We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penmere Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times before over a period of ten years, and in our opinion the standard has always been excellent and has never deteriorated.The quality of the food is also excellent. Penmere is well situated. It is not very close to the town but within easy reach. and if you are relatively fit it isn't far to walk to Falmouth town and beaches. Penmere Manor is surrounded by beautiful gardens and is very quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    110
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
64
95
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent Hotel very good staff .Rooms very clean and comfortable .Excellent WiFi. Set in nice grounds and very quiet Good food plenty of choice at breakfast Beds very comfortable CarPark needs to be resurfaced

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

A three day trip business to Cornwall, with two colleagues, found us staying at the Penmere Manor in Falmouth.

The hotel is typically "Best Western" in that it comprises and older manor house where the bar and restaurant etc are located, with additional bedroom wings that have been tastefully added onto the building for accommodation.

The rooms were a good size. My colleagues had a view to the rear but my room faced out the front and I could just see the sea on the horizon. The bathroom had a full sized bath with a shower over this. It did have a shower curtain which I'm not fond of, but there was plenty of hot water and fluffy towels on hand throughout my stay.

The lounge area has lovely soft furnishings, but sadly they do not light the fire which would make this area so much more inviting. I understand why, with the soft furnishings, but they may consider a gas flame effect fire that would complete this amazing space.

Breakfast was great, with a cold buffet and hot items cooked to order. Excellent quality items, with what appeared to be a local speciality sausage and thick cut bacon available. My poached eggs each day at breakfast were soft cooked just as I had asked.

The staff throughout our stay were very helpful. There is a small fridge under the stairs which is stocked with cold water and an honesty system to record what you have taken. At 50p per bottole this is an excellent idea and I would like to see more hotels offering this type of service.

There were two minor items during my stay, neither of which were of any great significance. I never had time to watch TV, but nor did I ever find the TV remote in my room either. On arrival my bedside clock was flashing 12:00, so i turned this off at the wall rather than attempt to set the time. It is the little details that matter, and I would have expected the last one not to be an issue - maybe the TV remote was there and I didn't look hard enough to find it?

Sadly due to business obligations we didn't get to use the pool or other leisure facilities on this occasion. These are accessed directly from the hotel (no need to go outside) and looked really inviting.

If I come back this way I will certainly stay at the Penmere Manor again and hopefully get to use the leisure facilities next time.

Room Tip: Facing the front with a sea view upstairs is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CISSP_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent hotel, super rooms, very enjoyable stay! Would have no qualms about recommending this hotel or returning. Will definately return if in the vicinity. The only negative comments I could make are the pillows were too hard, the breakfast sausage was not the best and there were no baked beans!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank greeksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

After finding this place as the approach is quite confusing, I ended up in the car park of a public house next door as you need to drive up a one way street and complete a U turn halfway up to gain access to the car park. On first glances this is a very pretty old building with lots of character, lovely grounds, although being the early part of January in the middle of a blustery gale and heavy rainfall meant my glasses where steamed up and splattered with water globules. I walked into a most impressive reception hall with what would be great views in warmer and clearer weather. Waiting at the desk to check in, the reception was empty and so was the office behind. I tried using the bell left on the desk to gain someone’s attention, but it didn’t work and so had to wait until someone came through from the bar area, Not a problem and if I was in a hurry I could have gone looking for someone, I wasn’t and so decided to wait.

I was staying in a single room as my wife couldn’t join me in my journey to take my daughter back to University, The room as adequate for a single traveller, all on suite with a shower and lashings of hot water provided through an electric shower. The wash hand basin was quite small and made using it an adventure although usable. Plenty of local information provided by an array of booklets, brochures and a rather impressive hotel guide. The hotel boasts of a gym, sauna and two pools one of which was not in use as it was out-door. The gym was small and compact equipped with one X trainer, Running Machine and a variety of free weights and lifting equipment, Quite suitable, however if more than three people using the equipment would prove friendly. The sauna was very good although again quite compact but was working well and hot. The indoor pool, an odd shape, but practical and they had a Jacuzzi spa too. In the lounge was a roaring log fire, which added a nice homely feel to the place, which was very comfortable and the hotel itself spacious. Plenty of comfortable sofas to relax on and a Grand Piano too. The separate bar area allowed for any noise to be kept away from this nice relaxing area, although was open plan to the restaurant. The open fire was really nice, however they seem to have some issues with the air flow as upstairs before you go through the fire doors to the corridors a smell of smoke was quite alarming, especially if you have any breathing issues, at first it smelt nice and old fashioned and homely, but after a while seemed to sit on my chest. Thankfully when in the corridors and the room you could not detect anything.

Breakfast the next morning was a buffet style for the continental selection of fresh fruit, apples oranges etc, no bananas, yogurts, only strawberry, tinned fruit, pineapple prunes, bread rolls, not to be found, ham and cheeses were also absent. The hot breakfast was waiter serviced the Full English: 1 Bacon, bit over cooked, 1 Sausage, very nice I think it was Cumberland, 1 Egg, I had mine poached but it was underdone, only slightly and I appreciate that getting an poached egg 100% right is a skill. 1 half a Tomato, Hash Browns, only 1 and a handful of mushrooms. The food arrived hot and was OK and i was offered toast and two slices duly arrived. The service for a Sunday morning was a bit slow but that was OK. While I was finishing off my breakfast a large party arrived at the same time for breakfast, it appeared that they had booked a private function the night before, the waiting staff were assisted by the manager as they all seemed eager to please, and I overheard him offering a number of options not on the menu such as, how many bacon slices would you like, would you like baked beans with your breakfast, how many eggs would you like. I know that if I wanted extras I could have requested and I am sure they would have been happy to fulfil them; however, I was not offered them to refuse.

Overall it was lovely building and setting, nothing to get really excited about, nice atmosphere with the real log fire, without that it would have been very dreary as there was NO atmosphere. Breakfast nothing to write home about, pleasant, well cooked, tasty and hot. The gym and pool were small and compact but otherwise clean and well cared for. The bed was comfortable. I am sure the food in the evening was of a good standard but I never had any meals, the bar menu was a little short on its offerings, however, I am sure that in high season in the summer months, there would be more choice available.

Would I stay again: Probably not, although there was nothing really wrong

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed two nights over new year and booked three garden rooms, stayed here in 2010 and had a good time but this year was even better. The rooms had been recently refurbished and finished to a high standard with comfortable furniture and beds, the bathroom was very tidy and had a separate shower and bath. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The food on both nights was excellent with a great choice, the breakfast also was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Falmouth area

Room Tip: For a very small extra payment I would recommend the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpygramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmere Manor Hotel

Property: Penmere Manor Hotel
Address: Mongleath Road, Falmouth TR11 4PN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling, vibrant and cosmopolitan town of Falmouth lies the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor Hotel, situated in 4 acres of gardens and woodlands approximately 1 mile from the historic port of Falmouth, the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor is an oasis of tranquillity and calm, a home away from home for many of our guests, who get away from it all for regular frequent visits. A charming manor house set amidst beautiful gardens, this Georgian house has been elegantly maintained to retain its charming elegance. The comfort of guests and feeling of welcome is paramount; the Moore family along with their friendly staff offer you a very warm welcome. Each of the 37 en suite bedrooms are well appointed, have free Wi-Fi, the latest flat screen digital TVs, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penmere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth
Best Western Falmouth
Best Western Hotel Falmouth
Falmouth Best Western
Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing