We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a week for business”
Review of Meudon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meudon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stayed for a week for business”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while on business Great comfortable bed.Good food and very welcoming
staff nothing was a problem.For somewhere to stay that's nice and quiet this is the place to stay in Falmouth.Great gardens.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
15 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    50
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
120
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed here many times over the last few years and for my money this is one of the best hotels in the Falmouth area [biased hotel guides and inspectors notwithstanding]. It is set in a scaled down version of the Trebah or Trelissick gardens; service and atmosphere excellent and food superior to any nearby competitors boasting 2 AA rosettes. The quiet relaxation at this family-owned country hotel is marvellous.

It does not boast a swimming pool or ballroom or spa/gym [the apparent criteria for 4 stars] but it has its own private beach on Falmouth Bay and the walk through the sub-tropical gardens is ample opportunity for exercise. The hotel also has its own private yacht with skipper for hire.

Front of house management is very welcoming and efficient.

The restaurant is at its best with locally-sourced fresh fish dishes that have nearly always a slightly different twist to their presentation since our last visit. The talented young pastry chef is a gem - always devising novel, delicious desserts.

There is nothing stuffy here, with pleasant and efficient young waiters and waitresses joining the team from time to time.

Room comfort and cleanliness is impeccable.

Whilst the accomodation was built in the late 1960s, there has always been a rolling programme of updates and refurbishment , including the latest flat-screen TVs and wifi throughout, but now the hotel has started a rolling make-over of rooms that bodes well for the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TKS26-06-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Friend and I visited for the third year running. Definitely not good value this year and certain areas need moderning. The lounge looks like an old folks home. Definitely in need of bringing up to date but still in keeping with the age of the property. Food selection much less choice than last year and more money. On the plus side the bedroom was comfortable and clean and warm. Having said that better value for money elsewhere. The staff were very welcoming and the gardens goregous but not returning.

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens which are beautiful not the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Meudon spanning many years. We found the same excellent attention to service, cleanliness and welcome. The food is outstanding - beautifully prepared fish and desserts particularly good. The hotel is now somewhat dated as regards decor but everything is well maintained and very clean. The staff are very professional, friendly and most welcoming. The gardens were a delight as ever - a perfect setting for a relaxing short break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband, father-in-law and I have just returned from a very pleasant time at the Meudon.
We have rarely found such welcoming and helpful staff as at this hotel, especially Emma and Rita on reception and Dave in the bar, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is set in glorious gardens which have a (slightly steep) but very interesting path leading down to a small cove with views across the bay to Falmouth. My husband and I had the ground floor suite which was very comfortable although it does need updating - old dark brown furniture - and the sitting room is rather dark having lost the sun by late morning. Also, I can't understand why anyone would put heavy full length curtains in front of all the radiators so our room was rather chilly in the morning. I resorted to lifting the curtains to lay along the top of the radiators which prompted the housekeeper to put a convector heater in the bedroom which made it lovely and toasty and really was a dreadful example of bad planning. My father-in-law was right next door in a lovely, sunny, double bedded en-suite room. Again, rather outdated dark brown furniture but comfortable. One thing definitely going for it is that every bedroom has a view of the wonderful gardens. Unfortunately the bed linen and pillows could do with upgrading. We had sheets and blankets and rather hard pillows. My husband and I used to fight over the only soft(ish) pillow every night and even though the housekeeping staff provided us with more, they were all pretty hard. Please Mark get some decent pillows and duvets. The restaurant is very pleasant, again with large full length windows looking out on to the gardens. We enjoyed the food very much - nothing pretentious but a good menu and all well cooked and piping hot . Mark, the MD and son of the owner was often to be found around the hotel and he keeps a good cellar! I would say the average age of the guests at Meudon was 70. All in all a very nice place to pass a few days in, we shall definitely go back and would recommend it for anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxing holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SouthBucksBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very cold in the night,silly electric heater put in the room.showers didn't work when when got there ,so we we're late for our party.the room was clean but very old.the bedding was ancient..the staff were nice but it doesn't make up for a disappointing stay.overpriced

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AdamWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We visit the Meudon for lunch 2 or 3 times per year - including Christmas Day. The staff are always very helpful polite. The food is of very food quality and in the main cooked well. Before you start your meal you are escorted to a luxury room to have pre dinner drinks and home made crisps. In the Summer months after we finish our meal we have our coffee out in the superb garden. You can follow the garden down the hill it takes you to a secluded beach - the gardens are extremely well planted - offering a wonderful after lunch walk. You can take dogs to the Meudon grounds and finish off in the bridge room which we have done before and had afternoon tea.The decor is not modern but never the less it is all very comfortable. We will continue to visit The Meudon on our special occasions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelbth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.7 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
166 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meudon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meudon Hotel

Property: Meudon Hotel
Address: Maenporth Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meudon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meudon Hotel at Bream cove Cornwall's Garden Hotel and Beach. A unique blend of country manor, sub-tropical gardens of eight and a half acres, with paths leading down to your own private cove. Discover the magic of Meudon you will experience a unique and special setting where you can relax, unwind and restore.Relaxed and unobtrusive service, a family run home with a very friendly team. Great food, excellent location, newly refurbished, all round excellent value for money. Enjoy a stay in our Cornish country manor and feel spoilt. Meudon will be hard to beat on service, location and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meudon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meudon Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing