We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wot, no lunch!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wot, no lunch!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We thought we'd spoil ourselves and go out to lunch. Aware that the hotel had undergone a recent refurbishment we called to reserve a table. On our arrival we were directed to the restaurant and were surprised to find it unoccupied even though it was 1.00. We were seated at a fully laid table and given one menu. I write menu but in fact it was a small folded piece of card detailing a selection of sandwiches. I told the waiter that we actually wanted lunch as opposed to sandwiches, to which he replied that was all that they served at lunch times. I asked if that was the case, then why had we been seated at a table which was fully laid for a three course meal? He said that when we had ordered our sandwiches the cutlery and wine glasses would all be removed? Dooooooh!
Correct me if I'm on the wrong track here but surely when we originally called to make our table reservation the receptionist should have had the were with all to advise that only snacks were served at lunch times and not 'lunch' in the accepted terms? It was a great disappointment and no wonder it was empty. Needless to say we didn't, and neither were we encouraged to stay. Instead, we had a very agreeable lunch at st michaels.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shashvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    116
    74
    32
    31
See reviews for
113
184
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel whilst working away on business and found it to be of a nice standard however the hotel was in the middle of being redecorated and I was placed in the ''old side'' in which the showers did not work properly and I would describe the water pressure as a dribble. I was also a little disappointed with the spa area in that it was very old fashioned and is probably on their to-do list of redecorating! Overall the breakfast was lovely and apart from the weak shower, the room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. I also found the hotel to be very quite and I had an excellent night's sleep.

Room Tip: ask to be put in a room on the ground floor - the showers are better and rooms more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a family gathering, and didn't use the pool which was a shame.
Overall found the staff to be very helpful and attentive and the hotel thoughtfully managed. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished at the moment, but our room was clean and comfortable. Thought the evening meal and breakfast we had was lovely and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the Merchants Manor as unfortunately the previous hotel we stayed at in Falmouth was unavailable.

I was looking forward to staying at the manor, particularly for the pool and spa. Unfortunately, the spa is out of action at the moment and the pool facilities were very dated....

The room was fine and the bed comfortable, however it must be said that there were some niggles.

1. The shower was terrible! This was said to be down to their water pressure system? However, the shower was underpowered and like a dribble - not a great experience.
2. I question how thoroughly the room had been maintained/cleaned as I had one pillow with a pillow cover and three without? I made sure to sleep with the one with!
3. Didn't get to experience the gym as I believe someone may have had an accident when I came down here early in the morning. However, I was quite rudely sent away from here (whilst I was oblivious to the situation) which wasn't really appreciated.

Overall I can't say I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My friend and I went to visit the hotel for a swim and some lunch one afternoon, when we arrived we didn't have a very warm friendly welcome by the receptionist which made me feel slightly uneasy to start with. We then found our way to the swimming pool which we were do shocked at, it was very dated considering the rest of the hotel is lovely. We found it to be very dirty especially the very small change rooms with small lockers that locked and wouldn't open!!!!!! The hair dryer again dated and you couldn't use too long as it got too hot!! I did mention this to the receptionist who said the lockers were being sorted! I would recommend spending some money on the pool and change rooms then maybe it wouldn't let the hotel down!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Merchants Manor in January. The hotel was in a very convenient location and the service we received was excellent. The staff were so very friendly, the room was excellent and the breakfasts were superb. We would definitely stay there again should we venture down to that part of Cornwall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stansfieldpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Roast Beef with Yorkshire puddings and vegatables WOW! this was probably the best ever roast beef I have ever eaten, perfectly cooked, pink in the middle, tender and juicy we all eat in blissful silence with the occasional uuummmm. Highly reccomend the roast.
The service was fantastic, the whole place was clean and fresh, it has had an amazing make over.
Some of my friends were staying and said the breakfast was very good and the rooms were very comfortable. Well done to the management and staff. Brilliant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GweekLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Property: Merchants Manor
Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merchants Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing