We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Improvement & hopefully more to come!”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Great Improvement & hopefully more to come!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Having stayed here several times over the last 30+ years including our honeymoon. In recent years we have slowly watched this wonderful hotel get more and more tired. On arrival, we entered the front door to an empty reception area. A few moments later, without a word a gentleman appeared and walked past us without a brief hello or welcoming smile. He then entered the reception desk area, still without expression and took our details. We were asked if we would like help with our bags, but didn't accept as we were only staying for one night and didn't have a great deal to carry. A warmer welcome would have been much nicer. Our visit saw some great improvements. The lovely new decor downstairs in the public areas has a much more updated and welcome feel. Our room was nicely decorated with new carpet and curtains, a nice sized dressing table come desk and appeared to be nicely cleaned. A good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate was available in the room? One thing that let this lovely room down was a very tired and faded sofa . The bathroom, on first glance seemed clean, but looking closer there were a couple of hairs in the bath and the bath taps needed a good clean around the base. This wasn't major, but shouldn't be there. There were some very nice complimentary toiletries available if required. The towels were wonderfully white and fresh and plenty if them. the bedlinen was beautifully laundered white cotton. it was great to see that the old bedspreads had been disposed of and just a clean white fresh duvet spread across the bed. The room, being a deluxe double has patio doors onto a balcony. It wasn't the most scenic outlook, but did give somewhere to sit in the fresh air on a warmer day. On arrival for dinner we were served an excellent meal. The food was served efficiently by excellent and attentive waiting staff. This was piping hot and to a very high standard. The vegetables were cooked to perfection and plenty of them, probably a few too many. It was probably the best meal for several years. The main meal was followed by an equally excellent chocolate pyramid pudding, my choice and really delicious. These waiters continued to work extremely hard throughout the evening and nothing was too much trouble.The next morning we arrived for breakfast and were given a warm welcome. A wonderful selection of cold breakfast was displayed on a central table and looked wonderful. On a separate table a toaster was available to help yourself. After placing my bread selection in the toaster, the waitress very kindly said she would bring it to our table. Both of us chose the Cornish breakfast and waited eagerly for it's arrival. What a disappointment! It wasn't very hot. The bacon looked like it had been boiled and the sausage was just a herby version of a supermarket sausage. Understandably, you can't please everyone with the way the bacon is cooked, but it was so pale and unappetising. My egg had been cooked, but was so runny, it was almost raw on top. Certainly not what I expected from a Cornish breakfast. Ketchup was served if required from a bottle, not a more hygienic sachet. What a difference from our evening meal the night before, so much improvement needed here. With so much wonderful local produce available around here, this breakfast could have been amazing. It's the one thing I look forward to in an overnight stay at a hotel, is having a high quality cooked breakfast served to me instead if cooking it myself. Unfortunately, I really didn't enjoy this poorly cooked breakfast. Apart from this, which I'm sure can be improved, all in all we had a good stay. Just a little attention needed to some minor details. We will be back next year and hope we will be served a hot proper Cornish breakfast. Well done to the new owners for the many improvements so far.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tremearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    122
    76
    33
    33
See reviews for
119
199
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Green Lawns Hotel has been rebranded as Merchants Manor by the new owners (since October 2012 I believe) and the main house has gone through a major refurbishment programme. However there is a distinct lack of atmosphere in the hotel and the staff are very efficient and clinical rather than friendly and personable.

The main hotel building may very well have views over Falmouth Bay but the views from the annexe behind the main building which houses most of the rooms is very disappointing shall I say. The room was comfortable but tired - the double bed was two singles zipped together and walls could do with some sound proofing. Hair found in the bath.

The food, both dinner and breakfast, was excellent. However, I really didn’t like being herded onto a small table squeezed between two others already occupied at dinner, a format repeated at breakfast, there were no alternative tables at either meal. Service at both meals was efficient, verging on the brusque, more indication that customers stay at the hotel on the management’s terms rather than being valued and cared for.

The kitchen deserves a rating of 5 - lets hope the other departments in the hotel improve quickly.

Room Tip: You may considerer eating here rather than staying here, if you do stay try to book a room in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

A great hotel recently renovated and renamed the Merchant Manor. New ownership has brought about refreshing and subtle redecoration to the public areas, lounges and Brassserie restaurant. After a long journey, a warm welcome was received and we were allocated a nice and spacious room with a view of Falmouth and the ocean. We dined in the Brasserie on the first evening where service was attentive and the fresh fish chips to be recommended. Overall a wonderful stay and we will return.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Booked this stay through laterooms.com. Booked a classic and were given an executive room at the same £60 price(bed & breakfast) This was superb value for money. We were in a large light and airy bedroom. The bed was very large (queen size?) with top quality bedding. The room was warm quiet and spotlessly clean. We had a balcony with views across to Falmouth Bay. We had a nice comfy sofa and chairs as well to relax in . Both of us had a really good nights sleep with no disturbances. The hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment and there a was temporary reception area but this was run very efficently. The refurbishment did not affect or spoil our stay in any way. The breakfast was excellent, the porridge is the best I have ever tasted in a hotel absolutely delicious, my husband also enjoyed his cooked breakfast. I followed my porridge with two perfectly poached eggs. All the staff from Neil and Zaf to the waitresses and cleaners are friendly, helpful, efficient and caring. I was taken ill during my evening (NOTHING to do with the excellent food but on going medical problem) everyone was very kind and supportive. I was even asked next morning how I was feeling in a genuine sympathetic way and was not made to feel embarrassed in any way about feeling unwell. The dinner menu is excellent by the way with plenty of fresh local fish. We didn't try out the leisure facilities while we were there but I am sure they are very good There is an indoor swimming pool with towels supplied at reception. Plus there are beauty therapies and massage available. Fianlly the hotel is set in lovely award winning gardens. We look foward to returning in the future, this hotel has such a great atmosphere. Our thanks to everyone at the hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshlassie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Neil and his team put on a great christmas party night. Friendly staff, excellent food, great service, good music and lovely atmosphere. The evening was enjoyed by everyone in our group and we look forward to our next party there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ellanharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We attended the Christmas party evening on 22nd December with Carrick Lifeline and the Green Lawns has once again proved that it is one of the best hotels in Falmouth. Neil, Zaf and their team were excellent hosts and could not do enough for the guests.
The food was excellent - even dealing with so many meals. Pendennis brass band played beautifully while we ate.The tables were cleared efficiently, with the staff being most attentive and friendly.
The disco afterwards was brilliant and the whole evenings ambiance was capped off when they played YMCA and most of the staff, including the manager and assistant manager, performed their interpretation of the song while stood on chairs around the dance floor.
An absolutely first-class evening. Many thanks Neil - you have a good team.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob195258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Attended the Green Lawns Hotel last night for our staff christmas party. Was curious as it has recently changed hands. Well, where shall I start! The company was excellent which was just as well, there was a good selection of courses on the menu, I chose to start with a chicken liver pate followed by sirloin steak with peppered sauce and finishing off with fresh fruit salad.
The pate was very nice and a generous portion but for some reason they thought a piece of bread the size of a 'dipping soldier' would be enough! On to the next course, I must say the sirloin steak was very nice considering the amount they had to cook but unfortunately it was more of a 'minute' steak than a sirloin steak, the sauce was also quite watery. The fruit salad was awful, they should take the word 'fresh' off the menu! The apples were soft and spongy and the pear was so ripe in disintegrated in your mouth and left nothing but the peel behind.
Very disappointed. The staff were careless and tended to throw things in front of you rather than place them. Will definately think twice in going back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ang190254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Property: Merchants Manor
Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing