We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The staff were fantastic, the food excellent and the accomodation was lovely.
The new owners of this hotel are making significant improvements to the building and its services. I have read some of the less positive reviews here and can happily refute some of the less informed comments, it takes time to rebuild what had become a rather tired and neglected building but Nick and Sioned are doing a fantastic job in a very short time.

As for our wedding reception, the service was fantastic, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the slickness of the catering/serving staff was commented on by all our guests. Last minute issues were sorted with the minimum of fuss and our children, who can be a bit difficult from time to time, were accomodated with ease.

This may sound like I'm blowing sunshine in places where it shouldn't normally be found but I can honestly say that I was so impressed that I've booked again for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a little tired but these are in the process of being upgraded which does take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDCooper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    116
    74
    32
    31
See reviews for
115
184
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Myself and my now husband held our wedding here on 19th October. Sioned and Gary were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Sioned was on hand for any last minute details and Gary ensured we had everything we wanted during the day. All of our guests - many from Birmingham were all immensely impressed with the hotel service and the building as a whole. The wedding breakfast was exquisite and the evening Buffett was out of this world. Our room, itself, room 2 was beautiful and the bed extremely comfy just what we needed after dancing the night away !!! We had a lot of decorations which needed to be kept back until we departed on the Monday and this was done with little fuss. We are booked to return for our first anniversary and cannot wait!!!

Room Tip: Old house master rooms are defiantly worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyDay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I have been using this hotel for the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. It's rather retro, which doesn't bother me, but the lack of facilities sadly lets it down. The state of the changing rooms, the size isn't too bad, there's two showers which is ok until it's filled with kids, opening the shower curtains when you're trying to wash. It has bad ventilation, mould everywhere, no keys for lockers to put your belongings away, no drinking water (I take my own), one time there was a young women in her underwear, and on more than one occasion children dive bombing the pool during hours that children aren't permitted. Children are allowed 10am-12pm and 3pm-5pm, there are no signs, you're not told this, I found out the hard way. I don't have a problem with kids, but when you pay to go swimming in hours that they're not allowed, its rather frustrating when you and others are trying to do lane swimming only to be dive bombed by kids. It's unfair, and ruins your swim, front desk weren't bothered and can't even check their security cameras because they say they don't work, but somebody took their money and let the parents and children in during hours they're not allowed. This has happened on more than one occasion to the point I've had to abandon swimming each time. There is no life guard which doesn't bother me until they're are children running and jumping in a slippery environment, when parents don't control their kids it's an issue with everyone's safety and behaviour. The hotel keeps saying they're going to get someone in but it never happens. How about starting to respect your regular and elderly customers who pay for swimming, not to be jumped all over by kids. There are signs everywhere saying no diving or bombing, there is no supervision and not really any form of apology or refund or willingness to deal with complaints. If you pay for a session in hours when children aren't permitted why are they being let in. This place has potential and its such a shame that it gets let down by errors that shouldn't exsist. Sort it out because you're letting yourself down and discouraging your regular customers from returning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Yumi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerchantsManor, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear pool user,

We have written to you three times privately so that we can spend some time with you and understand your concerns, but have had not response. It would be great if we could meet over a coffee. Just let us know when you are free?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed over a weekend incorporating a family wedding.
Nothing too much trouble for all the staff - special mention for Gary!
Execellent food both at breakfast and dinner. The wedding was very well catered for despite the lateness of the main wedding party.
Could be very picky over minor items, but won't as overall a very good experience.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinatrafan552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just had the most amazing weekend at Merchants Manor. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing, the breakfasts were hearty and siting by a roaring fire was the perfect place to enjoy a bit of afternoon tea whilst reading the papers. Our hosts went out of their way to ensure our party of 12 wanted for nothing and our children (6 in total) were made welcome and well looked after. I will certainly be returning and would happily recommend this family run, boutique hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordSov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a very bad experience here during our two night stay in August. As I spoke with the owner on leaving, he promised he would contact me when he had decided what he should do to compensate us. Heard nothing since.
We had a two night stay, desperate for a couple of nights of luxury we upgraded to a larger room inclusive of bath robes.
The room was really disappointing, whilst the public areas were really nice, the room itself was still in the 80s, a balcony yes, but nothing to look at. So, no bathrobes, we asked on three occasions for them to be put in our room, the second time the receptionist said "I asked housekeeping" in a most dismissive and uncaring manner. We also asked not to be disturbed (there were no do not disturb signs) and yet the door was knocked on twice by housekeeping. Then to add insult to injury there was "drilling" which commenced at 8.30 in the morning, as work was being undertaken on the ladies changing rooms in the pool area.
When we booked this hotel should we not have been warned that there would be work being undertaken?? The photos of the rooms do not in any way represent what the "upgraded" room looked like, the reception staff were rude to my partner, when he was just asking for items that should not have been missed in the first place. We asked over two days, and finally got the robes to use just once in the pool area (with no ladies change rooms)
On the morning when we were leaving, I paid my bill, the receptionist asked if I had enjoyed my stay, so I told her what had happened and how disappointed we were, she was concerned and asked me to stay to speak with the owner. He did come down to see me after a short wait, and said leave it with me I have you contact details and will think of what I can do. Still waiting......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DevonLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerchantsManor, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Carol,

We would be really grateful if you could respond to the email and tridavdisor mails we have been sending you. We want you to be happy and trust our gesture shows how important that is to us.

Look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel made our son's wedding day a really special occasion. They could not have done any more to make the occasion pass off stress free. They ensured that our room was ready early to enable us to change for the wedding. All the staff were efficient, polite, friendly and always helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. The wedding breakfast was lovely with plenty of well cooked and presented food. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was welcoming and well worth a second visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Property: Merchants Manor
Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merchants Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing