We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Meudon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meudon Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel gardens are a real treasure, 8 acres of pure tranquility and relaxation leading to a beach. The hotel is on the National Trust coastal path way, making it accessible to some very beautiful walks.

To top this the food in the restaurant, breakfast and dinner,was excellent. Every day we planned to eat out to explore but the quality in the hotel was so great we just stayed back.
The staff are great too. On the whole a very warm and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenukaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    51
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
126
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here with our children and our beagle in one of the hotel's family, pet friendly rooms. The food was to an excellent standard, we thouroughly enjoyed our sandwiches which were served with homemade chips, marinated cherry tomatoes and a salad garnish. The garden, which leads to a small cove was immaculate and well kept. The staff were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. If we are in the area again we will definately return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnakeyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We knew nothing about the story behind the Meudon, until after we'd booked it, as we're not fans of 'The Hotel Inspector'. We were very glad we didn't. We may have been put off. Gaye Woods (daughter), who is now running the show, was intent on making our stay a truly relaxing break, and succeeded. We took our two labradors who were accepted without any fuss, with freedom of most of the exquisite garden, not to mention the lovely little beach. We couldn't fault the food. Everything we had was perfectly cooked and we were quite often spoilt for choice with the excellent selection on the menus. Some people complained (quietly!) that there wasn't enough on the plate, but neither my husband (he of the hearty appetite!) nor I, agreed. With three courses, plates piled high are a no-no! Quality not quantity! Good service, friendly staff. We will definitely go again. No hesitation.

Room Tip: Ours was not fully updated, but we had no complaints. It was a good size, clean with a view of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro,UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went for birthday dinner with friends. Staff keen and new, post-Alex Polizzi decor very good. Had a laugh evening. However. After drinks in the lounge/bar, finally shown to table and the table leg fell off!!! OK, staff rushed to help. Much laughter. Stability restored. The "Crab Linguine" was crab spaghetti. It was nice but not linguine. I ordered fillet steak - rare. It was well-done. (I was paying a very good price and didn't want another steak cooked so I ate it.) Excellent meat but not cooked rare. We were told a certain flavour of local ice cream was "off", so I finally ordered another kind when they remembered we had not had our desserts. The waitress then returned and apologised saying my choice was, in fact, "off". Who the hell is doing Sous Chef here? (I trained at Brighton Tech, 1995/7).
We were given an indoor firework with the drinks and special sweet for birthday girls. But who was the lady in the beach sundress and sandals who shook our hands on arrival, apologised for the table leg, and never appeared again? Reception was kindly but chaotic. The final gem was the telephone handset - on reception - labelled "Dial 0 for reception." Believe me, I was tempted, just for the crack.

Room Tip: Only experienced the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in July. It was a last minute booking and we were not disappointed. What a hidden gem. We ate in the restaurant and the food and service was first class.
For us the highlight was the service quality and the attention of the staff, especially David the barman and Rita.
Not forgetting Vinnie the Koi carp! This place is magical and we will return especially for that early morning swim.

Room Tip: Garden view room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had an amazing weekend at the Meudon for my brother's wedding. All the staff were so helpful and the rooms were fantastic (super king vi-spring bed in mine with lovely views across the grounds). The hotel itself is in a beautiful setting with tropical gardens and a path leading down to a secluded beach.
We had a three course meal for the wedding, which was for over 60 people and was delicious and the service was excellent. The breakfast the next moring was also fantastic with a choice of full english breakfast (and you could pick and choose from any of the items), a selection if cereals, youghurts and contintental breakfast. The quality of the produce was outstanding and set us up for a nice dip in the sea!
I had such a great time here at the Meudon, in particular due to the kindness of all the staff who stayed up with us VERY late to make sure the party was a real cracker! It was great to have some young staff who could join in the party without the oldies (haha!)
I would definately recommend staying here or even just popping in for some food or a cream tea if you are local!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joo742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just recovering from our son's wedding reception held at the magnificent Meudeon. From start to finish it was wonderful - nothing was too much trouble for Gay and her team! The meal was amazing, the service first class and the rooms allocated to our party left you wanting for nothing.
The setting is a dream, just as you can see on the web site. The dancing went on until 3 am as many of the revellers were young couples, the Irish band encouraged the party spirit as did Dave Goodchild (and his bar staff) respendent in his cornish kilt! The reception continued the next day with an invigorating swim on the hotels private beach which helped to clear a few heads. The hotel lived up to is hype and more. A wonderful start to a marriage and many thanks everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.7 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meudon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meudon Hotel

Property: Meudon Hotel
Address: Maenporth Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meudon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meudon Hotel at Bream cove Cornwall's Garden Hotel and Beach. A unique blend of country manor, sub-tropical gardens of eight and a half acres, with paths leading down to your own private cove. Discover the magic of Meudon you will experience a unique and special setting where you can relax, unwind and restore.Relaxed and unobtrusive service, a family run home with a very friendly team. Great food, excellent location, newly refurbished, all round excellent value for money. Enjoy a stay in our Cornish country manor and feel spoilt. Meudon will be hard to beat on service, location and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meudon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meudon Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing