We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmere Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our first visit to Penmere Manor was very pleasant. Our room was warm and comfortable with nice views over the gardens. The food was good, the staff excellent and we made good use of the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsday_utd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from our third stay here. The staff are really excellent - very helpful and actually engage in conversations rather than just meaningless pleasantries. We stayed in Room 10 - one of the three dog friendly garden rooms - and it had just been refurbished. These rooms are a very good size and open directly on to the garden. The rooms are pleasantly decorated and equipped. The hotel is in a good location a few minutes from the main roads in Falmouth and 5 minutes drive from Pendennis castle and the beaches.
To make it even better I would like:
Decent speed internet - although it's free it is diabolically slow. This may be the line going in to the property or possibly the way bandwith is allocated to each area.
Security - being a paranoid urbanite I find it strange that the doors to the guest areas don't have any sort of security on them.
Art - there are plenty of tasteful pictures around but they are all Mediterranean scenes - local Cornish art would be nice.
These are minor points though - the hotel is in a great setting with extremely hospitable staff. We'll certainly return.

Room Tip: There are 3 garden rooms designed for guests with pets - these are large rooms away from the main bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Slightly disconcerting on arrival with reception desk closed. Followed the instructions to go to the bar to check-in to find no-one there either! Having hung around looking for anyone to talk to I eventually had to go into the kitchens - with all my luggage - to find someone who could book me in. So very disappointing introduction to the hotel.

The room however was fine - nice size, clean and well decorated with a good bathroom. Breakfast was actually rather good - but more for the food than the service, which was very friendly but very disorganised.

All in all OK for the one night I stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed with work in 2013. Very friendly staff happy to help out and welcoming.
Location is good, tucked out the way a little, but not far to the town. Hotel is nice, bar and meeting rooms were very good, as were the gym and swimming pool.
The food was very reasonably priced and good quality.
My ground floor room smelt of and felt a little damp, its an issue in old places I guess, but it took the edge of the stay a little.

Would however stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moscar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank samoyed123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Really nice weekend - garden rooms very spacious and blissfully quiet. Hotel location not ideal - about 30 - 40 mins walk into centre and quite hill, but hotel quality and service excellent and added bonus of small but adequate pool and gym. Food is of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel on business many years ago and wasn't disappointed returning. Very good staff running this hotel and the service in the bar and restaurant was second to none. The food was excellent too. Best fish eaten in a very long time! The restaurant also catered for our gluten free diet. So nice to have toast for breakfast! Would recommend and looking forward to returning later thus year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,187 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
3.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmere Manor Hotel

Address: Mongleath Road, Falmouth TR11 4PN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: £65 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling, vibrant and cosmopolitan town of Falmouth lies the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor Hotel, situated in 4 acres of gardens and woodlands approximately 1 mile from the historic port of Falmouth, the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor is an oasis of tranquillity and calm, a home away from home for many of our guests, who get away from it all for regular frequent visits. A charming manor house set amidst beautiful gardens, this Georgian house has been elegantly maintained to retain its charming elegance. The comfort of guests and feeling of welcome is paramount; the Moore family along with their friendly staff offer you a very warm welcome. Each of the 37 en suite bedrooms are well appointed, have free Wi-Fi, the latest flat screen digital TVs, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Penmere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth
Best Western Falmouth
Best Western Hotel Falmouth
Falmouth Best Western
Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing