We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in lovely surroundings in Falmouth.”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arriving with a tour group, although we had no room booked on arrival (Hotel's mistake) all was quickly sorted by a very nice and helpful receptionist, and immediate concerns were quickly dispelled. Our room was clean, spacious and typical of hotel rooms elsewhere in the country. The bar was well stocked but like most hotels expensive, but the gardens we retired to, to drink our beer were extremely pleasant and well kept. Our meals were very good both in the evening and at breakfast helped by excellent staff who pandered to our every needs. Special mention here for Pat, a very good waitress and typical of all the staff at the hotel. Judging by the numerous functions they have at the hotel it is popular with the locals and quite rightly so. Anybody finding themselves down in Cornwall and looking for a place to stay should give the Manor a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fordhamfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Merchants Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

The old and original manor house is very stately, elegant and tastefully restored and decorated with several sitting rooms, dining area, bar etc. We were staying here in Falmouth as part of the itinerary of Back Roads Touring Company Corners of Cornwall Tour for three nights. Our room was at the back in a functional "motel" type of extension that looked directly onto an old well worn roof, probably the swimming pool roof. Not the most desirable view for a hilltop location at a site with beautiful gardens. We reported a toilet that wouldn't flush on a couple of occasions. Otherwise the room was large with plenty of storage if you did want to pack the suitcases away.

We had one dinner included at the hotel; unfortunately, as a member of a very small tour group ( six plus driver) we were asked to tick boxes on a printed menu when we first checked in. I guess this is done to either be efficient in service or to manage the budget for the tour company. Personally, I would be more comfortable with a personalized menu at the table at the time I was to eat rather than this institutional procedure. It also would have provided opportunities to clarify elements of the menu and for us to realize that bread and vegetables were an additional cost ! Oh dear ! The bar food that we ordered on other occasions was very tasty and the breakfasts were excellent. The staff in both these areas were very friendly and provided good service. We did not use the pool. The spa was not operating.

Our itinerary included a free day and without transport, we found we could walk easily to the beaches, the Castle, the Maritime Museum and the Princess Pavilion although the return trip included an uphill walk. I understand that there was a bus quite nearby that we could have accessed.

This was a comfortable hotel in which to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a lovely hotel, where nothing is too much trouble. We slept like logs every night in this hotel and that was a first.The beds are so comfortable. Every single member of staff was happy to help. You could tell that they enjoyed working there and we could feel it. We were on a coach trip and not sure what to expect, but there was nothing to worry about. Just remember that they are happy to help and if you do not see what you want, ask and they'll probably have it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegiffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

the hotel is wonderful!
i had my wedding held here last year and couldn't ask for more the layout was amazing!! and nothing was a worry with them.
The food was out of this world and the bedrooms where so comfy, welcoming and relaxing.
The staff were so helpful and friendly and also there if you need anything.
Would highly recommend to any one and just spend our first year anniversary here which was amazing too.
will be returning for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After much deliberation, we chose the MM for the venue for our wedding for May 2014. Although we were never totally sure the planning was going the way we wanted, as the event grew nearer, the team at MM were incredibly helpful and professional, and final meetings in the final week really set our mind at rest.
Some issues were found regarding booking of rooms for guests, but these were resolved as soon as we raised any issue with MM.
As for the wedding day itself, we were treated to the best day of our lives. All staff were incredibly attentitive to us, with the Maitre D' at our service for the whole weekend. All guests were treated with the utmost respect and the hotel hit the relaxed but magical day we wanted. The food was exquisite, the attention to detail was superb, and we cannot rate the MM highly enough. We were able to offer guests a three way choice for the wedding breakfast menu, and also chose a mid range buffet for the evening disco. The buffet was enough to feed possibly double the number of guests, and was traditional buffet food, but superbly cooked, and all homemade.
As it was a Naval wedding, we were particularly impressed with the level of detail to the place namecards, where they included the rank of military guests.
The only downside to the day was the weather not being suitable for too many outside photographs, but the garden at the hotel has been prepared to an exceptional standard, and the photos we did get in there were excellent.
The hotel seems to be coming to the end of a massive refurbishment, and looks really chic and classy, without any pretentiousness some hotels convey.
The honeymoon suite (room 3) is lovely and so comfortable with a rather large jacuzzi in the room, which is fun!
The following day, most of the family and friends reconvened at the MM after breakfast for copious amounts of coffee and wedding cake. Again here the staff were so attentitive and considerate, especially considering the number of bored children running around.
We both wanted a wedding that was relaxing, yet classy and tasteful, in comfortable surroundings that we felt were in keeping with our character. The MM delivered this in spades, and we are so pleased we chose here over the other two in the frame, The Alverton and Pendennis Castle.
Although not cheap, and let's face it weddings rarely are, we feel we were given superb value for money, and the work my wife put in together with the staff at MM to create an outstanding day, the day will be remembered as the best day of our lives, and I cannot thank her and the staff enough.
I have reated The Merchants Manor as "5" only because there isn't a "6".

Room Tip: Get married - choose room 3 and enjoy the jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visit falmouth regularly as we have family there and we never choose this hotel due its past reputation. We thought we would give it a chance as it has a new name.........Oh my has this changed!! It changed hands 15 months ago and the new owners have put it right up there, it's by far the best in Falmouth. New decor, lovely rooms, fantastic gym.
We stay in for dinner one evening as we where told a new chef had joined them when they took over, so it's a complete change and it was excellent with lovely service to match. If you feel the same as us about the old Greenlawns then this is now a must in Falmouth. Complete package well done Merchants Manor.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rhonwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have stayed in most Hotels in area never considered this one until we noticed a change in name. It has also changed inside refurbished rooms lovely indoor pool. Staff going extra mile.We will stay again.

Room Tip: rooms on south side near indoor pool, shorter walk to pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelhoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing