We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect whilst in Falmouth.”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had an impromptu stay at this lovely hotel. From the moment of check in the staff were absolutely amazing, (all staff) nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very clean and spacious, bed was very comfortable, tea and coffee facilities were just perfect,(with proper big mugs). Had a very comfortable nights rest. The only criticism of the room was that the shower was not very powerful, but all in all this is a minor problem. Breakfast was amazing and again staff on the ball and attentive. Now normally I train whilst away and usually a hotel gym will consist of a treadmill and a couple of old bikes. WOW !!! The gym here is fully equipped with everything you would need, even a smith machine plenty of cardio and free weights on offer as well as brand new resistance training machines, guys?gals if you are serious about training this gym will suit. The pool is fairly small but again will suffice as a lovely means to cool down and relax and have some fun. A fabulous hotel to stay with the main town about a 25 min walk. Claire (reception) thank you and we will see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my wife for our anniversary. When you book off of images on the internet you always worry a little but on this occasion I don't thing their website does the place justice. The staff were excellent, the food (only had breakfast) was brilliant and the hotel itself was beautiful. The only this that stopped this being a 5* review is that there was a some cosmetic damage in the Old Master room we had that could have been easily rectified.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again if we returned to Falmouth and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJD303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yet again our stay at this fabulous hotel did not disappoint. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - and the owners who make themselves very visible, are very welcoming and helpful.

We wanted to have a go at surfing so they arranged for our small group to have a surfing lesson on Porthtowan beach. We were picked up from the hotel by minibus and taken to the beach where wetsuits and surf boards were supplied. None of us had tried surfing before but the instructors were really good and some of us even managed to stand up by the end. Great fun. Would really recommend having a go.

One of the best things about Merchants Manor is, without question, the food. We were staying in the hotel on their Jazz Night where we enjoyed not only the music but the most AMAZING six-course dinner. Simply the best.

They have installed a gym since our last trip and it's state of the art. I will say I preferred the excellent swimming pool but anyone who loves to exercise will love it.

If you are looking to stay in Falmouth - look no further than this brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel just gets better and better. Stay here regularly for business trips. The new owners are excelling in updating the hotel and amenities. The hotel staff are brilliant and very accommodating. Rooms are superb as is the food. The restaurant is a great place to dine. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sea views on the 1st floor. Very luxurious and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently as was attending a jazz dinner. The hotel has been refurbished and is looking so much better! Warm friendly service and always good to see the owners mucking in! It was an excellent evening with great food & good value for money. Room was bijoux but more than adequate. Pool & gym excellent & enjoyed swim before breakfast.
Special mention for Tiffany who is an asset to the operation.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arriving with a tour group, although we had no room booked on arrival (Hotel's mistake) all was quickly sorted by a very nice and helpful receptionist, and immediate concerns were quickly dispelled. Our room was clean, spacious and typical of hotel rooms elsewhere in the country. The bar was well stocked but like most hotels expensive, but the gardens we retired to, to drink our beer were extremely pleasant and well kept. Our meals were very good both in the evening and at breakfast helped by excellent staff who pandered to our every needs. Special mention here for Pat, a very good waitress and typical of all the staff at the hotel. Judging by the numerous functions they have at the hotel it is popular with the locals and quite rightly so. Anybody finding themselves down in Cornwall and looking for a place to stay should give the Manor a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fordhamfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The old and original manor house is very stately, elegant and tastefully restored and decorated with several sitting rooms, dining area, bar etc. We were staying here in Falmouth as part of the itinerary of Back Roads Touring Company Corners of Cornwall Tour for three nights. Our room was at the back in a functional "motel" type of extension that looked directly onto an old well worn roof, probably the swimming pool roof. Not the most desirable view for a hilltop location at a site with beautiful gardens. We reported a toilet that wouldn't flush on a couple of occasions. Otherwise the room was large with plenty of storage if you did want to pack the suitcases away.

We had one dinner included at the hotel; unfortunately, as a member of a very small tour group ( six plus driver) we were asked to tick boxes on a printed menu when we first checked in. I guess this is done to either be efficient in service or to manage the budget for the tour company. Personally, I would be more comfortable with a personalized menu at the table at the time I was to eat rather than this institutional procedure. It also would have provided opportunities to clarify elements of the menu and for us to realize that bread and vegetables were an additional cost ! Oh dear ! The bar food that we ordered on other occasions was very tasty and the breakfasts were excellent. The staff in both these areas were very friendly and provided good service. We did not use the pool. The spa was not operating.

Our itinerary included a free day and without transport, we found we could walk easily to the beaches, the Castle, the Maritime Museum and the Princess Pavilion although the return trip included an uphill walk. I understand that there was a bus quite nearby that we could have accessed.

This was a comfortable hotel in which to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £84 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing