really enjoyed it and would go back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 950Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    374
    161
    96
    45
See reviews for
260
628
65
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at St. Michael's Hotel for a family wedding this weekend. Originally, we made a reservation at a nearby B&B which we only found out didn't take children upon check-in (!!!). Without anyplace to stay, we arrived at St. Michael's and the reception staff and management worked with us to find suitable accommodation - taking us up to the room prior to booking to make sure it would fit our son's travel cot. We found the room to be more than sufficient with two windows to capture a nice breeze, comfy bedding and towels, and an awesome shower. Each morning we were greeted by friendly restaurant staff and in the evening by the bar staff who were able to accommodate making smaller portions of food for our son. The pool had kiddie hours which was wonderful, although we had fine outdoor weather - this type of amenity would be a year-round draw for families. While this type of hotel was a splurge for us, we would highly recommend it for families looking to relax along the seaside and enjoy being pampered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

First the plus points, the spa & food were good but that's the least we expected for the price we paid...What a disappointment for the amount charged, our family room in the captains cabin was riddled with damp! This was not something that had just happened as the level of damp & smell was so severe that this was clearly an ongoing problem that they must have known about. The stains were all over the back wall by the adults bed. They MUST have known about this. On complaining reception about this we were told " they'd send somebody over"... They never arrived. Despite complaining again nobody seemed interested & we didn't get to speak to management untill we refused to pay the full amount when checking out. In fairness to the manageress she agreed this was unacceptable & knocked 50% off our room charge. Reception staff seemed incapable with dealing with basic requests apart from the damp complaints they also failed to deal with requests for extra cups for the room (3 mugs for 4 people!) & robes for the spa/pool. I would advise people to look elsewhere in Falmouth as this place is vastly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've just returned from a 2 night weekend stay in this hotel. Beautiful to look at staff extremely friendly however no air conditioning. Given the price you pay I would of thought it would of been provided. All that was in our large room was a small desk top fan that just wasn't enough, I did request a bigger fan due to me being 6 mths pregnant but they couldn't accommodate my request.This meant 2 nights of no sleep due to the heat in the room. This took the shine off the hotel completely for me. I would recommend St Michaels but not in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A birthday treat for my partner, July 23-25th , fabulous room , nautical decor , very fresh and clean, good sized roof terrace with comfortable lounge chairs and table, accessed via French doors . The weather was brilliant so this got a lot of use. Excellent views of the coastline and surrounding area.
Beds were really comfortable , probably the best I've slept in around Europe! Cleaning service was of an exceptional high standard.
Nice selection of teas/coffee/ hot chocolate .
Service was excellent , one small incident with the bathroom towel rail, this was resolved immediately and a new one installed while we were out the next day, complimentary champagne to
apologise for the inconvenience nice touch.
Staff very friendly , nothing too much trouble , food excellent , lovely bar area and external roof terrace off the bar.
Spa excellent good sized pool. I will return and highly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 15 with a roof terrace- good sized room with views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TALESIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From my arrival, which was a few days to visit my brother who lives and runs a great business in Falmouth, I loved St Michaels. The view from the restaurant terrace, on a sunny Sunday afternoon, would be difficult to top. Check in at reception was quick, and after a 7 hour drive, it was no trouble for me to leave my luggage at reception, they would take it to my room. Parking at the hotel was fine, good signage, but my sat nav postcode for the hotel, which is published, took me right there anyway. I stopped the car just before the turnoff to the hotel to have a look at Gyllyngvase Bay. A magic view, worth stopping for.

I was lucky to have room number 9 in the Captains House, an annexe, a few steps up from the main reception, but which had the most amazing view out over the beach and sea beyond. attention to detail in the room is worthy of remark. Nautical, but not overly overt cues in the soft furnishings, pale blue and white, someone has worked hard at this, a wickedly comfortable bed that I enjoyed for 4 nights, crisp white linen duvet, unobtrusive cleaning staff. I slept so well.

Breakfast offer great, just coffee and toast for me, but full English (or Cornish) available. I didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, so can't comment.

Room Tip: Don't know about other rooms, but whilst not cheap, if you have the chance to stay in the Captai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyQX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived as a couple on the 06/07/2014 until 14/07/2014 from the first day until the last we were made to feel at home nothing was to much troulble all of the staff are very nice and most helpful Bernnie & Barbra are very afficeient and hard working we think Bernnie could run the hotel single handed,
The food is good the room was very comfortable this is in our opinion one of the best hotels in Falmouth if not Cornwall for price quality and value for money.
This was our second time this year we have been and we hope to rebook again for september,
fantastic keep up the good work,
The only down side is parking as they have weddings and people useing the gym & spar who take up parking spaces,

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank painterman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
175 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing