We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for visiting Cornwall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmere Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good base for visiting Cornwall”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over a (wet) bank holiday weekend. The main reason for choosing the hotel was the indoor pool and that we would be able to walk into Falmouth town centre which is about a mile away.
The pool, jacuzzi and sauna area are great. Yes, the paintwork is a bit shabby in areas, but it is generally very clean and the water temperatures are perfect. Well done to the management. I've used indoor pools in similar hotels elsewhere and they have so much chlorine in the water that your eyes sting when you swim - not so here!
Our room (a garden room, number 12) was very spacious and was great for us with our dog. Again, it was very clean and well kept (the hotel cannot be faulted when it comes to housekeeping). The decor is plain which is a shame as (with better decor) this hotel could be exceptional.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and it was (generally) very good. The "full English" was as good as I've had elsewhere and I usually measure breakfast by the quality of sausage which, in this case, was better than average. No "Richmond" frozen sausages here.
Unfortunately, my partner had smoked haddock one morning and this was very overcooked which was a shame as it was a good piece of fish. On other mornings she ordered scrambled eggs which were very good and the portion was huge. The downside of breakfast was the bread used for toast which was very basic cheap bread. I'm sure a better quality bread would not cost much more but would compliment the breakfast better.
All the staff were polite and friendly.
Would I stay here again? Yes, especially in the summer months when the outdoor pool area would be very inviting.
Tip: if eating in town, visit the Chain Locker pub - excellent food and very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    111
    50
    17
    9
See reviews for
65
96
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Took an overnight stop in falmouth with the dog after picking up a couple of kayaks locally for the summer..We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was airy and comfortable and had access to a small terrace., garden and wooded walks for Jack !..Service was great the food was good and the the spa invigorating..Well recommended . Might take a week later on in the year as this proved to be a nice relaxing stay..

Room Tip: Get a garden room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed here 4 days in April on business and found it to be a very relaxing place. I had a large double room overlooking extensive grounds in the garden wing of the hotel.
The breakfast was not included but as always I upgraded, and although not exactly cheap, it was delicious, as was the bar food. I did not eat in the restaurant, but the food in the bar was a subset of the same menu so assume it was as good.
The fitness room is in need of a little updating, but the pool and jacuzzi are great.
I had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed and the room had a flat screen tv and tea and coffee facilities, as well as free wi-fi.
The location is quiet and good for commuting into both Truro centre (10 miles) and Falmouth (3 miles).

Room Tip: Garden wing if you can. Room 27 is enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I was here for 4 days for work. If I was on holiday, I probably would have switched hotels as there are some strange issues here.

First, the positive:
Cooked breakfast is ace, one of the best I have had in a hotel. Quite expensive, but on a work tab so ok.
Staff are friendly, efficient and pleasant.

Needs work:
Overall, everything in this hotel is faded, dated and creaky. There is a nice gym, but all the weights and machines are covered in rust! This could get dangerous.
The pool and jacuzzi are lovely, but the ceiling is mouldy and flaking and the windows are mouldy and streaky.
Room 28 where I stayed is depressingly dated, with olive green carpets, it's like something out of "rising damp!"
Lobby area: great for relaxing on the many couches, but there is a computer till in the corner which makes a horrendous whine constantly, and it cannot be switched off apparently? Why have a relaxing lobby area yet have this racket going? Sort it out!
Dance music playing in the breakfast room. Really? Think this was more for the staff as the clientele are mostly old people.

Overall, everything is kept very clean and the housekeeping do a great job, but this place really needs a cash injection.

If I had paid to stay here myself, I would be well annoyed!

Room Tip: AVOID room 28. It is dark, depressing and above the kitchen which you can hear late at night and ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We decided to spend our 41st wedding anniversary at the Penmere Manor as this was the closest Best Western Hotel locally. We wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful with nice gardens and good facilities.A very pleasant young lady greeted us on arrival and explained all the usual information we were allocated room 24 with a garden view. The room was spotless but the decor was a little tired/outdated, the room benefited from a settee and arm chair which was ideal as I had ordered Champagne in our room for our arrival , so we were able to enjoy a glass of bubbly in comfort. We enjoyed a pleasant dining experience in the evening with good food and wine , the staff were very pleasant and polite and we would stay here again.Overall our stay was good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room as our had a settee and arm chair lovely to be able to relax in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have been staying at Penmere Manor regularly for a few years now and have always enjoyed the facilities it has to offer. Our most recent visit during early March was no exception but it is becoming clear that it is starting to creak around the edges a bit. The main building has some wonderful original features and the lounge area is full of comfortable sofas, and armchairs. But alas wear and tear on the fixtures and fittings is beginning to show in many of the other areas. It would be churlish to nitpick everything that needs attention since most guests staying for just one night would probably not have the time or inclination notice them; but be assured they are many and varied!
If you like space it would be prudent to opt for the extra expense of a garden room which have small a sofa and armchair plus fridge and trouser press.
Regardless of any shortfalls that were evident on previous visits the hotel's one saving grace was the restaurant food which hitherto has always been excellent. However recent changes to the menu have, in our opinion, been to the detriment of what is on offer which certainly had a material effect on our visit this time. To be fair the staff did their level best to accommodate our wishes but even so the restaurant is just not the same pleasurable experience that it was. We hope that this is only a temporary blip because the restaurant food was always our main reason for visiting the hotel. Nevertheless the bar food is well presented and offers a good selection at reasonable prices.

Finally must not forget the staff who are very pleasant and always willing to help where they can.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and opt for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights 22nd/23rd February and were pleasantly surprised after reading some negative reviews. Yes the hotel could probably do with a refurbishment but we stayed in room 41, which, although not massive, was adequate for our stay. We had a comfortable zip-linked Queen-sized bed with clean cotton sheets. The bathroom was again small but a nice hot towel rail kept the clean white fluffy towels warm (and us). The bedroom was also warm with extra blankets available if we needed them. Breakfast was quite adequate, with cereals, toast and a choice of cooked breakfasts and the staff were both friendly and helpful. We found the hotel to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RwEw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmere Manor Hotel

Property: Penmere Manor Hotel
Address: Mongleath Road, Falmouth TR11 4PN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling, vibrant and cosmopolitan town of Falmouth lies the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor Hotel, situated in 4 acres of gardens and woodlands approximately 1 mile from the historic port of Falmouth, the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor is an oasis of tranquillity and calm, a home away from home for many of our guests, who get away from it all for regular frequent visits. A charming manor house set amidst beautiful gardens, this Georgian house has been elegantly maintained to retain its charming elegance. The comfort of guests and feeling of welcome is paramount; the Moore family along with their friendly staff offer you a very warm welcome. Each of the 37 en suite bedrooms are well appointed, have free Wi-Fi, the latest flat screen digital TVs, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penmere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth
Best Western Falmouth
Best Western Hotel Falmouth
Falmouth Best Western
Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing