We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meudon - exceptional food and service.”
Review of Meudon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meudon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here earlier in 2013 and can only describe the quality of food at dinner each night as exceptional. Starters and main courses are apparently rotated on a 14 day cycle so nothing repeats on the menu each evening save for steak specials, which are always available. The hotel's own garden in which you can walk down to the sea is lovely but there are also two famous gardens close by - within walking distance. First class and congratlulations especially to the Maitre.
Mike Roberts

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Catpilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We understand that in 2012 Alex Polizzi had a hand in updating this hotel but she appears to have missed out on a few important points. We had booked a suite so expected soft pillows, flannels and robes in the bathroom, tissues, bottled water, hotel information book, notepad & pencil, ironing board etc., but there were none. There was no heating on and we had to ask for a portable heater as it was so cold in the room. Mind you if the heating was on the 4 radiators would have been stifled as 2 of them were hidden behind full length curtains and another hidden behind a dresser. This suite had yet to be given the upgrade in respect of the décor etc. The food however was terrific thanks to enthusiastic chef, Wayne, and all the staff were very helpful. Gaye Pilgrim works hard to ensure her guests satisfaction and the slightly difficult 10 minute walk to the hotel's private beach is well worth the effort and if the weather is fine then relaxing in the garden is recommended.

Room Tip: Go for one that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Having visited roughly three years ago, it was a shock to see a new look and a new approach to a hotel that certainly required it. We were only returning because of the outstanding garden. Not only had the hotel had a physical refurbishment, but so had the approach and attitude of the staff. The food in the restaurant was lovely and nothing was too much trouble when making a request. A fresh positive approach to a hotel with so much potential, well worth returning to. When we were there the weather was glorious and my only request would be more seating at the top of the garden and more cushions on the seats to make ones self comfortable to sit for an extended period.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I selected this hotel based on previous reviews which were so positive and we weren't disappointed at all. It is in the most stunning location with beautiful views of the gardens and sea. We arrived and were greeted so warmly. The room was lovely, a comfortable bed with crisp white linen and perfect pillows (a rarity in hotels we have found). We had booked for dinner which was of an extremely high standard with good wine and service. We immediately booked for the following night. Why would we want to go anywhere else? The location is beautiful and if you like a lovely walk along Cornwalls coastal path (ending at a hostelry - where Gaye happily collected us from) you won't go wrong staying at the meudon. We will be going back - it will be like visiting friends. The gorgeous weather was a plus!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Beautiful sub-tropical gardens with its own private beach, this hotel is excellent for peaceful relaxation with first class service and fine food.

When the weather is good, this part of the country compares very favourably to the south of France, without the motorway tolls and high prices!

Peace and tranquility are the high points and probably best to leave younger children with the nanny.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PardonerEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Another fantastic stay at the wonderful Meudon. As a Birthday treat for my wife we had the chauffeur Suite. The suite being recently restyled by Alex polizzi from the BBC. The hotel now seams to be following the Alex magic and looks fantastic extremely comfortable with very welcoming and knowledgable Staff . Great walks Amazing Gardens,Local Pubs,Beaches The Fantastic Helford River what more Could one want. Thank you "The Meudon" Hope to Return Soon For a Summer Break !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossocorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Had previously looked at meudon and then saw it on hotel inspector and decided to visit. So pleased we did. Our room was lovely very restful and fabulous views of garden. Food was great too and more than enough. The gardens are beautiful but make sure you take decent walking shoes as its a steep climb back from the hotels own beach.The staff are probably the best we have ever been looked after by really friendly but very professional. Many thanks to gaye and all the staff, Conrad,MIke and Rita. We are looking forward to our return visit and seeing the changes that gaye and mark have planned.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
3.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
256 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
383 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meudon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meudon Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £96 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meudon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meudon Hotel at Bream cove Cornwall's Garden Hotel and Beach. A unique blend of country manor, sub-tropical gardens of eight and a half acres, with paths leading down to your own private cove. Discover the magic of Meudon you will experience a unique and special setting where you can relax, unwind and restore.Relaxed and unobtrusive service, a family run home with a very friendly team. Great food, excellent location, newly refurbished, all round excellent value for money. Enjoy a stay in our Cornish country manor and feel spoilt. Meudon will be hard to beat on service, location and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meudon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meudon Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing