We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Luxulyan, Cornwall
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent a Sunday night here to allow the oil on our wood floor to dry after it's annual treatment. This also happened to coincide with the Tall Ships race which was a brilliant sight to see. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were without exception friendly and very helpful, the food was lovely and we enjoyed our swim and the jacuzzi in the spa where there were lots of helpful touches such as the spinner for wet costumes, the hair dryers and even hair straighteners. When we were shown to our original room, there was a low pitched humming noise from outside which my husband found very irritating so we went to reception where they were so helpful and they moved us to another room. The evening meal was lovely, our only slight criticism was that the service was rather slow at first but it did speed up as the evening went on. (I think we chose a busy time to eat). Breakfast was excellent too. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    365
    151
    90
    43
See reviews for
245
611
65
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was the second time my partner and I have stayed at this hotel our previous visit was June 2014. The hotel is expensive compared with other hotels in Falmouth. The other hotel worth considering is the Green bank which is a better hotel all-round but lacks a swimming pool and indoor spa. The indoor swimming pool is a great place when looking after the grandchildren. The pool does become crowded particularly will casual users on a pay as you go basis. The hotel staff are mainly young and poorly trained lacking at times the necessary supervision. Service, like the curate's egg is good in parts. The more mature staff members understand the required service levels, but at times the more junior staff may be seen as less than helpful.
We wished to be in Falmouth for the tall ships regatta and were offered a room at the end of our June 2014 stay at £340/ night, we were given no details and the room was on a "pay now" take it or leave it basis. It transpired the room was in something called the Captain's house, a small house some 50 yards walk from the hotel reception area, fine if it is not raining.
When we stayed in June the room had been booked through "booking.com" and after a detailed complaint we were "upgraded" to a larger room, in our opinion slightly better value for money.
This time we avoided the dining room or ordering food beyond breakfast as food and meals ordered within the hotel in June 2014 was less than successful or enjoyable. A simple example, a family meal 8-10 people, ordered wine with the meal which after 20minutes and much discussion with the waiting staff arrived but much to the astonishment of the staff we also wanted glasses to drink from.
The hotel represents poor value for money but lacks any serious competition at that end of town. Unless you really want to use the spa as an adjunct to the hotel then actively consider other hotels.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. On average rooms within the hotel are small and lack any obvious views. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and each time enjoyed it. Its a very relaxing place and comfortable for a woman to stay on her own. The staff are mostly young and very polite and want to help you, some of the reviews I have read that say about rude staff and bad restaurant food I feel as though I am reading about another hotel. The food has always been good and the breakfast is very plentiful with a small menu card on the table for any extra´s.

On my last visit my family had some rooms booked but due to sad circumstances the hotel allowed us to change dates at short notice and at no extra charge which we were very grateful for and appreciate their kind understanding

The hotel is a short walk from the beach and about a 10 min walk into town. Regret to say parking can be difficult but spaces are usually nearby in the road. I have not used the spa so unable to comment on that but recommend everything else about the hotel. As for the seagulls, well you are by the coast so you have to put up with them as annoying as they are

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Superb breakfast. Nice rooms 33 had its own patio with heat lamp. Breakfast superb. James a diamond although he does need a stripey sailors t shirt like the girls wear on reception. Lovely staff.... cool chic hotel

Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CatmanPoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This 4 day break was booked 11 months in advance, and we requested room 11 with a large balcony/veranda as my daughter, and 2 grandchildren were staying nearby and we wanted to use the large balcony for a family celebration. We checked 2/3 days before we were due to arrive that room 11 had still been allocated to us and we were told it was by Isobel one of the Duty Managers and notes had been made at reception so that all staff were aware of the request.

When we arrived we were told that another room had been allocated to us by a male receptionist, and when we pointed out that notes had been made so that room 11 would be ours, he said no notes had been made and that he would see if another room was available, however it wasn't.

This receptionist made us feel as if we were lying about the notes and was intransigent to our request etc. He did not offer any realistic alternative nor did he want to check with the duty manager. Later in the conversation he told us that Isobel the duty manager would be there later that day. We met Isobel (duty manager) and she told us notes had been made for all to see and that she could not believe the receptionist had ignored the notes.

Although she could not move the people in room 11 for us she offered compensation to which we reluctantly agreed. Let me say Isobel dealt with us with respect and professionalism, which I have to say the original male receptionist did not.

All other staff in hotel were really good, and if it wasn't for the receptionist we would probably book again, however we now would not, as we can't trust that the hotel will honour any confirmed requests etc. We were so disappointed with how we were originally treated on arrival that we checked out a day early, and we won't be back.

I feel that the owner Nigel [---] should know the hotel employs staff who don't seem to care.

Room Tip: Hotel won't honour room request so don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for your review, we genuinely appreciate all feedback from our guests.

I am aware of this situation and the issues that occurred during your stay. I can only apologise, this is not the service we pride ourselves on. We often have guests that request specific rooms and we are always happy to do this. I understand this is no consolation but we do not normally experience these issues.

I have looked into this fully and it is simply down to a new member of staff not understanding this aspect of reservations that allowed this to happen. This Receptionist is extremely upset that he has caused this situation and even more upset that you have felt that he was not sorry and did not care, this is not the case.

I can assure you we have taken steps to ensure that all Reservations and Receptions staff are fully trained and all understand the procedure for honouring room requirements, this has not happened since and will not happen again.

Once again I am so sorry that you did not get to enjoy your stay in the room you wanted, I appreciate you may not wish to return but if you would like to, I would be more than happy to promise you room 11.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently attended a wedding reception at this venue, all the staff were very welcoming and accomodating for my two young children. Nothing was too much trouble and staff were always offering assistance and wore constant smiles throughout the event. Thank you for such a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
A lovely review, thank you very much for taking the time. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the day and I do hope the weather was kind!

I hope we are able to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent stay at this fine hotel. Great staff and service for our summer tour of Cornwall.
When we needed specifics and flexibility the staff could not of been more helpful.
The bar staff were extremely professional and friendly.
The Spa staff were first class
Small concern for the check-in process where you feel talked at, but aside from this, all good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy most of our facilities. I hope the rest of your Cornwall holiday was as enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing