We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff party”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff party”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Attended the Green Lawns Hotel last night for our staff christmas party. Was curious as it has recently changed hands. Well, where shall I start! The company was excellent which was just as well, there was a good selection of courses on the menu, I chose to start with a chicken liver pate followed by sirloin steak with peppered sauce and finishing off with fresh fruit salad.
The pate was very nice and a generous portion but for some reason they thought a piece of bread the size of a 'dipping soldier' would be enough! On to the next course, I must say the sirloin steak was very nice considering the amount they had to cook but unfortunately it was more of a 'minute' steak than a sirloin steak, the sauce was also quite watery. The fruit salad was awful, they should take the word 'fresh' off the menu! The apples were soft and spongy and the pear was so ripe in disintegrated in your mouth and left nothing but the peel behind.
Very disappointed. The staff were careless and tended to throw things in front of you rather than place them. Will definately think twice in going back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ang190254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    119
    74
    33
    33
See reviews for
119
192
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Service and quality were excellent. We would highly recommend. The view over the bay was wonderful to wake up to. The staff were welcoming and most helpful. The best room we have stayed in to date. Plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed over a weekend for a family event and were very pleased. Modern, clean rooms, friendly owners, lovely grounds. Restaurant was fantastic and swimming pool and jacuzzi a real bonus.

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuitcaseLivingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We booked it as our honeymoon for 2 nights-we were given a free upgrade to a beautiful room with sea views and a spa bath! We had our 18 month old daughter with us and the staff where great with her, the spa and swimming pool where Childs friendly, while still being relaxing. The service was amazing-every one friendly and the breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azrielalcaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawngreen, General Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences; and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

You are always welcome here at the Green Lawns Hotel and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards
Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

The room was less than satisfactory. Bathroom/en suite was filthy. Used soap, room in need of renovation! Payed for a double room, was pleasantly suprised to see such a large bed, only to find that it was two single beds pushed together.
Good hospitality though, pleasant staff & the food was average. The balcony with a sea view had no sea view as trees were blocking. Dissapointed, such a lovely building

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smokey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Booked this hotel by recommendation. Everything was great, couldn't have wished for a
better hotel or staff. Cant wait for a return visit. If you plan to stay in Falmouth, you will be
hard pressed to find anything to rival it. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay with the family (2 children under 3). All staff very friendly and attentive- nothing seemed too much trouble and were child friendly. Food and service excellent. Facilities, including pool and garden also well received by family. Room very good size to fit all of us in- only downside was the slightly dated bathroom. Otherwise, would recommend to other families wishing to stay in Falmouth for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Property: Merchants Manor
Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing